Chevron Left
Back to Project Planning: Putting It All Together

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Project Planning: Putting It All Together by Google

4.8
stars
8,315 ratings

About the Course

This is the third course in the Google Project Management Certificate program. This course will explore how to map out a project in the second phase of the project life cycle: the project planning phase. You will examine the key components of a project plan, how to make accurate time estimates, and how to set milestones. Next, you will learn how to build and manage a budget and how the procurement processes work. Then, you will discover tools that can help you identify and manage different types of risk and how to use a risk management plan to communicate and resolve risks. Finally, you will explore how to draft and manage a communication plan and how to organize project documentation. Current Google project managers will continue to instruct and provide you with hands-on approaches for accomplishing these tasks while showing you the best project management tools and resources for the job at hand. Learners who complete this program should be equipped to apply for introductory-level jobs as project managers. No previous experience is necessary. By the end of this course, you will be able to: - Describe the components of the project planning phase and their significance. - Explain why milestones are important and how to set them. - Make accurate time estimates and describe techniques for acquiring them from team members. - Identify tools and best practices to build a project plan and risk management plan. - Describe how to estimate, track, and maintain a budget. - Explain the procurement process and identify key procurement documentation. - Draft a communication plan and explain how to manage it. - Explain why milestones are important and how to set them. - Explain why a project plan is necessary and what components it contains. - Make accurate time estimates and describe techniques for acquiring them from team members....

Top reviews

AO

Jan 18, 2022

This is a perfectly prepared course. the videos and activities were simply perfect. I learnt a great deal from this.

i would recommend it to anyone wanting in-depth knowledge of Project management.

GD

Oct 30, 2022

I am greatful for this Course in particular. Very well structured and easy to understang . Special Thanks to the Instructor, Rowena and those who shared their experiences during this course. Thank You

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 1,695 Reviews for Project Planning: Putting It All Together

By Sierra M

Jul 29, 2021

This course is great however having assignment that need to be graded by random people is the worst. I wish that part was taken out completely. It really ruining the experience when you have the wait for someone to grade you and you made sure you did everything correct just to find out someone doesn't want to take the time to look at your work and grade it honestly and gives all zeros. Meaning I have to go back, look at why I got a bad grade, "fix it" and hope it's graded by someone who will actually view it and give it an honest grade.

By Renae M

Aug 2, 2021

Good material, but i can not get my peer graded assignments graded for the life of me. I am done with two courses and will have to pay triple the amount because no one will grade my work. its difficult to sign up for financial aid. I still cant figure it out. There has to be a better way to do peer graded assignments. I wouldn't even need to sign up for financial aid if my courses were completed when i completed them! It's very frustrating.

By Mary K

Apr 20, 2021

I learned so much and things I heard about in my BC role is starting to make sense and come together!. This will help me in BC role and definitely in PM role.

By Jesus R

Jul 3, 2021

Google vision of the Project Management career is something that I enjoy learning. They are fresh, actual and inclusive, maintaining the discipline and organization required for Project Managers

By Joseph G

Jul 3, 2021

The main goal of this course seems to be introducing all of the documents that comprise a standard project plan. It would have been more helpful if the course began with introducing the main goal, an overview of all the documents, and then the nuts-and-bolts lectures, readings and assignments that break down the creating of the documents and final plan.

The multiple-choice test at the end of the course is perplexing and confusing because of the vague language used in the questions/scenarios as well as the "choose all that apply" answers. It's disappointing to see that I often sore 100% during the quizzes within the course, and can only score an 80 or 81% in the final no matter how hard I study and review. Clear questions with one concise answer would be more beneficial.

I completed the course, and never received my completion certificate because one of my assignments remained ungraded for several days, from June 24 to July 1. Since I never received a peer grade, I had to contact Coursera support twice before the issue could be resolved. This unnecessary completion/certification delay was discouraging. Coursera and Google's lack of followup regarding this issue doesn't make me confident to move forward to the next course, and has had an overall negative impact on my natural enthusiasm for completing and obtaining a Project Management certification. In all of the past three courses, the peer-review grades have not been effective or useful.

