Chevron Left
Back to Functional Programming Principles in Scala

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Functional Programming Principles in Scala by École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne

4.8
stars
7,415 ratings
1,492 reviews

About the Course

Functional programming is becoming increasingly widespread in industry. This trend is driven by the adoption of Scala as the main programming language for many applications. Scala fuses functional and object-oriented programming in a practical package. It interoperates seamlessly with both Java and Javascript. Scala is the implementation language of many important frameworks, including Apache Spark, Kafka, and Akka. It provides the core infrastructure for sites such as Twitter, Tumblr and also Coursera. In this course you will discover the elements of the functional programming style and learn how to apply them usefully in your daily programming tasks. You will also develop a solid foundation for reasoning about functional programs, by touching upon proofs of invariants and the tracing of execution symbolically. The course is hands on; most units introduce short programs that serve as illustrations of important concepts and invite you to play with them, modifying and improving them. The course is complemented by a series programming projects as homework assignments. Recommended background: You should have at least one year programming experience. Proficiency with Java or C# is ideal, but experience with other languages such as C/C++, Python, Javascript or Ruby is also sufficient. You should have some familiarity using the command line....

Top reviews

RS

Oct 09, 2016

Really good explanation by the instructor. Good assignments. The assignments gave a good insights into functional programming. I loved the way the problems were decomposed into neat smaller functions.

VP

Sep 14, 2018

It took me much longer than expected to finish the course and sometimes it made me feel stupid and helpless. Diving into functional programming was a mind bending experience, totally worth time spent!

Filter by:

1301 - 1325 of 1,430 Reviews for Functional Programming Principles in Scala

By Aschwin W

Sep 20, 2016

High level course. Exercises are academic of nature. You might need more time to finish the exercises. I appreciate that this is a well formed course.

By Dani G

Oct 21, 2016

Great Course to be familiar with the functional programming principles. Missing a little bit more solved examples and some more fundamental materail

By Jose C C F

May 17, 2020

It could have some more tests for the code in the assignments, otherwise its kind of difficult to test your own code. At least one test per method

By Dung V

Oct 14, 2016

I like this course. It can help me about practise programing scala easily. In here, I can learn scala programming quickly with support everyone.

By Boris E

Dec 19, 2016

Wish they didn't restructure the old classes, now it offers less of the interesting material. Fantastic course nonetheless, highly recommended.

By Philipp J

Jun 22, 2017

you can learn a lot and the course is prepared really well. Sometimes I would wish to have some more practical and less mathematical examples.

By BIN L

Jun 14, 2018

quite good course & professor, just the exercise is a bit too much for a beginner; more suitable for people who are familiar with the syntax

By Christian B

Aug 11, 2017

More explanations on the basics of the language to start would be helpful. First try to express it in languages and terms that are familiar

By Michal N

Apr 10, 2019

Pretty good course on Scala. Only thing they can change is to move Week 4 assignment to week 5 - because Week 5 videos help a lot with it.

By Dmytro K

Nov 28, 2016

Heavy lecture material. Programming assignments require some work or preset knowledge of functional programming to succesfully complite.

By Leo A

Sep 26, 2016

This course gives a very nice introduction to Functional Programming whilst introducing you to the idiosyncrasies of the Scala language.

By ZHANG X

Feb 28, 2019

The course provide a way to see programming differently. The exercices are very difficult. It would be nice to provide more test cases.

By Kenneth M

Aug 15, 2016

A very good beginners course for learning Scala. The lectures are a bit dry but overall a very good course with good assignments.

By Tomasz K

May 16, 2019

Good way to learn by doing - assignments extend lectures and give additonal approach to deal with the all programming issues.

By Hitesh

Aug 24, 2018

Brilliant Course, had lots of fun coding. It was challenging and stimulating. Thanks Prof. Odersky for putting this together.

By William S

Jul 25, 2017

Good starting course, helps to have a little knowledge of Scala or Java already and also a decent understanding of recursion.

By Xiao L

Nov 30, 2017

very good course. good organize and materials, and homework assignments.

homework is hard, hope can provide more test cases.

By antonin p

Apr 02, 2017

Excellent, still maybe, not enough teacher - students interactions for person who paid for the course. (in forums etc...).

By humberto c

Mar 04, 2017

It was good fun to complete it but some of the assignments did take more than 3 hours, more like between 4 and 5 hours

By Walid E H

Apr 27, 2018

Cours complet avec beaucoup d'exercices pour la prise en main des principes de programmation fonctionnelle avec Scala

By Seongsan K

Feb 20, 2018

I really enjoyed the videos and the assignments. I wish there were more simple exercises for week 5 as an assignment

By John M

Feb 07, 2017

Scala from the source! Great way to get a great introduction to the language and how it is best applied to problems

By SAMAUN I F

Oct 16, 2016

This course really helped me to understand the basics of SCALA. I really enjoyed the challenges of this course.

By Denilson A C

Sep 22, 2017

I liked this course, have been a great experience..

I would like that the Sound of Videos could be improved

By Rajiv T S

Jul 27, 2017

The course was a little more involved than I expected, but nevertheless worth the time you invest in it.