Chevron Left
Back to Initiating and Planning Projects

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Initiating and Planning Projects by University of California, Irvine

4.7
stars
15,011 ratings
2,897 reviews

About the Course

The courses in the Introduction to Project Management Principles and Practices Specialization are a recommended precursor to UCI's Applied Project Management Certificate. Successful projects require careful upfront planning. In this course, you’ll learn the key roles and responsibilities of the project manager and project team. You’ll also learn to answer some key questions upfront to help you meet project objectives: What will this project accomplish? Why is this project important? Who benefits from this project? How will we plan for successful outcomes? Upon completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Identify the key characteristics of a project 2. Identify primary project constraints 3. Define the role and responsibilities of the project manager 4. Identify Project Organizational Structures 5. Understand the definition of a Project Stakeholder 6. Identify project stakeholders 7. Identify information needs of the project stakeholders 8. Define responsibility for managing stakeholder and controlling stakeholder engagement 9. Define the purpose of using a project charter 10. Summarize the key elements of a project plan 11. Identify common sources of conflict within a project environment 12. Describe the difference between authority and influence...
Highlights
foundational knowledge
(842 Reviews)
introductory course
(675 Reviews)

Top reviews

SY

Aug 31, 2020

The course is a very great asset to any aspiring project manager. You get to understand the fundamentals and essentials in any given project and the means to ameliorate conflicts amongst stakeholders.

P

Jan 29, 2020

Thank you to Coursera for such a great platform to improve our skills and literacy.The learning environment offered here is completely a learn at your own pace environment,making it flexible to learn.

Filter by:

2376 - 2400 of 2,874 Reviews for Initiating and Planning Projects

By Jorge O

Nov 11, 2015

It's a very interesting course in order to get a overview about all processes involved in project management and how important they are.

By Francisco E F J

Apr 27, 2020

It is a good beginner course. However, I wish they had more and better exercises and quizzes to test our understanding of key concepts.

By Scott P

May 30, 2019

The course was great and informing. I would like to see when you answer something wrong on a quiz/final that it show you the correct an

By GIORGASHVILI,Paata

Feb 05, 2019

The course was quite interesting with some practical cases. Could be much productive if become more comprehensive. Thank you very much.

By Alhassan H

Oct 07, 2016

Great Course...Advise it for new people in project management world. Exercises could be better (putting scenarios or simulators...etc)

By Meenakshi B

Oct 16, 2016

I liked how the course focused on key concepts only, and kept out unnecessary information. The quizzes could have been more difficult.

By Sharon S R

Aug 25, 2020

Very informative and fast-paced. Allows review of past lessons. However the final video with the panelists have a poor audio quality.

By Ronke O

Aug 03, 2020

As someone with no prior knowledge in Project Management, I enjoyed this course, and I look forward to the next course in the series.

By Chelsea H W

May 21, 2020

Text heavy, but fairly easy to follow. I enjoyed the course and look forward to continuing the speciality. Thank you for this course.

By Stefan D V

Oct 19, 2017

I'd suggest this course to anyone whom wants to get started with project management. Clear and specific points on the various topics.

By Lee P K

Aug 22, 2020

It is a good introduction for beginners to PMBOK or a refresher for experienced personnel preparing for the PMP certification exams.

By Jonathan J

Aug 22, 2018

Es un excelente curso para entender el rol general de un Project Manager, 100% recomendable para quiénes están iniciando en el área.

By Greg S

May 16, 2017

Great introduction to the basics of project management.

Fast Forward MBA in Project Management text required to get the full benefit.

By Evgeniya d S

Aug 13, 2020

It's a nice and informative course, although grading could be a tab more difficult, especially the final quiz. I am here to learn!

By Ioana N

Dec 02, 2017

Interesting and carefully delivered.

Too theoretic for me, especially as I'm trying to get acquainted to project management field.

By Phillip W

Sep 10, 2017

Decently engaging. In this course I am too obsessed with verbatim type questions as opposed to questions concerning best practice.

By Jeric M

Apr 06, 2020

The course is great especially for starters. Very academic approach though. Some practical examples were given from time to time.

By Anna R

May 07, 2020

It was an interesting and good structured course. It would be just great to update it to the newest edition of PMBOK. Thank you.

By lucie m

Apr 26, 2018

A lot of speech and no real case study, only one example.

Need to have the PMBOK guide otherwise this course is not interesting.

By Jitagna M

Mar 26, 2018

Very crisp course, well explained. Maybe they can include a few activity/ assignments/ peer reviews to strengthen the knowledge.

By Tan H Y

Oct 26, 2017

Easy to understand and can refer back to the notes easily. Would be better if we could download the slides for future reference.

By Mohamed M A M N

Apr 20, 2020

it is a great course that helps you as a beginner to understand the principles of initiating and planning in project management

By Efe A F

Sep 08, 2018

A well detailed and certainly practical approach to learning and understanding the dynamics of project planning and management.

By Wong W Y

Jul 22, 2020

Recommended for beginner to know basic knowledge of project management. The course easy to understand and full of interactive.

By Vlad R P

Aug 09, 2019

Very informative and challenging, however, I was hoping it gives more in depth information. Still great course for the money.