Chevron Left
Back to Effective Problem-Solving and Decision-Making

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Effective Problem-Solving and Decision-Making by University of California, Irvine

4.5
stars
4,502 ratings
752 reviews

About the Course

Critical thinking – the application of scientific methods and logical reasoning to problems and decisions – is the foundation of effective problem solving and decision making. Critical thinking enables us to avoid common obstacles, test our beliefs and assumptions, and correct distortions in our thought processes. Gain confidence in assessing problems accurately, evaluating alternative solutions, and anticipating likely risks. Learn how to use analysis, synthesis, and positive inquiry to address individual and organizational problems and develop the critical thinking skills needed in today’s turbulent times. Using case studies and situations encountered by class members, explore successful models and proven methods that are readily transferable on-the-job. Upon completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Choose and apply appropriate problem solving and decision making processes and methods 2. Identify common obstacles to effective problem solving and decision making 3. Recognize the human variable in problem solving and decision making 4. Assess major conceptual blocks and significant situational challenges 5. Apply concepts to enhancing personal development and organizational performance 6. Explain the key elements of problem solving and decision making and the barriers associated with them...

Top reviews

KG
Sep 5, 2020

A very informative and easy course. I loved studying it, the professor was very well versed and delivered the lectures in a way so that students find it easy to understand the text and context.

S
Feb 5, 2021

A concise and informative course. The course consolidates my fundamental knowledge about the different components and concepts of problem-solving and decision-making. I really learned a lot.

Filter by:

501 - 525 of 746 Reviews for Effective Problem-Solving and Decision-Making

By Roman B

Nov 8, 2015

It is a good course but not everything was as clear as in other courses. Anyway it provides a lot of very useful information.

By Chen Z

Jun 27, 2020

guide you how to make a decision. few math related knowledge, and it is suitable to junior people who works in management.

By Srihari M

Sep 22, 2019

Good, In-depth explanation of the concepts should have been a little more better to have a best understanding. Thank you!

By Meghna P

Aug 29, 2015

Thank you for this course..the examples were excellent. But I couldn't go back to the course once I had seen the video.

By jorge j l c

Dec 7, 2015

Muy buen curso, recomendable para todas las personas interesadas en mejorar el enfoque en la resolución de problemas.

By Adaeze M

Apr 13, 2021

It was agreat course. I did all the quizzes and completed the course, but I wonder why it still reads uncompleted.

By SHIVENDER S J 1

Apr 30, 2020

I GAIN SOME EXTRA KNOWLEDGE FROM THIS COURSE AND TOTALLY ENJOYED THE WAY THINGS EXPLAINED BY THE TEACHER.

THANK YOU

By Luis R

Feb 9, 2021

Course was very interesting. Lecturer did an amazing job at at grasping students attention throughout the course

By Nang T T H

Nov 8, 2020

I get so many knowledge for problem solving but I think some lectures are a little bore and less interesting.

By Ritesh J

Jun 12, 2020

Great course, Industry-level management insights. More case studies could have made this the perfect course.

By Gosin N

Sep 13, 2020

The instructor's way of telling stories was kind of bland and a bit boring.

It's a bit monotone all the way.

By Karla E G

Aug 5, 2020

excellent class maybe needs more creative examples to show the materials. Other than that very clear class.

By Ana C P T

Jul 7, 2017

I really liked the opportunity and I will keep myself on track in this area. Great work from the teachers.

By Christian F A

Mar 7, 2020

Some questions in the third module quiz are ambiguous, please review. Presentations are a little boring.

By Stefan

Dec 3, 2015

A very good course, i liked very much the examples used, i do wish there where some practical exercises.

By Bikash B C

May 6, 2020

I recommend this course to those who want to confront and address the dynamics of the real-life issues.

By Nicolas d

Feb 18, 2020

Nice training. I would have appreciated to have more explanations about processes for problem solving.

By Rahman T

Nov 2, 2020

This helps us to understand the high level knowledge of effective Problem Solving and Decision making

By Sebastien H

Oct 23, 2017

Good introductory course (or refresher) on basic decision-making. Concise, clear and worth the time.

By Vy N

Aug 23, 2015

Easy to learn ^^

The professor explain by giving easy understanding examples. Not take time too much

By Sunil S S

Oct 14, 2020

It is very useful course, gained broader knowledge about Problem solving skill and Decision making

By JOSE R R S

Jun 8, 2016

Usefull but simple, would recommend to include a more in-depth content in future updates

By Midori

Nov 30, 2015

Mainly focus on tools, if adding more strategy or thinking model related will be better.

By Dakota K V

Jan 7, 2016

This course gives you better insights in Problem-solving and the tools to measure this.

By BENJAMIN W

Aug 8, 2018

Cursory, but common essential vocabulary and ontology of decision making re: business.