Chevron Left
Back to Initiating and Planning Projects

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Initiating and Planning Projects by University of California, Irvine

4.7
7,526 ratings
1,441 reviews

About the Course

The courses in the Introduction to Project Management Principles and Practices Specialization are a recommended precursor to UCI's Applied Project Management Certificate. Successful projects require careful upfront planning. In this course, you’ll learn the key roles and responsibilities of the project manager and project team. You’ll also learn to answer some key questions upfront to help you meet project objectives: What will this project accomplish? Why is this project important? Who benefits from this project? How will we plan for successful outcomes? Upon completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Identify the key characteristics of a project 2. Identify primary project constraints 3. Define the role and responsibilities of the project manager 4. Identify Project Organizational Structures 5. Understand the definition of a Project Stakeholder 6. Identify project stakeholders 7. Identify information needs of the project stakeholders 8. Define responsibility for managing stakeholder and controlling stakeholder engagement 9. Define the purpose of using a project charter 10. Summarize the key elements of a project plan 11. Identify common sources of conflict within a project environment 12. Describe the difference between authority and influence...
Highlights
foundational knowledge
(842 Reviews)
introductory course
(675 Reviews)

Top reviews

DS

Nov 20, 2017

It was very helpful for me to understand what the project management is. I am just thinking about starting this new career path and i was feeling comfortable in this field during the learning process.

OU

Mar 27, 2018

This is absolutely worth everything that I invested into this course. And I do not mind studying it all over again! I recommend it for anyone who wants to learn project management. Thank you Margaret.

Filter by:

226 - 250 of 1,411 Reviews for Initiating and Planning Projects

By Aman G

Jan 18, 2018

Excellent course for beginners! Gives a concise understanding and direction to pursue further learning

By Sophia V

May 07, 2016

Very nicely organized. Thanks!

By Aleksander B

Jul 27, 2016

This course have everything that basic course about project management should have, with strong basics of first steps - Initialing and Planning Projects.

By Manuel G

Oct 03, 2016

great course and really helpfull

By Dr. M S K

Jun 29, 2017

Neatly arranged lectures, points clarification is given step by step, very much thankful for the tutors for knowledge enhancing lessons and lectures.

By Gyanendra K

Mar 17, 2018

Excellent course

By Alireza A

Jan 31, 2016

very very useful training ,Specially thanks for university of California and of course Margaret Meloni.

By Anastasia

Oct 18, 2016

Even though I have the basic knowledge about Project Management, this course helped me to learn it in more details. I got to know all the needed steps of project preparation, which is very important for me.

By Kevin N N J

Aug 21, 2017

Liked the lectures and the panel interviews. The PMBOK reading I feel is a must.

By JORGE A M C

Oct 28, 2015

Excelente (y)

By Jean V B

Oct 11, 2017

I have learned a lot in this course and I am very anxious to do the next.

By Sreedhara G N

Sep 18, 2017

This is the Wonderful course for the Begining of Project Management Professional Course. The Presentation and Objectives are clearly explained

By Marlene B

Jan 30, 2017

Well-structured and highly interesting introduction to Project Management!

By Amrit B

Jan 17, 2018

Great place to learn the application of the theoretical concepts that are given in PMBOK. The bonus lecture were great and the expert interviews also gave an insight into the project management practices followed by top level executives.

By Francisco

Oct 09, 2016

Extremely satisfied with the course. Great material, everything can be applied almost right away to a real life project. Definitely recommended.

By Gulden U

Mar 12, 2016

Many thanks for this course. I would love it.

Materials of the course are were very exactly formulated and understandable.

Margaret Meloni made this course as colorful with her melody voice and good explanations.

I think i will use knowledge which i got from the course in my future works.

By Ellyne P

Nov 15, 2015

A really good introduction to project management!

By alexandre C

Jun 22, 2016

Thanks to this cours, you will act more confidently in your business, you will use professionnal tools and knowledge. So you will bring security. This tool will change your life because you will do it your way but in a manner understood and shared.

By Nathan M

Mar 07, 2016

A fantastic introduction course. It left me craving more, which I think might be the most important quality in an intro-level course.

By Bill

May 05, 2017

This was an exceptional overview of project management, with a lot of information that was very well presented. I look forward towards finishing this specialization. I took a year long project management program with Boston University and this specialization from UC Irvine is a excellent review of that material. I highly recommend this course.

By Zohreh H

Jun 30, 2017

Super!

By ahmed m

Feb 06, 2016

excellent

By Ibrahim L H

Jan 10, 2017

Great beginner's course that fills you in on all the essentials of initiating and planning projects. Once you have passed it, you are more than able to initiate and plan a wide range of small projects and get hands-on experience in project management.

By Pesala K

Sep 26, 2016

Well organised course structure with a good balance of theory and practical illustrations.

By Peter P

Aug 26, 2015

Good course for foundation in new projects.