Chevron Left
Back to Programming Languages, Part A

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Programming Languages, Part A by University of Washington

4.9
stars
1,526 ratings
452 reviews

About the Course

This course is an introduction to the basic concepts of programming languages, with a strong emphasis on functional programming. The course uses the languages ML, Racket, and Ruby as vehicles for teaching the concepts, but the real intent is to teach enough about how any language “fits together” to make you more effective programming in any language -- and in learning new ones. This course is neither particularly theoretical nor just about programming specifics -- it will give you a framework for understanding how to use language constructs effectively and how to design correct and elegant programs. By using different languages, you will learn to think more deeply than in terms of the particular syntax of one language. The emphasis on functional programming is essential for learning how to write robust, reusable, composable, and elegant programs. Indeed, many of the most important ideas in modern languages have their roots in functional programming. Get ready to learn a fresh and beautiful way to look at software and how to have fun building it. The course assumes some prior experience with programming, as described in more detail in the first module. The course is divided into three Coursera courses: Part A, Part B, and Part C. As explained in more detail in the first module of Part A, the overall course is a substantial amount of challenging material, so the three-part format provides two intermediate milestones and opportunities for a pause before continuing. The three parts are designed to be completed in order and set up to motivate you to continue through to the end of Part C. The three parts are not quite equal in length: Part A is almost as substantial as Part B and Part C combined. Week 1 of Part A has a more detailed list of topics for all three parts of the course, but it is expected that most course participants will not (yet!) know what all these topics mean....

Top reviews

YZ
Dec 2, 2016

I'm just a beginner for CS or SE classes, and find this course really concise and challenging. It opens a door for me to get deeper into programming language. No wonder it got so high average score.

VA
Mar 4, 2018

Very interesting course! Superb teaching and homework assignments. If you are interested in functional programming or in programming languages in general, this should be one of the must take MOOCs

Filter by:

151 - 175 of 450 Reviews for Programming Languages, Part A

By itiel y

Apr 28, 2020

Amazing course for those who have interest in functional programming. Prof. Dan is great lecturer, and his passion and enthusiasm for the subject clearly shows.

By Sohom B

Mar 9, 2019

Amazing Course. Professor Dan really brings out the best in the students, and communicates the material really well. Will be taking Part B and Part C shortly!!

By Mark B

Aug 14, 2021

I​ really enjoyed this course, the way it compared different types of programming languages helped me to understand the similarities that all languages share.

By Zachary R

Mar 20, 2020

Great introduction to functional programming, especially for folks with an OOP background. Challenging and rewarding. I am looking forward to parts B and C!

By Michal Z

Jun 10, 2017

Outstanding course. Actually, it's valuable even for experienced programmers. The ideas presented in course could be used in other - mainstream languages.

By Tega E

Mar 28, 2019

I really enjoyed taking this course. It was quite taxing but I loved the way Dan Grossman presented the concepts in a very intuitive and didactic manner.

By Nester P

May 6, 2017

Great course! HW

Great course! The HWs were more challenging than I expected but Dan's lectures are very clear and the concepts are explained very well.

By Jiayi L

Oct 8, 2016

Great Course. Unlike other MOOC courses, it provides sufficent practices which helps me to understand the content a lot. Looking forward to take part B

By Aaron

Oct 30, 2017

Wonderful course. Highly recommend for anyone who hasn't made any study of programming languages before, whether you are a student or professional.

By Hristo I

Oct 16, 2020

The course is actually very useful and well structured. Don't be scared by the use of a programming language (Standard ML) that might seem obscure.

By Tejas P B

Sep 10, 2017

Exceptional experience, learnt a lot! Will recommend whole heartedly to others. I am onto part B now! Excited to see how racket contrasts with ML.

By Kevin S

Jan 12, 2021

Really clear teaching and well prepared material. In this part the course focuses on functional programming, which is really elegant and consice.

By Nitin L

Apr 5, 2017

I really appreciate the content of this course and will like to thank prof. Grossman and Coursera team for providing me an opportunity to learn.

By Zhang K W

Mar 21, 2021

Excellent course to further hone your programming skills and computational thinking - I will forever see programming languages in a new light.

By Alexei B

Feb 26, 2018

excellent, i couldn`t take it few years ago - due to my bad english, today i really enjoy it.

Many things that seemed difficult for me are not.

By Oladapo F

May 14, 2017

Great course for whoever is interested in understanding more about how programming languages works (statically typed in part A of the course)

By Tang H T

Jan 6, 2019

Very good instructor, challenging but doable homework for week 3 and 4. Exam is too easy though. I would like the exam to be more difficult.

By Ruud W

May 3, 2021

Excellent course. Learn important functional programming concepts, using SML. Very good teacher with excellent videos and written material.

By Paul G

Jul 9, 2020

Great course. Lectures are clear and homework really helps understand the abstract concepts. Thank you for making this available for free!

By Feiyu L

Apr 14, 2018

such a clear introduction to Functional Programing. My fear of 'academic functional style' is totally gone, and really like recursion now.

By Anthony J

Jul 17, 2020

Instructor is clear and interesting. Course material builds in a way that helps you learn it. Great class, thanks for making it online.

By Oskar M G A

May 18, 2019

Great course, if you want to learn the foundations of functional programming in a purely functional language this is the course for you!

By ChristopherKing

Nov 10, 2017

This is absolutely a challenge course for those people who are not familiar with functional programming. Nice course material and teach.

By Jesse T

Nov 25, 2017

Covers essential functional idioms, and explores ways of computation different than the usual imperative, object-oriented patterns.

By Yu Z

Jul 29, 2017

This course is fantastic. Taking this course is a very rewarding experience. A great investment for sure! Thank Dan and his team!