Chevron Left
Back to Initiating and Planning Projects

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Initiating and Planning Projects by University of California, Irvine

4.7
7,545 ratings
1,448 reviews

About the Course

The courses in the Introduction to Project Management Principles and Practices Specialization are a recommended precursor to UCI's Applied Project Management Certificate. Successful projects require careful upfront planning. In this course, you’ll learn the key roles and responsibilities of the project manager and project team. You’ll also learn to answer some key questions upfront to help you meet project objectives: What will this project accomplish? Why is this project important? Who benefits from this project? How will we plan for successful outcomes? Upon completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Identify the key characteristics of a project 2. Identify primary project constraints 3. Define the role and responsibilities of the project manager 4. Identify Project Organizational Structures 5. Understand the definition of a Project Stakeholder 6. Identify project stakeholders 7. Identify information needs of the project stakeholders 8. Define responsibility for managing stakeholder and controlling stakeholder engagement 9. Define the purpose of using a project charter 10. Summarize the key elements of a project plan 11. Identify common sources of conflict within a project environment 12. Describe the difference between authority and influence...
Highlights
introductory course
(675 Reviews)
foundational knowledge
(842 Reviews)

Top reviews

OU

Mar 27, 2018

This is absolutely worth everything that I invested into this course. And I do not mind studying it all over again! I recommend it for anyone who wants to learn project management. Thank you Margaret.

DS

Nov 20, 2017

It was very helpful for me to understand what the project management is. I am just thinking about starting this new career path and i was feeling comfortable in this field during the learning process.

Filter by:

151 - 175 of 1,414 Reviews for Initiating and Planning Projects

By wangyuyan

Dec 13, 2016

I had finished the PMBOK 5th in the 2013,but I didn't know how to use the knowledge. This course helped me to understand the konwledge more clearly and told me many bonus Methods to use in the work.

By Kirin K

May 10, 2016

This is a great class for any manager or team leader, whether or not you officially want to get your PMP certification. You will learn a lot, and it's a very manageable workload!

By Carlos M C

May 11, 2016

Amazing! Very good examples and concise information.

By Chen Y

Nov 20, 2016

Good course

By Mohamed N H

Feb 08, 2016

It was a great experience i really learn a lot of this course topics

By Gustavo P R

Jan 21, 2017

Una forma de incursionar en la administración y gestión de proyectos

By Natalia M

Feb 24, 2016

Really good course. I love the way it's done and really appreciate case studies.

By Saman G G

Apr 09, 2017

Loved it...one of the best project management courses ever. It so easy of follow this course and understand the structure of the PMBOK. Thank you.

By Sateesh K R

Jun 17, 2016

Excellent Course

By Ori S

Dec 05, 2017

Great overview on project management

By Juan J C C

Dec 10, 2015

EXCELLENT TEACHER!

By Amlan G

Nov 12, 2016

Thank you Its a great Course. I would love to stay connected with you in linkedin

By Lorena P

Jan 31, 2018

Excellent Course!!

By Anil K K

Sep 19, 2015

great tutorial

By Raymond S

Sep 06, 2017

I wholeheartedly recommend these courses to anyone who wants to be effective in project delivery.

By Franchesca B R V

Feb 22, 2016

completo, activo muy interesante lo recomi

By Zhanna K

Apr 01, 2017

Well structured e course.

By Swastik S

Jun 17, 2017

Thank You

By Patricia W

Aug 08, 2016

A lot of information in this course but a good structure to get the information into "makes sense now" after weekly review.

By kepha e

Feb 08, 2016

very informative.

By Gao

Jun 18, 2017

The only thing I don't like is that I have to purchase the course to submit the quiz.

By Philip P

Jul 17, 2016

Great course! Thank you

By Andrey S

Oct 26, 2015

great!

By bruce

Feb 11, 2018

An excellent introductory course! Easy to follow content yet very informative. The trick is to understand how the PMBOK is laid out.

By Christopher C

Dec 18, 2017

easy to understand and the instructor is really understandable