Chevron Left
Back to Foundations of Project Management

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Foundations of Project Management by Google

4.9
stars
60,134 ratings

About the Course

This course is the first in a series of six to equip you with the skills you need to apply to introductory-level roles in project management. Project managers play a key role in leading, planning and implementing critical projects to help their organizations succeed. In this course, you’ll discover foundational project management terminology and gain a deeper understanding of the role and responsibilities of a project manager. We’ll also introduce you to the kinds of jobs you might pursue after completing this program. Throughout the program, you’ll learn from current Google project managers, who can provide you with a multi-dimensional educational experience that will help you build your skills for on-the-job application. Learners who complete this program should be equipped to apply for introductory-level jobs as project managers. No previous experience is necessary. By the end of this course, you will be able to: - Define project management and describe what constitutes a project. - Explore project management roles and responsibilities across a variety of industries. - Detail the core skills that help a project manager be successful. - Describe the life cycle of a project and explain the significance of each phase. - Compare different program management methodologies and approaches and determine which is most effective for a given project. - Define organizational structure and culture and explain how it impacts project management. - Define change management and describe the role of the project manager in the process....

Top reviews

MR

Nov 27, 2021

Learned a lot such as Agile, C-Suite, Change management, Corporate governance, Culture mapping, DMAIC, Kanban, Lean, Lean Six Sigma, Linear, Matrix structure, Reporting chart, Six Sigma etc. Thank you

VR

Jun 12, 2022

Great delivery of material. Interactive and easy to digest. I was able to apply the conccepts covered in this course to my daily duties as a leader in my organization and was surprised at the results.

Filter by:

476 - 500 of 10,000 Reviews for Foundations of Project Management

By PRABHAKARAN V P 2

Aug 26, 2022

Thannk you so much google coursera team for accepting my financial aid request. I hope this will be a very good added more value to my resume. Thanks for Emilio for the guidance and explanations of the methodologies of Project Management. I assure I'll searrch for the Scrum master role or other roles of PM in my career. Thank you.

By Helen L

Jun 6, 2022

I love that i can always go back if i did not understand something. It is very helpful that i can work at my own time and speed. this way i get the most out of the class and i dont have to fell that i am holding others in the class back or if i get done with a week i dont have to sit around and wait for others to finish the week .

By Lanre O

Apr 23, 2021

The easy level through which the Google Employee that took me through this course & broke down all the introductory bits to help bring me into the world of Project Management, definitely gave me clarity and confidence that this was the best program I should be spending my time on while getting into the field of Project Management.

By Chathura L G

Feb 25, 2023

The videos make it really easy to grasp the core concepts. Additional readings are just the right amount as it does not exhaust the learner and at the same time give all the essential extra details. The quiz section and interactive features complement the overall learning experience perfectly. All in all, this is a great program!

By Sanja D

Nov 9, 2022

Very good general overview of the project management responsibilities and roles. The material was presented in a structured and interesting way, with both video materials and reading, as well as frequent exercises to drive instant knowledge acquisition. For me, it was a refresher course, but still I got a lot of new information.

By Prachi D

Sep 29, 2022

This is an excellent course for people who want to develop their understanding of project management especially if you hai from a technical backgourd. This course provides you with insights that help you to understand the current project and your current organization structure properly, thereby allowing to work more effectively.

By Michael I

Sep 13, 2022

I want to say that this course was impactfull and life changing . I enjoy every part of the training. I look forward in doing another course with you. I have 1 problem, my name was not fully written on my certificate. How can that be corrected? My name is, Michael Ijiko. But only Michael was written on the certificate. Thank You

By Michael S

Feb 4, 2022

Great learning but more to disect and understand the deep side of being a project manager, as i this my dream role next even i try some of this responsibilties at my current role and kind to experienced it. it gives more values, so there you go, hope soon to manage a dream project to handle. See in next lesson for more learnings.

By Osman A B

Nov 17, 2021

This was a well-structured and organized course covering most of the basics but essential parts of project management. The instructor presented the course materials in a professional manner and showed their skills and passion for this journey.

I am grateful to be given the opportunity to be part of this journey.

Thank you so much.

