Chevron Left
Back to Foundations of Project Management

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Foundations of Project Management by Google

4.9
stars
60,807 ratings

About the Course

This course is the first in a series of six to equip you with the skills you need to apply to introductory-level roles in project management. Project managers play a key role in leading, planning and implementing critical projects to help their organizations succeed. In this course, you’ll discover foundational project management terminology and gain a deeper understanding of the role and responsibilities of a project manager. We’ll also introduce you to the kinds of jobs you might pursue after completing this program. Throughout the program, you’ll learn from current Google project managers, who can provide you with a multi-dimensional educational experience that will help you build your skills for on-the-job application. Learners who complete this program should be equipped to apply for introductory-level jobs as project managers. No previous experience is necessary. By the end of this course, you will be able to: - Define project management and describe what constitutes a project. - Explore project management roles and responsibilities across a variety of industries. - Detail the core skills that help a project manager be successful. - Describe the life cycle of a project and explain the significance of each phase. - Compare different program management methodologies and approaches and determine which is most effective for a given project. - Define organizational structure and culture and explain how it impacts project management. - Define change management and describe the role of the project manager in the process....

Top reviews

LL

Jan 18, 2022

Very informative and thorough! I've finished this course with so much knowledge that can be applied to the workforce. Everything is laid out in easy to follow and efficient steps. Couldn't be happier!

JK

Oct 5, 2021

Very informative and thorough! I've finished this course with so much knowledge that can be applied to the workforce. Everything is laid out in easy to follow and efficient steps. Couldn't be happier!

Filter by:

926 - 950 of 10,000 Reviews for Foundations of Project Management

By Matthew S

Oct 12, 2021

I really enjoyed this course. I loved the structure of having a video, reading, then quiz. I helped me get a better understanding of the project management concepts I was learning. I would highly recommend this to anyone looking to learn PM.

By Biniam T

Aug 27, 2021

Taking this course will help me to lead any project in my personal life and office. I thank you, Google and Coursera for giving me this opportunity. I promise to serve my people sincerely with the lessons I have learned.

Biniam Taye Endeshaw

By zachary s

Apr 24, 2021

I'm sad we don't get the teacher in the next course, he was fantastic! I'm sure the next will be just as good though. The course outline, the content, and the breakup of content was perfect and I wouldn't change a thing. Great job, Googlers.

By ameni m

Apr 1, 2021

I highly recommend this course even if you're not interested in a PM role. For me this course helped to understand various technical terms I see on job posting ( not related to PM role) like interpersonal skills, transferable skills and more

By tumininu a

Aug 1, 2022

I loved how the course was structured and how concepts were broken down into manageable bits. I am also excited about completing the rest of the certification program after seeing how seamless this course was. I would highly recommend this.

By Gifty O

Jul 4, 2022

I had a great learning experience, this course has exposed me to concepts and areas of project mangement i never heard of though i read project management as a course in the university.

The course in is engaging and the instrustor was great.

By Zander L L

Mar 30, 2022

Wonderful experience! Connecting the course with the common day-to-day life is the best analogy this course has given to me. I just wanted to enroll here at first because I'm curious, never thought this will be the career path I wanted now!

By Hakeem A

Aug 14, 2021

It is an amazing course and thank god i took it. I have really earned a lot i thought i did but actually didn't know. The pace for classes was flexible for me and i encourage anyone interested in Project Management to apply for this course.

By Narjis H

Aug 7, 2021

The course was very wonderful, and I really benefited from it a lot. The lecturer was masterful in his explanation and delivery the information Smoothly, I was enthusiastic to continue studying while I was busy, thank you with appreciation.

By Thao P

Jun 23, 2021

Such a journey filled with enlightenment, eye-opening and broad understanding of how the job of project management would look like in reality, accompany along with down-to-earth stories and work experiences of real people in this landscape.

By Wisnu A

Jun 6, 2021

I wish I knew this kind of content exist years before. It really helps not just for those who wish to find a job in Project Management but even for those are practicioner, you could really refresh your knowledge by enrolling to this course.

By Swaroop S

Jun 3, 2021

The course was a great starting point to learn the roots of Project management. One particular aspect of this course that I enjoyed was the curriculum on Teams organization and structure as they can differ from organization to organization.

By Regina E B

Mar 21, 2023

Easy to follow and I liked that we have a tutor who takes us through the entire course .I would 100% recommend this course for anyone who wants to refresh their project management topics and also who want to learn about project management.

By Rohini K

Dec 30, 2022

The materials given and the videos explain the purpose of the course and have valuable suggestions ad inputs from senior project managers. Totally worth the time and money. Extremely useful to know and start a career in project management.

By VISHNU K

Dec 21, 2022

The content is short, precise and up to the point without fillers or BS.

Thank you google for providing such quality content for free,

Wish to see more such courses on more such amazing topics something like psychology or stress management.

By Jaime R R G

Sep 16, 2022

Un excelente curso para aprender qué es lo que realmente hacen los gerentes de proyectos, entender conceptos vistos en la rama y entender cómo se pueden obtener el conocimiento y las habilidades para convertirse en uno. Muy recomendable.

By Olena T

Aug 12, 2022

Finally I am going deep into this field of endless opportunities. Finally I am developing myself in something I have been always doing subconsciously when managing projects before. Love it! Thank you, Google! The course is just incredible!

By Chioma A

Jun 29, 2022

This was a great course. I loved the method of teaching and I was particularly impressed with the breakdown of the Agile method of project management. I will recommend this course to anyone with a passion for organizing, and co-ordination.

By Narender K C

Jun 8, 2022

really helpful if you are looking to make a career in Project Management or undersatnding fundamentals concepts of Project Management, you will be able to link relate your recent Projects and day to day tasks in your personal life as well.

By Jhazmin R

Jun 7, 2022

Great course for understanding the role of a PM, if someone wants to explore more about this role and how to navigate it then it is a perfect fit. Very entertaining and dynamic! Great choice of a course on project management in a new view.

By Grant D

Feb 3, 2022

Being involved with project managers and project management quite extensively during my career in Storage, this Foundations course has shed some more light on some grey areas I had regarding project management. Brilliant course, loved it!

By Satchin S

May 8, 2021

Highly recommend this to anyone who is new, but interested in project management. even if you are not a project manager by profession, this will help you understand a lot when it comes to dealing with others in a team to deliver a project.

By William S G

Feb 17, 2023

Excellent course to understanding project management role, until I take this course I didn't know project management role is involved in many aspects of our lives and can be applied to another level when you learn more tools and resources

By Somtochukwu A G

Feb 13, 2023

As a foundation course. I believe justice was made to it. I understand what Project management is all about and what is expected of a project manager. I hope to learn more on the methodologies and softwares. A great start for me, I guess.

By Zia u

Feb 5, 2023

amazing learning journey was made by google. it is not only present the basic knowledge needed but also the experience and wisdom from internal google workers. it is really worth for us to understand the foundation of project management.