Chevron Left
Back to Initiating and Planning Projects

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Initiating and Planning Projects by University of California, Irvine

4.7
stars
13,432 ratings
2,583 reviews

About the Course

The courses in the Introduction to Project Management Principles and Practices Specialization are a recommended precursor to UCI's Applied Project Management Certificate. Successful projects require careful upfront planning. In this course, you’ll learn the key roles and responsibilities of the project manager and project team. You’ll also learn to answer some key questions upfront to help you meet project objectives: What will this project accomplish? Why is this project important? Who benefits from this project? How will we plan for successful outcomes? Upon completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Identify the key characteristics of a project 2. Identify primary project constraints 3. Define the role and responsibilities of the project manager 4. Identify Project Organizational Structures 5. Understand the definition of a Project Stakeholder 6. Identify project stakeholders 7. Identify information needs of the project stakeholders 8. Define responsibility for managing stakeholder and controlling stakeholder engagement 9. Define the purpose of using a project charter 10. Summarize the key elements of a project plan 11. Identify common sources of conflict within a project environment 12. Describe the difference between authority and influence...
Highlights
foundational knowledge
(842 Reviews)
introductory course
(675 Reviews)

Top reviews

OU

Mar 27, 2018

This is absolutely worth everything that I invested into this course. And I do not mind studying it all over again! I recommend it for anyone who wants to learn project management. Thank you Margaret.

DS

Nov 20, 2017

It was very helpful for me to understand what the project management is. I am just thinking about starting this new career path and i was feeling comfortable in this field during the learning process.

Filter by:

201 - 225 of 2,560 Reviews for Initiating and Planning Projects

By Gordon Q M

Aug 02, 2018

This course can be applied to your personal life and you will immediately see improvements in your planning and logic when you take the time to use those tools learned from this course.

By Deepali K

Feb 25, 2018

Great content, specially the inclusion of chapter/lesson excerpts from PMBOK guide. The flash lesson modules also make it easy to grasp the content. Overall a great learning experience.

By Chiemeka A

Jul 25, 2020

Great content and presentation skills from Margaret. Each topic is succinctly presented without losing details, yet stimulating the learners interest. Your teaching skills are evident!

By Terence T

May 18, 2020

The programme was very structured and was easy to understand and capture all the main point of managing projects. Glad that i took up this course and now i have a better understanding.

By Dr.P.Shankar B

Apr 28, 2020

I am very happy to learn initiating and Planing projects this help for me to learn define the role n responsibillities of the project manager, Project planning and exhibit the plan.

By Abdallah S A

Mar 28, 2020

I'd like First to Thank your respected Team that allow For World Those Useful Materials ,it Was an Believable experience and self investment >>wish to be PMP Certified by ur efforts ..

By Ilgar G

Jun 19, 2020

This is a very beneficial course with its prolific videos, reading materials and highly-prepared quizzes. I totally recommend those who are working with or want to engage in projects.

By Carl G

Aug 03, 2020

Having worked in a project environment, this course helped add to my working knowledge by discussing methods and concepts that are helpful to anyone working in a project environment.

By Deleted A

Apr 10, 2020

An excellent course for wanna be project managers and existing managers to know deep insights about what factors to consider while initiating and planning projects across all fields.

By Carlos C P

Jul 25, 2017

This course gave me an overall image of the realm of project management. The lessons were very clear and they provided very good examples which helped me understand all the concepts.

By RASHMI J V

May 31, 2020

THIS SPECIALIZATION AND THE COURSES OFFERED HERE FROM UCI, From University of California, Irvine division of Continuing Education ARE BEST AND WILL ADD CREDITS TO CAREER DEVELOPMENT

By Zahid H J

Feb 03, 2017

I have thoroughly enjoyed the learning from this course. Although I have been engaged in the Project Management profession since last 10 years even then have learnt many new things.

By F B

May 10, 2020

Very informative Introduction to Project Management course. Love the various ways the information is presented and the flexibility the course allows you to learn at your own pace.

By Sylvia H

Feb 26, 2018

I liked the course. It is a beginner course therefore for me it was a bit of a review or more formalizing of knowledge I had. But good for beginners to get into project management.

By Sarah T

Jul 30, 2019

Awesome course! Perfect for those who are just beginning to dip their feet into Project Management. Very clear, plenty of resources for one to understand the lectures and content.

By Lavanya T S

Jun 02, 2020

I loved the way the learning is organized. Video - Study material - Real time case examples. I think that reinforced the learning well. Looking forward to doing all the courses.

By Aman S

May 16, 2020

If anyone out here wants to lead a project or aspire to become a project manager, this course will help you to get there. Excellent teaching, good case studies and fine material.

By Jazdil P F

Apr 14, 2020

I have been working as PM for 2 years and this course helped me learn new and concrete ways to develop my skills within the field. Very complete information and useful exercises.

By ADEEL A

Jan 11, 2019

This is best course for those candidate who interested in PMP. This is basic course for planning every project. Also very helpful for managers, engineers, project managers etc.

By Abdelatif A

Apr 16, 2017

This course armed the amateur manager I was, with the solid foundation that the professional project manager I am becoming really needed in order to start thriving in his career.

By Kirin K

May 10, 2016

This is a great class for any manager or team leader, whether or not you officially want to get your PMP certification. You will learn a lot, and it's a very manageable workload!

By OFENTSE T

Jul 09, 2020

This course is really precise and on point using real projects for examples and interviewing panelists really makes it easy and inspiring for one to finish and enjoy the course.

By Jean F

May 01, 2018

Well-organized and presented course material. I started a similar course at a competing MOOC and quickly became frustrated. This program, though, was definitely worth my time.

By Nadiya D

Nov 05, 2016

Great course! Very easy to follow. It covers more then initiating and planning. You will learn about stakeholders, artifacts and touch upon all the areas in project management.

By Gleison V D

Oct 19, 2015

Great course, great methodology and great teacher, it's all I have to say. It's easy for you to learn and to visualize where to apply in real life the knowledges acquired here.