Chevron Left
Back to Effective Problem-Solving and Decision-Making

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Effective Problem-Solving and Decision-Making by University of California, Irvine

4.4
stars
3,777 ratings
655 reviews

About the Course

Critical thinking – the application of scientific methods and logical reasoning to problems and decisions – is the foundation of effective problem solving and decision making. Critical thinking enables us to avoid common obstacles, test our beliefs and assumptions, and correct distortions in our thought processes. Gain confidence in assessing problems accurately, evaluating alternative solutions, and anticipating likely risks. Learn how to use analysis, synthesis, and positive inquiry to address individual and organizational problems and develop the critical thinking skills needed in today’s turbulent times. Using case studies and situations encountered by class members, explore successful models and proven methods that are readily transferable on-the-job. Upon completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Choose and apply appropriate problem solving and decision making processes and methods 2. Identify common obstacles to effective problem solving and decision making 3. Recognize the human variable in problem solving and decision making 4. Assess major conceptual blocks and significant situational challenges 5. Apply concepts to enhancing personal development and organizational performance 6. Explain the key elements of problem solving and decision making and the barriers associated with them...

Top reviews

KG

Sep 06, 2020

A very informative and easy course. I loved studying it, the professor was very well versed and delivered the lectures in a way so that students find it easy to understand the text and context.

NJ

Jun 25, 2020

The Training course was very attractive and valuable for implementation of the knowledge gain for solving of different problem faced in official works as well as personal responsibilities.

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 652 Reviews for Effective Problem-Solving and Decision-Making

By Mina H I

Jun 27, 2020

It's a very effective course for people who are in leadership positions, the materials were excellent and the professor explained the topics with clear examples.

By Maitreyee M

Jul 31, 2020

Overall course is easy to understand. Professor Stone's examples make it easy to remember though elaboration on charts and changes part should have been there

By Roberto A

Dec 27, 2019

Foi vendido como um programa integrado, com certificado, mas ao final o que temos é um certificado para cada curso isoladamente, o que não é a mesma coisa.

By uribejluis

Jan 21, 2017

Excelente curso con contenidos teórico-prácticos de gran utilidad para el análisis de problemas y la toma de decisiones. Explicaciones claras y estructura

By Carlos E D V

Sep 07, 2020

Very good course, but take in mind that this is not for advanced professionals, is a course to introduce people to the subject in a very interactive way.

By Alexander N B G

Oct 02, 2020

Recuerda la importancia de no solo saber interpretar gráficos para tomar las decisiones, sino también de qué tener en cuenta a la hora de hacer cambios

By Jeong I W

May 11, 2020

It has been helpful to learn about the theories. I wish there could be more real-life examples. Great source to learn in a short period of time!

By Moise K

Jul 04, 2020

The course is really well explained and concise, I am now able to solve problems and make decisions strategically. Thank you again, Coursera.

By RICARDO S G

Aug 27, 2018

It does not provide you the answers. However it gives you enough tools and guidance to build the answers on your own. Very thought provoking.

By venu g g

Jun 27, 2020

course design is good and the way of presentation throughout the course is excellent. Thanks one and all who involved on and off the camera

By ABISANGE I S

Jul 06, 2020

For sure, this course was really great. I learned a lot concerning problem solving and decision making that will help me in my daily life.

By Fariza A S

Apr 16, 2020

It is a good and a light course, lots of new insights on how to structure decisions. Both Instructor and material are easy to comprehend.

By Jacob A

Dec 17, 2015

This course is easy to follow and the time required to complete the lectures and tests is very minimal. Great Course so far (Week Three).

By Anuj R

Jul 09, 2020

Amazing course. Loved the content . Kudos to sir and the University of Irvine for creating such an invaluable course to build our skills

By Roberto R

Apr 20, 2019

really help me to improve make decision making wit the best methods and tools that it takes to understand how to evaluate any situation.

By Edu

Oct 20, 2015

Concepts very well explained. And the best of the course is how Rob Stone has made those those explanations, he is a great communicator.

By Berenice O

Sep 19, 2015

I loved this course, it's just what I needed and I learnt so much. Thank you to everyone involved in making this course available to us.

By Mohammed Z O R ( O - T O R

Aug 17, 2020

By pursuing the course helped me to get more clarity on Problem - Solving and Decision - Making. Further this learning experience will

By K R K

Jun 18, 2020

Excellent course. A lot of things were relevant. Certainly useful for executives. Very comfortabely paced programme and great faculty.

By Yeasir m s

Jun 24, 2020

It's an excellent course with an outstanding instruction .Would recommend everyone who is interested on the topic of problem solving.

By Clare T

Jul 10, 2020

A little bit tricky, but very informative. I would love to have more examples relating to the majority, minority, consensus topics.

By Natalia S

Aug 08, 2015

This course is amazing. It provides you with all the right tools and techniques to help you make informed decisions. I loved it.

By Alexandra J

Oct 11, 2015

I really got a lot out of this course and it will definitely change the way I tackle challenges in the workplace! Thank you!

By NDAGIJIMANA E

Oct 22, 2020

The material covered in this course is relevant across all industries and delivery of the lectures and quizzes was great.

By sunil

Jan 13, 2017

This course is more value to our day to day life..we have more problemss so it is useful to solving the major problemsss