Chevron Left
Back to Project Management: The Basics for Success

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Project Management: The Basics for Success by University of California, Irvine

4.6
stars
6,951 ratings
1,387 reviews

About the Course

This course combines the essential elements of Project Management and Team Leadership into one course. Through class engagement and reflection, you will acquire further understanding of the responsibilities of leadership and become better prepared to apply this knowledge to the project environment. Upon completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Learn about the role of high performance teams and leadership in project management 2. Learn about the tools and techniques for developing and strengthening high performance teams and team members 3. Learn about the stages in project cycle 4. Apply best practices to develop competencies and skills in planning and controlling projects to ensure successful outcomes 5. Learn how to monitor project activities and assess progress 6. Learn to communicate proficiently to report project status and performance to stakeholders and contribute to organizational knowledge base...

Top reviews

AM

May 20, 2020

Thank you to Coursera for such a great platform to improve our skills and literacy.The learning environment offered here is completely a learn at your own pace environment,making it flexible to learn.

JG

Mar 28, 2018

Very informative and interesting. Lots of useful tools. What I liked in this course was that there were lots of examples given on how to act when something does not go as planned or if issues arrise.

Filter by:

1026 - 1050 of 1,368 Reviews for Project Management: The Basics for Success

By Marco M

Jan 01, 2019

Very lean and effective. The only thing i would change is to distribute the content more evenly for each week, or split week 4 in 2 or 3 weeks.

By Viraj G

Apr 17, 2016

Amazing course. A must recommended course for a New manager.

Prof. Rob Stone has very well explained basic fundas of PM in simplistic language.

By Sulaiman A S

Jun 15, 2020

was a really helpful course and wonderfully showed , each aspect was clear and understandable and i would use this course for future reference

By Christoph M

Jun 22, 2017

A solid introduction into project management, without touching the different forms. Scrum and agile aren't mentioned. But still recommendable.

By Martin K

Aug 19, 2015

Decent introduction to the basics of Project Management. Good for those who want to understand the basic framework of project management.

By Gabriel T

Jul 03, 2020

The course was great! Material was clear, simple and concise and to the point. Additional material was very helpful. Very much recommend.

By Victor V

Mar 25, 2020

good course. detailed pdf and clear vocabulary used.

duration is much shorter than the one announced though. Can be achieve within 2 days.

By Christopher D S

Jan 16, 2019

Very basic overview of Project Management. It does not go into depth, nor does it give you exercises to give you a deeper understanding.

By Giacomo M

Mar 12, 2018

Very useful courses for introducing people to project mgmt, provide interesting and detailed information and methods to manage a project.

By CHAP S

May 13, 2020

The course of content is well organized and details oriented. The lecturer also demonstrates the example clearly and easy to understand.

By Donald

Aug 31, 2015

A great overview, not any real depth, some practice examples would be nice. Good for those who have never done PM at all as a primer.

By Jacob P

Feb 26, 2018

This class not only was a great introduction to Project Management basics, but also a great refresher on valuable leadership methods.

By Sonia C

Jan 21, 2016

It would be nice to encurage the students to use a project they are working on to apply the knowlegde while still taking the course.

By Bassam D

Nov 30, 2015

Good introduction to Project Management. Many subjects were covered but there was a possibility to add details into some of them.

By Ajith N

Feb 14, 2016

Quick and precise....touched on some crucial aspects , especially team building and working with difficult people ! Thank you !

By Zubair K

Sep 09, 2015

It was a good quick overview. Something more indepth would have had some exercises but this gave a thorough snap shot. Thank you

By Chirag G

Jun 06, 2020

This course is basic on Project Management. You will get some good sources and ideas about Project Management. Really helpful.

By Suzanne M G

Oct 13, 2016

The course is very basic. I am hope that it gets into more detail as the specialization continues. Instructor is very good.

By Dmitry G

Oct 27, 2015

Course is greate, really! But one thing was not as good, as I want - teachers pronunciation. Other things were great! Thanks!

By Patty W

Aug 18, 2015

This course is great for the basic fundamentals of project management. The presentation could have been a bit more engaging.

By Liyan L

Oct 03, 2018

At the beginning it is too simple. But as it goes, it gets more interesting. Overall, I'd wish it to be more challenging.

By Andrew B

Oct 19, 2016

I have learned a lot in this course and it will help me in my new career in Project Management thank you to the professor

By April G

Sep 22, 2015

Valuable information for a basics course. Learned several tools I'm taking into my work as an unofficial project manager.

By Victoria C

Jan 17, 2019

Great course, really useful explanations from the instructor, engaging stories, and useful Quiz's to reinforce learning.

By Tadeo

Sep 12, 2015

The guy who explains talk like "I do not want to do this" I think a Project manager should have the power of influence.