Finally, the resume/professional developments lectures and readings at the end of the course are an odd departure from the main course, as this doesn't seem to be the point in the certification process where this information would be logically introduced.

I am extremely interested in becoming a project manager, and I was originally very enthusiastic about working toward a Google certification, so I am hoping I will be able to complete Courses 4, 5, and 6.

By Erin R

Apr 20, 2021

Very very frustrated by the peer review assignments. 1) The page is hard to navigate 2) I frequently provide both links and pdf's and still receive feedback that my assignment can't be reviewed - so clearly I am dealing with user error but i have now spent hours trying to resubmit an assignment so I can have it reviewed and move on. 3) The reviewer gave me a lower than deserved grad for my assignment, I think they are confused buy I cant talk with them to get clarification.

By Nadia T

Jul 4, 2021

The steps are clearly laid out and there are templates provided. I also like how they added talks from Google program managers to describe how they put the same topics discussed into practice.

By katie f

Mar 24, 2021

Content is presented in an easy, digestible format and allows the user to take the course at their own pace. I liked that I could revisit sections of the videos utilizing the highlighter and notebook tool. I learn by re-reading and writing, so having the ability to easily identify important speaking points made the content digestible. I also like the overall organization of the course. Very linear and comprehensive, ensuring you understand the "why" behind the steps included.

By Sarah G

May 29, 2022

The information is great, the platform is terrible. I loved learning from Google PM's, I love the practice activities, and the scinarios the teachers used, but I hated the peer reviewd documents. I have ben an educator for 12 years prior to my career move and everything I know to be true about assessment was ignored in this entire 6 course program.

Peer reviews are incredably frustrating. One peer accesses your work and give you great marks with awesome feedback. The next person has trouble opening your document so they give you all 0's and you have to start again. This occured for most of my work in this program. I spent the last week of my "learning" begging my peers to review my work in the discussion boards. On average, I would say that I had to resubmit each one of my peer reviewd assignments 3 times. Then there was the posting in the discussion board and "returning the favor" by grading even more of my peer's work. This is not a system that works. With the course fee being what it is, I'd prefer to have my work graded by instructors.

Lastly, when I did finish a course I was prompted by Coursera to "verify my ID." I've been verifying my ID for completed coursrses for weeks now, every time I log in, and the promt never goes away. So I figured when I did complete the course, it would be a surprise what name appeared on my certificate. I've completed and I'm being prompted now to "purchase certificate." Clicking on that button, again, does nothing. I've been doing this for 3 days. I don't know how much the purchase is, who's name (if any) will be on it, or how long it will take to get it.

I begin a new career in July and I thought starting this course in late April would be enough time to complete it and provide my new employer with certification. I worked really hard to get the classwork done quickly, little did I know that the hardest and most time consuming part of the process was just getting Coursera to work. Also, don't count on the moble app to be any help. As long as you have the work posted, it shows you have completed 100%. This is great until you log into the website and it says 97% and tells you that you failed 3 more of your peer reviewed assignments (with feedback saying "I can't access your PDF or Google Doc." Then the cycle continues: re-posting, begging for help in the discussion board, returning the favor of grading MORE of your peers work, praying people who can't access your work don't fail you (and just skip past yours). It is infuriating!

I am a Google Certified Educator and I loved that program. I learned so much! I was really hopeful that this learning would be of the same quality. Sadly, it was not.

By LADICT - I S f C

Mar 28, 2021

Useful course about Project Planning with a lot of insights and techniques. Advanced project planning, budgeting, communication plan, risk plan, risk mitigation and risk management. Learning deeply about Gantt Charts and project visualization...

Trying to leverage this period locked at home in the best way. A lot to prepare and study but fully worth of it... Bravo Google!

