Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Probability and Data with R

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Probability and Data with R by Duke University

4.7
stars
4,541 ratings
1,077 reviews

About the Course

This course introduces you to sampling and exploring data, as well as basic probability theory and Bayes' rule. You will examine various types of sampling methods, and discuss how such methods can impact the scope of inference. A variety of exploratory data analysis techniques will be covered, including numeric summary statistics and basic data visualization. You will be guided through installing and using R and RStudio (free statistical software), and will use this software for lab exercises and a final project. The concepts and techniques in this course will serve as building blocks for the inference and modeling courses in the Specialization....

Top reviews

AA
Jan 23, 2018

This course literally taught me a lot, the concepts were beautifully explained but the way it was delivered and overall exercises and the difficulty of problems made it more challenging and enjoying.

HD
Mar 30, 2018

The tutor makes it really simple. The given examples really helped to understand the concepts and apply it to a wide range of problems. Thank you for this. Wish I could complete the assignments too.

Filter by:

851 - 875 of 1,053 Reviews for Introduction to Probability and Data with R

By Tay Y C

Sep 25, 2020

Good basic course in probability and R! Lectures were really clear and with good examples. I only wish there were more teaching on R coding, as it was a big leap from the R tutorials to the final project.

By Ethan C

Jun 11, 2020

Great coverage of basic statistics and R. Lots of room to experiment and fairly responsive forum boards. Main way to improve is to somehow allow for more discussion between classmates as well as mentors.

By Alfredo J N

Jan 29, 2019

The course is excellent. The only drawback it is the peer review assignments. After you finish your assignment you need search for peers to review your and ask at least three people to do this for you.

By John H

Mar 27, 2020

The instructions for the final project need to be much clearer. I had a hard time figuring it out, and all of the projects I peer-edited were done poorly. Otherwise, I enjoyed the course very much!

By Michael

Jul 6, 2019

Good but questions lacked clarity in what is expected. i.e. "Work out the Boy to Girl ratio" - in what fashion do we do this, as it appeared to be the same as simply working out the "proportion of b

By Adam A

Jun 10, 2017

A good introductory course to data analysis, statistics and the R programming language. Recommended to people who are new to data analysis and also those who are experienced and could use a refresh.

By Kevin C

Oct 12, 2020

The only thing I may have not liked in this course is that they do help you in forums and that kind of stuff but a little video for your first R assignment with some of the R basics would be great.

By Swarnali H

Jul 7, 2020

They could have touched more R. Otherwise everything is fine. But it is very easy to clear the course. Even the peer reviewed assignment is wrongly reviewed many times whether positive or negative.

By Holi W

Dec 14, 2017

The lectures were very clear and concise and the examples were very relevant. Some of the R instructions left a little something to be desired, but nothing a little time and google couldn't solve.

By Siyao G

Jun 18, 2019

The contents of the course about statistics are friendly to the beginners and easy to understand, however, the R learning is a little bit hard to those who have no computer or coding background.

By Andrés F

Jun 7, 2016

En aspectos generales e curso me aprecio muy dinámico, aunque las expliicacionesde R un poco escuetas, esto hizo que el trabajo final fuera dificil reaizarlo ,ya que las consgnasno eran claras.

By DK

Jun 4, 2018

The course is pretty nice, I learned some new statistics concepts although the knowledge is not so in-depth. The course also needs more tutorials on R. However, the assignments are quite good

By Sushama K

Jul 23, 2020

The Statistics course was excellent. The book provided additionally helped a lot. There could have been some instructional videos for R and some samples on how to analyse the visualization.

By Anand N

Apr 20, 2020

The course was great but the final project was a bit difficult/confusing to understand at first. The more detailed example should have been provided before starting the project work

By Sonia E G P

Jan 18, 2018

The course is very good on statistics. However, the R section is not as detailed and clear as the mathematical portion. The questions about R on the forum are not answered quickly.

By Samuel A

Jan 1, 2018

Materials covered a substantial aspect of introductory Statistics, providing adequate examples with great coding sessions. Instructor did an awesome job in conveying the concepts.

By David S

Sep 17, 2019

The videos of the course should show more R coding.

The assignments are too long, they take ages to review.

The explanation of the statistical concepts are excellent! Great job!

By Rajershi G

Jun 20, 2020

Good explanation of some non-intuitive concepts and nice applications at the end of each section with quizzes and assignments which test your understanding quite proficiently.

By Rosmer M V C

Jul 23, 2020

Good introductorial course about Statistics and probability. The course would be better if they explained more details about Rstudio and its libraries like dplyr and ggplot2.

By Elisa A

Jun 15, 2020

Very well structured and clear - I enjoyed it a lot. Just one point though...the time for finalising the assignments and lessons is way underestimated (at least for my pace)

By Arun K

Nov 25, 2020

Very nice course with challenging labs and project at last week. Thats why you felt like earning the certificate. Looking forward for next courses in this specialization.

By José J T M

Nov 28, 2017

All the contens are very good, but I have the feeling that I passed without knowing much about R. It good be better if there were more diverse examples of coding in R.

By Sichen L

Oct 29, 2017

This course is a great intro course for beginners, however it lacks depth. More examples and explainations would make this course a lot better than it is at the moment

By WangJing

Oct 28, 2020

The stat related lessons are very concise and informative.

However, as a beginner of R, I had many trouble finishing my week5 project. Actually I had to google a lot.

By QUOC T P

Jan 22, 2017

The course was great

However, I expect to have some kind of more exercise since the amount of workload is not enough

Thanks for building this course

PHAN Truong Quoc