Chevron Left
Back to Foundations of Project Management

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Foundations of Project Management by Google

4.9
stars
81,539 ratings

About the Course

This course is the first in a series of six to equip you with the skills you need to apply to introductory-level roles in project management. Project managers play a key role in leading, planning and implementing critical projects to help their organizations succeed. In this course, you’ll discover foundational project management terminology and gain a deeper understanding of the role and responsibilities of a project manager. We’ll also introduce you to the kinds of jobs you might pursue after completing this program. Throughout the program, you’ll learn from current Google project managers, who can provide you with a multi-dimensional educational experience that will help you build your skills for on-the-job application. Learners who complete this program should be equipped to apply for introductory-level jobs as project managers. No previous experience is necessary. By the end of this course, you will be able to: - Define project management and describe what constitutes a project. - Explore project management roles and responsibilities across a variety of industries. - Detail the core skills that help a project manager be successful. - Describe the life cycle of a project and explain the significance of each phase. - Compare different program management methodologies and approaches and determine which is most effective for a given project. - Define organizational structure and culture and explain how it impacts project management. - Define change management and describe the role of the project manager in the process....

Top reviews

RM

Invalid date

Coursera Learning videos always the best and top notch with thorough concepts and hands on experience. Special Thanks to Google for providing inner core concepts on Foundations of Project Management.

BC

Invalid date

This course is very helpful for those who want to kick start their career in project management field. It is highly interactive and covers basics of project management thoroughly. I really enjoyed it.

Filter by:

251 - 275 of 10,000 Reviews for Foundations of Project Management

By Georgina M M

Jun 20, 2022

I enjoyed the mixed methods in learning, which greatly improves distance learning away from just reading content. I also like learning checks and quizzes, with references to follow up on for wrong answers. The only thing I wasn't thrilled about is the lack of student discussions and collaboration. Student responses are optional and it seems students don't interact or respond when you reply to their responses. I think there's a missed opportunity here. I was reviewed and graded on my interation with other students for my BA and MA, which were both distance learning courses.

By Jessica N

Jan 9, 2022

Although I had learnt these topics in school, it has been a long time since those lessons. This course helped me to reflect on the projects I have taken on in these past 6 years and the factors that made them a success (or failure). I am currently in a transitional part of life, having left my first professional job, and eager to apply my efforts in a broader range of work. I enjoyed the learning experience, and look forward to completing more modules. Thank you Googlers for your contributions in creating and maintaining this course. I appreciate the choices you made.

By Sally T

May 22, 2022

I am really enjoying the course Foundations of Project Management. The instructors are very clear and concise and the different forms of presenting the information (videos, readings, interactive videos) make learning fun. This class gives an overview of Project Management including transferrable skills you may already have, project management roles, project management methodologies, organizational culture and more. I highly recommend the class and am looking forward the next five courses in the Project Management Certificate program. Thanks, Coursera and Google!

By Joshua M

Apr 18, 2022

The course was a good overview of project management concepts. Efficient use of learning time. Effective resources/readings. The quizzes were intuitive and matched the content.

Application-wise, the assignments where you write your own thoughts were effective, though I noticed not all students gave detailed answers. Take advantage of every assignment and you'll get a good learning experience.

A little over 3 hours for each week and there are 4 weeks in total (for me it took 1 week). About 15 hours in total including job searching as part of a couple of the exercises.

By Dawn M

Apr 21, 2023

The Foundations of Project Management course is a wealth of excellent information and experience presented systematically with a blend of quality video (the instructors are great!), reading resources, interaction, and quizzes and tests to ensure that the concepts are being mastered. I really appreciate the flexibility of this course and the estimated times noted for each learning module, . This helps me manage my time and fit new learning into a busy schedule while feeling like I am really accomplishing something toward my goals. I look forward to the next course!

By Maria F

May 29, 2022

This course is an excellent introduction to Project Management. I like the format, which is a combination of short videos, pertinent readings, a discussion board, and practice activities to apply newly learned skills. This course includes career possibilities, which I think is great to have at the very beginning of the course. This course also teaches about how the organization that you are a part of impacts your position as a PM. I was excited to complete every part of this course! Continuing on to Course 2~ Project Initiation: Starting a Successful Project.

