Chevron Left
Back to Effective Problem-Solving and Decision-Making

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Effective Problem-Solving and Decision-Making by University of California, Irvine

4.6
stars
6,712 ratings

About the Course

Problem-solving and effective decision-making are essential skills in today’s fast-paced and ever-changing workplace. Both require a systematic yet creative approach to address today’s business concerns. This course will teach an overarching process of how to identify problems to generate potential solutions and how to apply decision-making styles in order to implement and assess those solutions. Through this process, you will gain confidence in assessing problems accurately, selecting the appropriate decision-making approaches for the situation at hand, making team decisions, and measuring the success of the solution’s implementation. Using case studies and situations encountered by class members, you will explore proven, successful problem-solving and decision-making models and methods that can be readily transferred to workplace projects. Upon completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Identify key terms, styles, and approaches to effective problem-solving and decision-making 2. Explain both the affordances and limitations associated with problem-solving and decision-making 3. Reflect on how mindset and personal bias influence your ability to solve problems and make decisions 4. Explain and discuss how organizational decisions or non-decisions impact personal development, team dynamics, and company-wide performance 5. Articulate how both good and bad team decisions can benefit your professional growth...

Top reviews

KG

Sep 5, 2020

A very informative and easy course. I loved studying it, the professor was very well versed and delivered the lectures in a way so that students find it easy to understand the text and context.

S

Feb 5, 2021

A concise and informative course. The course consolidates my fundamental knowledge about the different components and concepts of problem-solving and decision-making. I really learned a lot.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 1,195 Reviews for Effective Problem-Solving and Decision-Making

By Cicero B

Nov 22, 2016

The course is short and concise but very informative for people like me who are more on the technical side of the company. Probably as a feedback to the material, I just wish they can provide more examples but overall it's a good course and very easy to learn. Keep it up!

By Adithya K

Apr 30, 2020

I think the only issue with this course is that it is a little misleading. When a course is included as a part of professional development, you assume a certain type of course when this course is not that at all. To be fair, this course is effective at showing how organizations make decisions and tools organizations use to diagnose problems, but the course really fails to show how to effectively scale the tools introduced can be scaled down for individual decision making.

The other big issue that this course has is the dryness of the info within the course. Honestly, if you replaced this course with a couple hours on Wikipedia looking at different types of charts. There is something to be said about the structure of a MOOC that may make you choose this over browsing wikipedia because it helps you retain the info, but honestly the info you get from this course really is not that substantial in the least. I would recommend this course if you are a small business owner or a business student looking for a primer on how organizations make decisions, but outside of those two groups of people, I think you are likely better off skipping this course and opting for something else.

By Eduard B

Jan 31, 2016

Too base for experienced people, not enough fundamental for beginners.

After 2 weeks didn't find any useful information, it also very boring, so recommend to see video on 1.25 -1.5 speed.

The course need to be significantly changed:

1. Who are the target audience

2. How many resources do we have (time etc)

3. What we would see as a result of course (knowledge, skills (hard, soft)

etc.

By Mansour A

Oct 22, 2020

This course has nothing to do with problem solving. It talks about statistics and different chart types and their usefulness. It does not give any insight on how to think or steps to find a problem or it's solution !

By Melissa O

May 30, 2020

I found Rob Stone to be a very easy teacher to follow. The class was designed well and made it easy for me to understand how to use data and charts to make decisions in business!

By Nadiya D

Sep 12, 2015

Great course. Easy to follow and use the concepts in real world instantly. Course covers not only problem-solving but also change management.

By Maria S

Sep 2, 2020

Helpful course

By Luisa M O

Dec 11, 2018

Great course. I liked that He goes straight to the point, I wish the course could have more practical exercises.

By Borislav A

Aug 21, 2020

Disappointing materials and read through videos. The examples are stated in a non professional level. As a person who is used to take notes to get the essence of a video it was very disappointing

At least there should be a reference literature attached to this "course". I do not think anyone can gain any value out from this

By Amber E

Dec 29, 2020

Terrible delivery. The course content looks super useful. However, I could not get past the poor oral presentation by the instructor. Please update this course with a new oral presentation! Looks awesome, I am sure he knows what he is talking about. But his poor speaking skills are not worth my time.

By Katarzyna B

Jun 14, 2021

Very basic course, which did not really cover problem solving tactics at all. Instead the modules take you through very basic statistical tools and group management. Content was very repetitive with long and unnecessary stories as the examples. Overall I would not recommend.

By Mohamed A

Nov 30, 2023

I recently completed a course on Effective Problem-Solving and Decision-Making, and it surpassed my expectations. The course provided a comprehensive understanding of various problem-solving styles, from analytical to behavioral, and offered practical tools for implementation. The emphasis on addressing personal bias and fostering an inclusive mindset added a crucial layer to the decision-making process. I found the tips on different decision-making approaches, such as prioritizing and building consensus, to be immediately applicable. The section on assessing and implementing solutions, with a focus on metrics and Key Performance Indicators (KPIs), brought a new level of precision to my decision-making toolkit. This course has not only elevated my decision-making skills but has also positively influenced my approach to problem-solving, making it an invaluable resource for anyone looking to enhance their decision-making capabilities.

By Milind J

Jun 11, 2020

Problem solving is an analytical process used to identify the possible solutions to the situation at hand. Making decisions is a part of problem solving. Problem solving is a complex process, and judgement calls – or decisions – will have to be made on the way. Decision making is a choice made by using one's judgement. It was explained very well, I really enjoy it.

By Asegun B S

Sep 6, 2020

This course has opened my mind to how to the techniques used to make better decisions and solving complex problems.

I have learnt a great deal. Thanks to the facilitators!

By MARINELA T Z

Oct 31, 2023

Very useful especially the ideas and lessons presented herein is very timely on our topic being discussed

By EMMANUEL S

Sep 2, 2020

Every thing is fine , attractive and educative as well.

By DHRUV V

Sep 2, 2020

Well Taught. Very interesting topiv.

By MD A R A

Sep 4, 2020

Excellent !!!

By V D

May 29, 2020

good

By Osama A M

Oct 25, 2023

it is an excellent course I learned a lot, and I suggest making almost the conceptual and suggestions part in-practice. For example, I hoped that if we dealt with all decision-making styles one at a time with examples, we can practice better in the future.

By KARANGWA P

Dec 7, 2020

Problem solving is an analytical process used to identify the possible solutions to the situation at hand. Making decisions is a part of problem solving. Problem solving is a complex process, and judgement calls or decisions will have to be made on the way. Decision making is a choice made by using one's judgement. Good problem solvers are good thinkers.

They usually see problems as challenges and life experiences and try to stand above them, objectively. Good problem solvers use a combination of intuition and logic to come up with their solutions.

By Victor O C d O

Sep 13, 2016

The course has a very important content. But I believe that it could improve it's quality, develop better slides, the teacher could be more dynamic.

Other features like innovative assignments based on real life, partnerships with companies to provide content, and everything that could be a differential to the course will be awesome.

By rajinder s s

Nov 12, 2020

Did not cover insights of decision making. Just run through the bookish knowledge. I was expecting some experiential insights into decision making.

By Lluis C

Jun 21, 2016

I'm sorry to say this Course is really boring, poor in resources and I'm sorry to say this but it's the worse Coursera Course I've attended .

By AASTHA G

May 9, 2020

Not a good course , examples taught were not really helpful in learning.