Chevron Left
Back to Major Depression in the Population: A Public Health Approach

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Major Depression in the Population: A Public Health Approach by Johns Hopkins University

4.7
stars
232 ratings
53 reviews

About the Course

Public Mental Health is the application of the principles of medicine and social science to prevent the occurrence of mental and behavioral disorders and to promote mental health of the population. This course illustrates the principles of public health applied to depressive disorder, including principles of epidemiology, transcultural psychiatry, health services research, and prevention. It is predicted that by 2020 depressive disorder will be the most important cause of disease burden in the entire world! Every human being suffers from feeling depressed at some point or other, but only about one fifth of the population will experience an episode of depressive disorder over the course of their lives. This course illuminates the public health approach to disease, and the particular complexities of applying this approach to mental disorders, using depression as the exemplar....

Top reviews

DP

Nov 15, 2019

I very much enjoyed this course. you were able to present the idea of depression as a public health concern very well and I enjoyed the way the public health research methods were approached.

KB

May 30, 2020

This course was both informative and interesting. It was a challenge, which required a lot of thinking and processing. I learned a lot. The essays were challenging also.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 55 Reviews for Major Depression in the Population: A Public Health Approach

By Dr. V G V

Apr 20, 2020

organised and workable course for mental health professionals and junior research fellows

thank you coursera for this

By Meghana

Jul 24, 2018

This course has helped me a lot. I really hope to publish a paper on Maternal mental health someday.

By DR O H Z

Jun 09, 2020

we learned more from our teachers in this course .am too much happy to be with them in this course

By Codie J V

Jan 12, 2020

Excellent Information, even for professionals in the field of Mental Health! Highly Recommended.

By Muhammad A A

May 25, 2020

An important course for those who work in the field of Mental health.

By Carla M

Dec 13, 2018

Great course ! I learned information that i never knew existed.

By Alka P

May 03, 2020

It was a very beneficial course for me, so much to learn!

By Himanshu V

Jun 07, 2020

Thanks for giving this opportunity to learn this course.

By SUSHIL K S V

Jul 16, 2019

Great course for a public health approach to depression!

By Francis F

Apr 13, 2020

Excellent material, well-crafted videos and pedagogy.

By Mohamed-Ali A

Aug 03, 2017

very interesting how they presented the course

By Min-hyung K

Jul 01, 2017

Thanks for providing this great lecture.

By JOHN Q

Jan 17, 2017

FUN COURSE WHICH I ENJOYED QUITE A BIT.

By MILLOT J M F

Dec 19, 2017

A bright approach to depression.

By Neha N

Apr 17, 2018

Very informative and helpful

By A.C.R

Apr 02, 2019

Excellent course.

By Rita M J

Jun 02, 2020

great experience

By Gerardo S

May 02, 2018

Great course!

By PREM S P

Apr 02, 2020

Mind Blowing

By 張齡文 L

May 09, 2017

很實用也很專業!!!

By Vitor A e S

Apr 13, 2020

Awesome!

By Mona A A

Jul 10, 2020

good

By Amy D V

Mar 04, 2020

The course itself was good, very good. I learned a lot. Hats off to the three professors who taught!

However, it was problematic waiting for peer grading (I waited over four weeks for the last grade). Also I am not sure how effective it is to have peer grading as some students give all points for mediocre work and other give few points because one small aspect was thought incorrect.

Also there was some sort of glitch with the assignment deadlines. I was informed on multiple occassions that I had four assignments overdue even though all were already turned in.

By Jesse

Jul 10, 2019

The information wasn't overly complicated, and I would have liked if the course went a little deeper into the various themes and lessons, but overall the instructors certainly knew what they were doing and talking about and their slides were easy to read and well put-together, and I really enjoyed this course.

By Daniel W

Jul 04, 2020

All in all a very good and informative course. I like the structure and the assignments require that you both apply what you learn and makes you think out the box.

Only point of critique is that the wording in the assignments could have been clearer.