Chevron Left
Back to Effective Problem-Solving and Decision-Making

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Effective Problem-Solving and Decision-Making by University of California, Irvine

4.6
stars
6,715 ratings

About the Course

Problem-solving and effective decision-making are essential skills in today’s fast-paced and ever-changing workplace. Both require a systematic yet creative approach to address today’s business concerns. This course will teach an overarching process of how to identify problems to generate potential solutions and how to apply decision-making styles in order to implement and assess those solutions. Through this process, you will gain confidence in assessing problems accurately, selecting the appropriate decision-making approaches for the situation at hand, making team decisions, and measuring the success of the solution’s implementation. Using case studies and situations encountered by class members, you will explore proven, successful problem-solving and decision-making models and methods that can be readily transferred to workplace projects. Upon completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Identify key terms, styles, and approaches to effective problem-solving and decision-making 2. Explain both the affordances and limitations associated with problem-solving and decision-making 3. Reflect on how mindset and personal bias influence your ability to solve problems and make decisions 4. Explain and discuss how organizational decisions or non-decisions impact personal development, team dynamics, and company-wide performance 5. Articulate how both good and bad team decisions can benefit your professional growth...

Top reviews

KG

Sep 5, 2020

A very informative and easy course. I loved studying it, the professor was very well versed and delivered the lectures in a way so that students find it easy to understand the text and context.

S

Feb 5, 2021

A concise and informative course. The course consolidates my fundamental knowledge about the different components and concepts of problem-solving and decision-making. I really learned a lot.

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 1,197 Reviews for Effective Problem-Solving and Decision-Making

By Shloka J

Jun 27, 2020

Loads of examples were provided throughout for helping us understand the course material. Enjoyed this method of learning because it's fun yet allows us to better follow what is being taught!

Definitely recommend this course to anyone who is indecisive for the most part and wants to learn how to actually do something about it so that you can make decisions easier.

Thank You! :)

By Deleted A

Nov 16, 2022

Really good course for individuals trying to gain that basic knowledge and structure on how to do problem solving and then make difficult decisions. What made this a 5 was the videos and the examples shared - very neat, the video instructor was amazing, clear and concise and examples shared were very practical and relevant.

By Abdullah S

Feb 28, 2021

This course helped me to shape my learnings in problem solving & decision making. Its created in such a way to complete in short time but covering entire aspects of data analysis, Control Charts & arriving decisions from the data. Really helpful course and enjoyed the lecture of Mr.Rob Stone.

By Balasubramanian

Nov 11, 2020

Amazing course, it boost me to take a best decision making in a analytical way . Thank you for Professor Rob Stone from California university to teach well about Effective problem solving and Decision making.

Thank you.

Balasubramanian DAE, B.Tech. ( Production Engineer)

Tamilnadu ( India)

By Richin T

May 30, 2023

Assessing the impact of decisions is important. Make project goals, survey for feedback, measure performance. The six tips to make better decisions provide more information and awareness in making decisions. Understanding different style approaches adds to best practices.

By Jko

Apr 7, 2016

I really enjoyed attending this course. It focuses on what is necessary (it goes directly to the point) and gives many useful techniques, which can be immediately used. It also offers also clear examples, which make easy to understand how to use these techniques properly.

By Nicole G

Oct 30, 2015

I enjoyed how this class was presented. I think it would have beneficial to have more examples of Run Charts vs Control Charts to high light why each one was useful in multiple ways. Over all the course was useful for me and I will apply the knowledge I learned.

By Khandaker M A

Aug 8, 2020

The course is well-designed & well-executed. Dr.Stone explained the steps of Effective Problem-Solving & Decision-Making pretty well. I wish the content to become more detail-oriented than it is now. Still I would recommend everyone to do this course.

By Mustafa A

Oct 31, 2020

Rob's course design and delivery were both excellent. His tone of voice, examples given for each item, and the overall order of the course were very professional. I benefited a lot from the course, hope to apply some of the ideas in my organisation.

By N E

Feb 17, 2020

I really enjoyed Professor Stone's class. I found his lectures both engaging and informative. I appreciated that he provided both visual and narrative examples in his course. I found it to be extremely effective. Thanks for a great course!

By Ramkrishna R

Jul 19, 2020

Effective course on personal development. I have learnt a lot and enjoyed so much. We, who are in dilemma to take the decision, can develope ourselves by this course. Thanks a lot to the authority providing such kind of course.

By Sandeep B M

May 14, 2021

Excellent course to know basics about how to approach for problem solving and Decision making process? and Evaluate the impact about our decisions. Either Minor or Major changes happen in future.

Implement mechanism for changes.

By Sheri L

Aug 31, 2015

This was a great experience for me; to take a class that was challenging, but without any added stress. This professor was a joy to listen to and the class is one I can use both personally & maybe someday, professionally.

By Hassan R

Mar 14, 2022

A very informative and pretty straight forward toward careeer enhancement, it helps to solve problems and provide decesion-making empowerment to an individual. Thank you team UCI and coursera for offerrinng this course.

By Siddhi W

May 31, 2020

Now that was an amazing course applicable to both professional and personal life. Moreover, irrespective of which industry/domain/position you are at, this course has some great inputs for everyone! Thank you Rob.

By Subhendu D

Jun 15, 2023

This is an excellent course especially for professionals, but can also be applied in everyday life situations. The instructor is great, explains the material clearly, with plenty of examples and practice.

By Nurgul

May 13, 2018

Спасибо огромное за данный курс. Очень понравился. Лектор замечательный, подача материала прекрасная, тесты адекватные (если освоил тему, сдаешь без труда). Расширила свои знания и кругозор!

By Edgardo L

Dec 24, 2022

thanks to this course i been more enhance my skill of problem solving in my profession and using different technique to solve the problems and making the best decission making

By Mario J R M

Mar 30, 2017

Effective Problem-Solving and Decision-Making

Congratulations on the platform

Congratulations on the administrative order of the course

Congratulations on the Success of the Course

By Julián V A

Apr 13, 2020

Is a very basic course, nonetheless an excellent introduction to problem-solving & decision making! A good glance with nice and interesting examples! Love the History quotes!

By Sana I

Aug 12, 2021

I really enjoyed this course. Its simple and easy to learn. Highly recommend this course to everyone who wants to improve their decision making and problem solving skills.

By عبير أ م ا

Sep 26, 2023

A wonderful training program with deep, sequential and integrated information that added to me a lot of important knowledge and skills. I enjoyed it very much. Thank you

By Lilian C T

May 15, 2023

The course was like a refresher to me and it was fun learning it. It was easy to understand and the videos makes it more easy to summarize the content of the topic.

By Moonshaker x

Jul 31, 2021

Course is very good and detailed explanation was given for the different ways of problem solving. It also lists out pros and cons of these methods which is crucial.

By Tomeu M

Apr 11, 2020

This course reinforces the way of thinking when a problem has to be solved or a decision has to be made. Good explanations and useful tools given by the professor.