By Oluwabukunmi V K

Aug 21, 2022

The course has been really helpful and educative, as it has offered me the insight i need concerinng project management. Have learnt what project management is all about and how to implemet it in my day to day activity. With all i have learnt, i am confident that i am more knowledgeable in the field. I can now take up project without any fear of not delivering quality service. I also want to appreciate all the project managers that handled one part or another of this course. I am so happy i get to complete it, as i can now focus on the next course ahead.

By Kassie C

Sep 5, 2022

This course was very user friendly and I am a not so techy person. Plenty of additional resources from outside the course classroom were provided for every topic along the way, with real life examples and the ability to chat with classmates. Those tools combined with graphs and images helped to make the material way more memerable. The best part for me was that I was able to follow along with and complete the tasks in my own time. I highly recommend taking this course both for the official certification and the professional and personanal development.

By Ibilola O

Nov 7, 2022

I giving a five star !!! I am so excited that I have gained a deep overview into the foundations of project management. It has boost my confidence which assured me that the beauty of project management is that you don't need to be an expert on a focused field but my ability to able to manage projects. It's an incredible useful and versatile certification. It is a career path with a great potential in which I will gain transferable skills that can be used in many different Jobs and career paths. Looking forward in learning more in course 2.

By Kathryn R

Oct 29, 2021

As a new project manager, I found this course to be fantastic. It provides a great overview of what project management is for those of us who are just getting started and I appreciate the additional insights from program/project managers who have found this career path from many different backgrounds (army, bartending, etc.) It is amazing how many skills translate to this kind of work and I have noticed this myself as I have a background in sales. I would highly recommend this course if you are new to project management or looking for a career change.

By Sindry C B E

Dec 17, 2023

I really appreciate the opportunity to acquire this knowledge about project management, I really liked the course. I would like to continue learning about the skills and abilities required, as well as the different methodologies that can be applied. I really liked learning about change management, I would like to further strengthen my knowledge in this field. I really like the change management part and the different methodologies that can be applied. I would like to continue moving forward and reach the goal of being able to pursue this new career

By Bathiya W

Nov 5, 2023

I'm thrilled to share my experience with this outstanding project management course that expertly covers all the foundational elements a project manager needs. Beyond the basics, it provides invaluable guidance on launching a project management career, from job search strategies to application tips. The practical approach equips aspiring professionals with the tools to succeed. I wholeheartedly recommend this course to anyone looking to forge a path in project management. It's a resource that can truly make a difference in your professional journey.

By Aung T

Nov 5, 2021

Great and Best of getting opportunities to acquire comprehensive capabilities in respective fields from Google Industry for very practical, functional, actual and hands-on experiences & skill-sets under efficacious teaching tactics with simplicity to quality.

Love to learn more extended studies at Google in areas of Marketing, Finance, Human Resource Management and so on. Today education is not to get certificates from good ranking universities, but to become real capable and functional at current industries' workplaces for growth. Thank so much :)

By Buddhika U

Sep 10, 2022

It's a great pleasure to be apart in this course. Such a interesting lessons I learned so far. This may help me to learn in-theory knowledge to practice my day to day life management routine. And I would like to give my heartiest grattitudes for all the lecturers in this course to feed me in a polite way with their knowledge. And also like to give blessings to the GOOGLE because, I haven't a credit card to pay for this course and for the acceptance of my AID request gently and give me the chance until Sep 30 full free pakage of this Course one.

By cfoxphoto@yahoo.com

Jun 8, 2022

This course is incredibly engaging, well thought out and presented in an easy to understand format. I wish I could recommend this course to every Corporation for their employees to take, since everyone who works within an organization is a Project Manager in one way or another.

The Google employees who present the course are next level cool and articulate, confident and friendly.

Very empowering and enlightening. You will learn not just about the technical side of Project Management, but the human side as well. Behind all projects are people!

