Chevron Left
Back to Practical Machine Learning

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Practical Machine Learning by Johns Hopkins University

4.5
stars
2,886 ratings
545 reviews

About the Course

One of the most common tasks performed by data scientists and data analysts are prediction and machine learning. This course will cover the basic components of building and applying prediction functions with an emphasis on practical applications. The course will provide basic grounding in concepts such as training and tests sets, overfitting, and error rates. The course will also introduce a range of model based and algorithmic machine learning methods including regression, classification trees, Naive Bayes, and random forests. The course will cover the complete process of building prediction functions including data collection, feature creation, algorithms, and evaluation....

Top reviews

AD

Mar 01, 2017

Issues of every stage of the construction of learning machine model, as well as issues with several different machine learning methods are well and in fine yet very understandable detail explained.

AS

Aug 31, 2017

Highly recommend this course. It makes you read a lot, do lot's of practical exercises. The final project is a must do. After finishing this course you can start playing with kaggle data sets.

Filter by:

526 - 537 of 537 Reviews for Practical Machine Learning

By José M M A

May 25, 2020

This course did not fulfill my expectations. It is the worst one in the Data Science Specialization by far.

Although the explanations are fine, sometimes they are too vague and there is no practice at all, when the title of the course is "Practical".

Most of the tools used are not comprehensively detailed and the quizzes are quite confusing.

Some of my peers reported that the course is not updated since 2013, which is a severe flaw when talking about one of the statistical tools more in-fashion nowadays.

By Ricardo G C

Jun 17, 2020

The professors are experts on the subject, but unfortunately they rush through content and some of the classes are outdated (i.e. they use packages and data that are not the newest version) and this generates confusion througout the course.

By Danielle S

Mar 22, 2016

Material is very high level. No ppt's are given, so all links presented in the video's cannot be viewed.

Quizzes are based upon old packages, so incorrect answers are provided.

No replies at discussion board from TA"s or instructors.

By Jo S

Feb 04, 2016

Poor compared with some of the others on this specialisation. The lectures are too fast and high level, with no allowance given for people who are unfamiliar with this area and attempting to learn it.

By Robert O

Apr 06, 2016

Very little depth. I don't recommend this if you don't already have background in statistics or R. I really didn't learn anything. I mostly just gamed the quizzes and projects.

By Etienne B

Mar 01, 2016

Cannot take the exam, I have to pay... wtf... I will probably pay at the end, but I want to take the class first. Without certificate I cannot prove I took the course.

By Eduardo S B

Jan 26, 2020

They explain nothing on the fundamentals of the machine-learning methods, nor how to know which method apply to a given problem.

By Abhilash R N

Dec 04, 2019

This course is NOT for the beginner. Take time to finish all the beginner and foundation courses and then take time to learn R

By Emily S A

May 25, 2020

In my opiion, this course needs to be improved a lot. There are almost nothing Practical Machine Learning.

By yi s

Jul 19, 2016

too general no depth, not recommended for science or engineering degree holders

By Stephen E

Jun 27, 2016

To be honest I don't think this is worth the money.

By Stephane T

Jan 31, 2016

Too much surface, not enough depth.