By Murthoti

Aug 20, 2022

I was able to lear quite a lot about Project Planning. The activities help get a hands on experience. Satisfied with my investment of time and effort. A Big Thumps up from me to the Google Team.

By Hussain A

Mar 13, 2021

I love it, every thing is professional.

By Mahmed O

Jul 10, 2021

Dear Googlers

My Name Is Mohamed Osman From Somalia, I Have been studying Google Project Management Professional Certificate in recent months, a six course series, and I have completed the first three courses.

This course is one of them "Project Planning: Putting It All Together" is exactly as the name says.

The course make my intention clear and clarifies when and how to use Project Documents.

Since, I am also PMP certified, I think this course offered by Google.com is industry applicable Certificate for project management enthusiasts.

By Thao P

Jul 28, 2021

This course contains lessons that require a lots of your detailed attention and dedicated time to thoroughly capture various important knowledge, tools and techniques for the most instrumental key phrase of setting the project for smooth operations later on. For me, it took nearly 100 hours of viewing videos, reading all the provided articles and taking notes. However, the study experience is incredibly enjoyable since I'm 100% sure that Google is teaching down-to-earth practices, not that academic and easy-to-forget ones.

By TREVOR P P

Jun 13, 2021

Awesome learning experience, cant wait to use it in the real world. the courses was categorized and thoroughly explained making it easy learning for a novice like me.

By Matthew C

Mar 16, 2021

Pretty good. Only issue are the requirements on rating peers' assignments. You have to rate two, but right now there are none available to rate - so I can't move on.

By Alina C

Jul 7, 2021

This one was a little tedious but relayed useful and important information.

By Ihsan H

Sep 2, 2021

This course is amazing, great presenter and the way it delivered its really understandable. To be honest, I am really really afraid when I enroll this course because my English is not really good enough. I am really really scared that I will not finish the course on time and just waste my money. But after follow the course , i do falling in love with this course. I even learn some new vocabularies during the course.

So many things i have learned from this course from the day 1 I join the Foundations of Project Management until the last course Capstone : Applying Project Management in The Real World. Thank you very much for Google and Coursera Teams for bring this course. Hope to see you in the next course. Keep up the good work!!!

By Tan S Y D I

Apr 30, 2021

Enormous value delivered in this course plus the help in designing a PM resume! All the momentum you have built up from Course 1 will kick into full gear for this one. For someone starting out in Project Management, you will be taught useful tools, expect to put in a fair amount of hands-on effort. You may need some time to digest and review some lessons but it will be immensely rewarding at the end of it. Peer assessments are still not ideal but there is still value in learning from what others have submitted. Hang in there at least 100PDUs for us at the end of the tunnel!

By LaCresha H

Mar 26, 2021

I am in the process of completing the Google Project Management Professional Certificate and have to say that so far this course has been the most challenging so far but provided so much! I am excited to walk away with some great templates that I can use right away in my current role. Loving this content so far!

By K S T

Jun 24, 2021

This course was incredibly helpful. I learned a lot. I liked that it provided hands-on assignments as well as video lessons and reading. It's the third course I've completed out of the certification series, and I'm looking forward to moving on to the next one.

By Matt W

Jun 20, 2021

The Grow with Google Project Management course is amazing. The skills I've gained in that class feel more like a superpower. Project Management should be essential training for anyone in a management role, or who has any entreprenurial ambitions.

By Poonam V

Jul 27, 2022

It provides a good hands on experience in Project Planning using Spreadsheets developing Communication plan, Buget Plan, Project Schedule plans creating hyperlinks urls for easy access and much more!

By Ayomide O

Jan 19, 2022

This is a perfectly prepared course. the videos and activities were simply perfect. I learnt a great deal from this.

i would recommend it to anyone wanting in-depth knowledge of Project management.

By James M

Mar 26, 2021

A really good aspect of the whole course. A lot to take in but it's really well broken down and very clear and easy to follow