Chevron Left
Back to Initiating and Planning Projects

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Initiating and Planning Projects by University of California, Irvine

4.7
stars
10,591 ratings
2,053 reviews

About the Course

The courses in the Introduction to Project Management Principles and Practices Specialization are a recommended precursor to UCI's Applied Project Management Certificate. Successful projects require careful upfront planning. In this course, you’ll learn the key roles and responsibilities of the project manager and project team. You’ll also learn to answer some key questions upfront to help you meet project objectives: What will this project accomplish? Why is this project important? Who benefits from this project? How will we plan for successful outcomes? Upon completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Identify the key characteristics of a project 2. Identify primary project constraints 3. Define the role and responsibilities of the project manager 4. Identify Project Organizational Structures 5. Understand the definition of a Project Stakeholder 6. Identify project stakeholders 7. Identify information needs of the project stakeholders 8. Define responsibility for managing stakeholder and controlling stakeholder engagement 9. Define the purpose of using a project charter 10. Summarize the key elements of a project plan 11. Identify common sources of conflict within a project environment 12. Describe the difference between authority and influence...
Highlights
foundational knowledge
(842 Reviews)
introductory course
(675 Reviews)

Top reviews

DS

Nov 20, 2017

It was very helpful for me to understand what the project management is. I am just thinking about starting this new career path and i was feeling comfortable in this field during the learning process.

OU

Mar 27, 2018

This is absolutely worth everything that I invested into this course. And I do not mind studying it all over again! I recommend it for anyone who wants to learn project management. Thank you Margaret.

Filter by:

1601 - 1625 of 2,032 Reviews for Initiating and Planning Projects

By Graeme R

Jul 14, 2017

Great initiation into what is a project and getting started with your project. Great learning environment and presentation providing a good quantity of information without overloading the learner.

By Jean-Baptiste M

Jun 23, 2018

Interesting overview of the start of a project. Shorter thanks i expected. All the material can be covered in a week.Video content is good and clear. Written content could be more user friendly.

By Sakif A

Apr 26, 2020

The course content gave me a good idea on project management. I think it would have been great if the reading materials were not so much definition based and had more example and visual content

By Chinmay R

Apr 18, 2020

Course was very informative and case study section was helpful. But I would like to see more of questions in case study section because it actually test your knowledge with real time situations

By Margo P

Jan 21, 2019

Very informative. The professor is knowledgeable and relatable, and easy to listen to. The structure of the course supports all learning modalities and is effective if you put in the effort.

By Divyanshu G

May 14, 2020

The course is good for a start in the Project Management field. It has covered various terms and techniques required by a Project Manager to Plan, Execute and Close the project efficiently.

By David L

Aug 01, 2018

Great course! It would be even better if lecture and study could be blended a bit more (occasionally felt like the material was just covered twice), but overall good content delivered well.

By Giovanni Z

Aug 28, 2016

Very interesting and well organized. Sometime it's pretendet to have the pmbok that should not be essential for the book. In geleral there is a week connection between lectures and classes.

By Vanessa A

Apr 27, 2020

Good planning and execution of this course...a little dry, and too much repetition for me, but I can see where that helps to reinforce learning for various learners and their styles.

By Mohamed A

Nov 02, 2016

its have a lot of very useful information including the bonus videos, but the way we are examined could be more challenging and the discussion forum would have been very interesting

By Polina D

Apr 17, 2020

I liked the course - it's detailed, short and provide a lot of information.

The only thing I did not like is the final exam that include all the same questions as from other quizes.

By Luis P

Jul 05, 2017

pretty good, maybe it would be better if the supplemental materials were provided, or instead they added more richness to the course material rather than leaving optional readings.

By Amanda Z

May 22, 2020

While the nature of the work is not new it gave me the language to articulate what I have already being doing throughout my career. The videos and concepts were well presented.

By Alexey A

Jan 23, 2019

The course is a good introduction to the topic.

One improvement I'd like to suggest is to avoid using the questions from the intermediate quiz'es in the final test, if possible.

By Tongxun G

Apr 29, 2016

A lot of information, the explanation is clear and intriguing, wish the course could provide more detailed cases and examples so beginners would find them easier to visualise.

By Nishant J

Jan 17, 2020

Inclusion of a little bit more of some interactive content and videos will be greatly appreciated. Overall a really good course. Please rely less on PMBOK Guide. Thank you.

By Omar A

Sep 09, 2016

I thought this course was excellently administered and was much better than than many of the online courses I took as an undergrad. I'm excited to start on the next course.

By Rory C

Jan 07, 2018

Great course, a good overview of project initiation from an American PMI perspective. Video's are clear and correlate with the lessons and exams. No ambiguity, enjoyed!

By Armand G V

Apr 24, 2017

It is a great course, they should just expand more and do more questions, the TMBOK guide goes why deeper, they should also but nether the less it is a great course

By Sabiha A

Apr 17, 2020

It was a nice journey with this course. It will be helpful for the project starters. They will overcome their fear & will be confident after completing this course.

By Ben W

May 16, 2018

Good information, quizzes and exams reasonable in competency relevance.

"Flash Lessons" are quite wordy, difficult to process information portrayed in these slides.

By Lu M

Apr 10, 2020

A good and comprehensive introductory course with valuable pm tools. However, the tests and the final exam were almost too easy. Could be created more challenging.

By Jay P

Jun 19, 2019

Great pace and content of instructor. Helped put a actual perspective rather than what can become a dry and very process intensive effort to learn this material.

By Joshua M P

Apr 06, 2018

Buen curso solo que faltaron algunos subtitulos en español de algunos vídeos y seria bueno que metieran mas ejercicios prácticos para reforzar los conocimientos

By Francisco P B

Oct 09, 2016

No me gusta que el curso dependa de tencología flash, por que hace que la integración con sea mala y necesites estar cambiando entre plataformas constantemente.