Chevron Left
Back to Pro Tools Basics

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Pro Tools Basics by Berklee College of Music

4.7
stars
526 ratings
190 reviews

About the Course

Producing music is an incredibly creative process, and knowing the tools of the trade is essential in order to transmit the musical ideas in your head into the DAW in a creative and uninhibited way. Whether you have used a computer to create music before, or you have been curious about production for years, this 4-week course will give you an introductory look into the world of Avid Pro Tools and Pro Tools First....

Top reviews

AP
Jul 26, 2020

This is Ashish From Indian(Gujarat).I am new student for this course.I really enjoyed a session. specially Chrissy Tignor maam teaching fantastic.I really enjoyed a lot to her session.\n\nthank you.

M
Jul 9, 2020

Amazing instructor and lot of knowledge to be gained. One of the best course to learn about any DAW. Specially the mixing and mastering course material was helpful to make the track sound amazing.

Filter by:

151 - 175 of 186 Reviews for Pro Tools Basics

By Daniel W

Mar 12, 2018

Nice.

By Rafa R

Nov 22, 2016

súper

By Pavel N

Feb 28, 2016

Best!

By Feng T

Sep 13, 2016

简单易懂

By Noah V

Oct 12, 2020

Fantastic course for a beginner that covers a lot of valuable information. I've been using ProTools for years and although a lot of the information was remedial there were a few tips I learned by completing this course.

The only downside was that the peer reviews are pretty useless and a ton of people just upload dummy files to blow through the course vs doing the work so you're not going to get a lot of useful feedback. Also, taking the course without using ProTools (?) is kind of pointless because a lot of the information is PT centric (obviously). If you don't have/want to learn PT take the Technology of Music Production class as you'll get more out of it.

Some things were a little outdated (VI to audio routing vs using Commit these days) and there were a few things I wouldn't do on a project but for a beginner I understand how for the purposes of this series these things made sense.

By Teresa M

Jul 3, 2021

Course was informative, but I encountered many issues trying to install Pro Tools. The free version was not compatible with Windows 10 Home edition. I kept receiving a 1309 error code because of an old Windows 8 program embedded in the free version. Also, since so many students already have full versions of other DAWs installed on their laptops or desktops, installing another DAW full version of a DAW would require more RAM than what is available on most home desktop computers.

Also, I would have liked to have seen more free printable resources included in the course-EQ charts, explanations of compression, limiters, reverb etc.

By Benjamin H

Dec 3, 2017

This course did a good job of realizing the theoretical concepts introduced in Technology of Music Production, walking through how to do the different things discussed earlier. I found a lot of success taking this and the previous course concurrently, working through the theory in the Tech course and realizing it in Pro Tools Basic.

My biggest critique was with the use of the external system to submit and give feedback on assignments. I found it clunky and much slower than the system native to Coursera and would recommend that instead.

By Jay M

Jul 11, 2017

Good class. In fact, I think this class should have been done before the Technology class as it covered a few things that were included in the Technology class in a much simpler fashion. I don't use ProTools, so I suffered through this class with ProTools First, which created a lot of limitations on what I could do (i.e. no sampler), but I did learn a lot more from this class than I expected that could be applied outside of ProTools.

By Sergei T

Jul 8, 2020

Very interesting and important course.

However, I'd put 4 stars instead of 5 only because some information was not full and there were lots of self-research done to catch up with the course. I think it is good though for students, but it would be better if this would be also guided by the course.

Otherwise, very interesting and informative and I am happy I took this course and I would definitely recommend it to other people to take.

By Nicky P

Oct 3, 2016

Great introduction to Pro Tools even for the seasoned amatuer who's been playing around with DAWs. I now have basic skills with Pro Tools, plus my editing and mixing skills have improved. This course won't make you a pro but it's a great introduction and well worth your time if you're a newbie or have stalled in your amatuer persuits. **thumbs up**

By José A

Mar 22, 2017

Great introduction course. Unfortunately the Protools free version is very weak and limited. After I finished the course there was no motivation to go ahead with so many limitations in the SW. I can't even create more than 3 songs :-( Besides that, the ProTools price is too high to buy it for personal use.

By Bruno A

Jul 15, 2017

I found very limiting when the course proposes for us to have to use synth and samplers.

Some people produces different sound and need to get adopt really quickly to do something reasonable.

I believe that configuration and path could be inserted in a PDF as instruction .

By david b

Jul 15, 2016

Great Course. I wish there was more lessons as to how to record acoustic instruments (guitar, piano,drums). I did not know anything about Pro Tools before course, and now I am able to setup a simple recording session. thanks

By Clare M

Feb 11, 2018

Really good solid points to take away and work on. Definitely worth the time and effort. I now have key things to work on that seems achievable moving forward.

By Eric L

Nov 4, 2019

Excellent! I learned a ton of really useful and important info about using ProTools and DAW’s in general. The live recording demos were great!

By Colleen T

May 22, 2017

Really fun course. Especially nice to take right after the Technology of Music Production, which was very theoretical.

By Sergio G

Oct 9, 2016

Is a great course for musicians, producers and composer. It's a great DAW

By Juan D S

Jun 9, 2016

Some creative stereo FX will be better for the course

By Angelene M S V

Mar 24, 2016

Complicated things made so easy to understand!

By Vasco R M B

Jan 29, 2017

a little too short but good

By Lofi A

Sep 30, 2020

great course

By Marcos A d S J

Apr 11, 2016

Very good!

By Maximiliano A

Feb 29, 2016

Muy bueno.

By Adila T S

Jul 16, 2020

While this course teaches a lot about the basic uses and tweaks of a DAW, the softwares instruments, audio mixing and mastering, for those who don't own the full version of Pro Tools or the other required things like a MIDI Controller/Keyboard, an audio interface or a usb microphone etc things can get challenging. But it isnt impossible to do, there are ways I could work my way around those challenges, but I did purchases a MIDI keyboard to help me work faster. Specially in the last week's peer graded assignment there's one point for using synthesizers which aren't available in Pro Tools First, which I felt was very unjust given that at the start of the course they claim that this course is compatible with Pro Tools First.

By Marcos F

Jun 18, 2019

Se demoró mucho en recibir calificación, al punto que di de baja la suscripción... Alguien encargado del curso debería supervisar que se estén recibiendo las co-evaluaciones y cuando no las hay o se demoran más de 48 horas , calificar, de lo contrario parece que quisieran que pasara esto para recaudar más fondos.