By Socorro H

Nov 28, 2021

This is a really great introduction into the field. The downloadable materials for the course are a great organizational resource that could be incorporated into your work almost everyday ! I highly recommend for people to consider taking some interpersonal/communications course. From a collaborators standpoint, it is really important to come into collaborative projects with some kind of concept of how the process of feedback works and how it can impact your outcomes and even different aspects of your career. Good luck and keep thriving!

By David C

Nov 28, 2023

Embarking on the Foundations of Project Management course was an eye-opening journey, unveiling the art of transforming life's transferable skills into powerful project management tools. From enabling decision-making to fostering effective communication, this course seamlessly integrates theory with practical application. It's a dynamic start, providing a roadmap to navigate ambiguity, instill flexibility, and master organizational prowess. A must for those eager to turn everyday skills into the cornerstone of project management success.

By Sima H

Apr 14, 2021

I very much liked the course. The videos and readings were not too long and were indeed engaging. I appreciate offering it as I am trying to expand my learning and help my candidacy for job opportunities as well as learning personally. If Google and Coursera could offer classes related to financial management similar to CFP or CMA with a certificate would be absolutely wonderful. with CFP even if we go through the course, if we are not working at investment companies, we cannot earn or receive the degree. Thanks again. Sima Hassassian

By KAMALAKANTH P

Oct 26, 2023

As is name suggests, the course is a foundation course. Clear, concise and well delivered program. Assignments and Quiz cannot be taken causally and they test your understanding of the subject. People who are currently project and program managers at Google, share their career journey and aspects of project management which they apply to both professional and personal life was an important take away for me from this course. I'm really impressed with the diversity which all these people bring to the table and add value to Google family.

By Sami U K

Sep 1, 2022

Alhamdulillah completed the Foundations of Project Management course by Google

In this course, I learned what project management is along with the role and value of a project manager, the project life cycle and the tasks to manage a project from start to finish. Learned about different project management methodologies and tips for choosing the right method for any project. Also learned about how creating simple team connections can lead to a successful project outcome and how organizational structure and culture can impact the project.

By seraj a

Jan 6, 2022

At this point I would like to gain a deeper understanding of the different phases of project management. As I progressed through this course I have realized that many aspects of my previous jobs would have gone more smoothly had I had this type of training earlier. I am more interested in project management without taking on a leadership role when undergoing change within an organization. I have had such a negative experience with this in the past that I would prefer to support someone else in that role rather than manage the changes.

By Olumide O O

Jun 25, 2021

I must say that cousera has added a fresh dimension to my academic life and zest for same. Studying this course injected into me a new zeal towards pursuing project management courses and I am now daring to go for PMP CAPM etc! I feared these courses before but the study of this course, even though due a number of complexities like power outage challenges in Nigeria and harsh conditions of living, I couldn't finish the other levels of the course before it closed down on me!

Thank you for the powerful opportunity and lifetime impact!

By Fahim A

Jul 7, 2023

I think this course provides a very good understanding of the basics of project management. It was easy to follow the videos and other materials. Although I did not formally work in a project management role, after going through these videos in this course, it made me understand that my previous roles were, in fact, project management roles. I was doubtful that it would be an easy journey for me toward project management. But after taking this course, I am now more confident. Looking forward to the next course in this certification.

By Sandip Y

May 15, 2022

Thanks, Google for the Amazing course material useful for foundations of project management. I Would like to learn more about the tools, software, and new strategies that can be useful to manage and track projects. In this course, most of the points are covered and useful in our day-by-day project management activities. I learned how Interpersonal skills are important to becoming a project manager. Interpersonal skills are Enabling decision making, Communicating and escalating, Remaining flexible, Organizational Skills, etc. Thanks

By Joao S

Mar 28, 2021

This course is really incredible and one of the topics that I liked the most was the following and I believe that it is what can make a big change in many companies, the importance of organizational culture. The culture of an organization defines its identity. Its identity essentially describes how the company conducts its business, both internally and externally. A company's values and organizational culture go hand in hand; its values are part of its identity. You can almost think of an organization's culture as its personality.