By Rashpreet K

May 22, 2022

this course has teach me alot , also with a great professional who tells you about their real life experiences help alot in gaining knowlegde and tips that are given by them , i'm sure they are going to help me in my future . really happy to complete this course by google and going to learn many more courses by google in future.

By Bailey N

Dec 19, 2021

An exceptionally well done course covering all of the foundations that you would expect inside of Project Management. The material is well divided into helpful videos, readings, and quizzes to test your knowledge. I highly recommend this course to anyone interested in the field of Project Management. It will absolutely help you!

By Jessamyn O

Apr 28, 2022

This course was a great overview of what project management is, the different styles, how to look for jobs and so much more regarding becoming a project manager. I loved how in detail everything was explained and the check ins and quizes were great too. I am excited to continue to course 2 to go more in detail about everything.

By Daniel M

Mar 19, 2022

This was a really good course, I learned a lot and reinforced some of the skills and knowledge I have already acquired. I am already a project manager, so I was able to automatically see how the course contents directly applied to projects or situations I have been in already and the advice for those scenarios is very helpful.

By Stylianos M

Sep 17, 2021

It helped me enter the world of Project Management. A big Bravo to the Instructors!!!! Thank you all for your efforts you did and doing. I am sure many people like me will get advanced on their career by starting such a course ....and..We are still in the beginning of this nice journey in the world of Proj.Mngmnt Great Job!!!!

By Dale A C j

Apr 24, 2021

This course was great at covering all the foundations of project managers and how they impact businesses and organizations as well as defining key business terminology and methodology. I think the questions should be a little more challenging, engaging with the user, but very comprehensive and well developed course nonetheless.

By Tasnim A

Feb 25, 2023

an eye opener and highly relevant! recommended not only for those who seek careers on PM but also managers, business owners, and corporate workers. i reflected a lot through this course and now is even more eager to finish all the course to get professional certificate! thanks google for approving my financial aid application!

By Romil N

Jan 19, 2023

A very interesting course that gives an overview of project management. This will help learners decide whether they should enrol for complete specialization or not ( I would say they should). the course instructor was also fantasic, he made all the learnings easy to understand and learn and memorize at the very first instance.

By Javier D

Jul 28, 2021

Had taken the course before but deleted my account, i realized how well I learned the material instead of simply memorizing it when i was able to run through it again in less than 3 days. Amazing planning and focusing of key points really teaches people instead of simply asking them to memorize something they will soon forget.

By devaraju o

Jun 22, 2022

Very interested to know many more new things about different Organizational structures and it's Culture. most importantly about the different types project management methodologies. And it is very much imortant to have knowledge and epertise to a project manager to understand and manage.

Very well designed for professionals.

By Terje S

Feb 22, 2022

This gave a really nice introduction to the terminology and concepts. I love that it was very encouraging and also had a lot of focus on how existing skills can be transferable to this new career path. As someone who is studying this later on in my career it was encouraging to hear that all of my past work will be applicable.

By Deleted A

Aug 10, 2021

The way this course is structured is really good. Videos and reading materials are not too lengthy (10 minutes max). Interactive Web Interface is what I liked the most about this course. Not to mention the graphics within each video and the video quality itself is up to the mark.

I'm going for the second course. See you there.

By FAISAL A

Jul 27, 2021

I thought that I would just get this over with quickly and maybe just keep and earn a certificate but truly this course is Intuitive and interactive and one has to actually pay attention and learn some things before they can get the certificate. I Wish all the best for the upcoming people who will participate in this program.

By Paige L

Mar 24, 2021

Great overview and just the right amount of content. Did a great job of demonstrating how all kinds of life skills can translate to a new, entry-level career in project management. Appreciated the insights from real project management professionals who followed a non-traditional path to start their project management careers.

By Dr a y

Sep 10, 2021

Really its too important topic with great motivation factors. nowadays we have sudden changes in technology, internal and external environmental changes, global competition, new customized requirements on products & services, new expectations of now more educated customers & users than before,so thanks a lot for this course.

By Luis C C

May 17, 2021

Excellent and extremely useful information, delivered in a clear way and with realistic examples to better understand the topics and subjects. Emilio has a good way to provide the information without it sounding boring or overwhelming.

I would like to hear more examples of the topics within Google and/or other organizations.