Chevron Left
Back to The Art of Music Production

Learner Reviews & Feedback for The Art of Music Production by Berklee

4.8
stars
1,997 ratings

About the Course

Explore the art of record production and how to make recordings that other people will love listening to. This course will teach you how to make emotionally moving recordings on almost any recording equipment, including your phone or laptop. The emphasis is on mastering tangible artistic concepts; the gear you use is up to you. You will learn to develop the most important tool in the recording studio: your ears. You will learn to enhance every aspect of your own productions, both sonically and musically, by employing deeper listening skills. Assignments will include posting your own recordings for peer review, and reviewing your classmates’ work by employing specific tools and strategies. If you use a digital audio workstation to record and mix, that’s great, but as long as you can record into your computer and post an MP3, you can complete the assignments. As you learn about the art of record production in this 4-week course, you will also learn about yourself and who you are as an artist and producer. It is not necessary that you read music or play an instrument to take this course....

Top reviews

RM

Jul 28, 2020

I really enjoyed this course. I learned how to create my very first music song all on my own using an interface. I am independent and ready to make lots more music in my home on my own time by myself.

BD

Aug 21, 2018

Really enjoyed this and got a lot out of it.

Great curriculum, great delivery. Meaningful assignments, great community. Highly recommend if you want to reflect on and hone your artistic vision.

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 597 Reviews for The Art of Music Production

By Teresa M

Jul 3, 2021

Loved the course, the community and the hands on projects. First college level music course I've ever taken. Just a little apprehensive that successful completion is dependent on other students reviewing my work. If no one ever reviews your final project, then you are stuck with an incomplete.

By Dena S

Nov 1, 2016

This course was the perfect blend of basics and details. Stephen's videos are packed with valuable information yet presented in a way that is easy to understand. This course helped me take that first step in producing a song with structure and intent. Comfortable and good flow. Solid choice.

By Jakob M

Dec 11, 2017

Absolutely fantastic course! Gives a lot of insight into how it is to be a musician and/or producer while helping you define yourself, your style and develop new techniques that can be used when recording, creating and playing music. Recommended for anyone who has an interest in music!

By Matt S

Aug 11, 2016

A fantastic and thought provoking set of resources and a really interesting course that has made me consider my place as an artist and producer and focus on giving my music an identity. I'd thorougly recommend this course to anyone interested in developing themselves as a musician

By Jenny P M A

Jan 7, 2020

Me encanto este curso cumplio totalmente mis expectativas , las supero aprendi muchisimo, estoy muy contenta y muy emocionada Muchas Gracias a Coursera y a Berklee College of Music por esta gran oportunidad . Felicitaciones al Docente Stephen Webber

Muchas Gracias

JENNY MORENO A

By Yaşar U

Sep 2, 2023

With these trainings, I have acquired all the necessary hardware information to learn music with all its foundations and to make music the best in the name of Art!.. Receiving a charismatic certificate from a prestigious University has been a source of pride for me! Thanks.

By Abhishek P

May 18, 2020

The instructor is a master of his own work and definitely knows how to convey his message to the student. Watching the lectures helped get engaged in the conversation and also with every new lecture I learned something new about how can I be creative with music writing.

By Ruthanne N

Apr 13, 2021

I had a much better understanding of how to form my identity, vision, and sonic signature after completing this course. I am also able to identify these things in the artists of the music I listen to. Over all, I have a much greater appreciation for music producers!

By Matteo T

Oct 19, 2016

Great course! Thanks a lot to Stephen Webber, Berklee and Cousera. I learned a ton of things. The explanations were really clear and it's a pleasure to learn from Mr Webber. Highly recommended if you're starting to get intereseted in music production and recording.

By Rudolph G E

May 31, 2023

This course really made a difference in my life. I excelled in being more diverse, creative, and motivated. It was really worth the time, money; and effort...Thank you for allowing me to thrive in my passion for knowledge, music; and creativity...Rudy Estillore

By Vaso B

Sep 29, 2016

Great lesson! The videos were easy to understand and well - structured . With the assignments, you had to define your identity as an artist and understand who you are more objectively, define your goals and artistic projects. I definitely recommend it.

By Jordan P H

Jan 18, 2023

Very thorough course with an in depth visual plus hands on approach!, The Lecturer was concise/ clear and uplifting! The approach was clear and precise!, Thankyou For the support and training a very interesting course that helped me a lot!

Five Stars

By Vincent A

Jun 7, 2016

Great course and great teacher. Great overview of how to produce some modern records. Also, Stephen has this jovial personality when teaching which makes it easy to absorb and stay inspired. Thanks for opening up this course and sharing the knowledge!

By Justin S

Oct 7, 2020

The course took an in-depth review of the art of music. It was paced well and was not overwhelming. The instructions given were clear and the information shared was concise and flowed smoothly. Attention to detail was clearly a goal for this course.

By Barry G

Mar 16, 2022

A really powerful insight into blending your identity and intention as an artist into the music you make. And some handy techniques learned along the way to create a "space" for your music to be heard through. Highly recommend for any self-producer

By 강대영

Feb 7, 2017

I can establish a lot of essential concepts about the music production. His saying that 'Think about conveying the emotion' could be the great asset for me to make music. I strongly recommend this lecture for beginning career as an music artist.

By MANUEL M P O

Oct 15, 2020

I have never had so many good tips in such a short time, the information is clear and the instructor helps a lot, if you are learning to have a clear vision and intention of your music and what you produce it is your best option, definitely.

By Valen F C

Apr 23, 2020

Great course. It gave a lot of practical information as well as engaged me to think about myself as a musician. It looked at the music production process from a different angle and that was helpful to get me re-engaged in making music again.

By meina s

Dec 15, 2019

Awesome I loved that it was hands on and peer review the feed back was great all the videos were great!! He 10000% knew what he was talking about and able to speak in a way EVERYONE could understand I may look into more courses he teaches!!

By Daniela D V G

Nov 17, 2016

This was a great course and I recommend it to everyone. It was very enjoyable and the assignments pushed me every week to improve the way I listen and make recordings. I'm looking forward to continuing making songs from what I've learned.

By Shervon F

Jun 20, 2021

this course have opened me to a variety of aspect that i was missing when i was trying to create something wonderful in music i can say what was learnt will be implemented and better production will be submitted from me in the future

By Lissie L N

Aug 9, 2016

No cabe duda de que Berklee es una escuela de calidad. Este curso es rápido pero con mucho contenido valioso! me quedé con ganas de seguir aprendiendo más, tuve que inscribirme a la especializacion. Estuvo genial. Excelente maestro.

By Gustavo S d S

Jul 20, 2020

An amazing course that brings us a lot on music production. Professor Stephen Webber is clear on the content, presenting about analysis of songs, studio and live performance, ambience on music, types of microphone... Recommended!

By Zoya M

Jun 30, 2017

A very organized course, the content was great and the people who reviewed the work were very kind too. The discussion prompts were interesting and engaging. I learned a lot and definitely recommend it to learners of all levels.

By Shyian D V

Jul 12, 2018

I'm glad to be a part of amazing community that worked together in this course! The useful content taught by Stephen Webber helped me to improve my production skills and lit the light to future projects.Thanks for knowledges!