Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Public Speaking

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Public Speaking by University of Washington

4.8
stars
1,702 ratings
564 reviews

About the Course

This course gives you a reliable model for preparing and delivering effective presentations. In business, in school, and in public life, we are often called upon to “make a few comments.” Often, people tasked with such speeches become flummoxed. They might not know what to talk about, or ramble without making a point, or simply be confusing to listen to. This course is designed to help you shine where others falter. We’ll learn how organize talks clearly, write them memorably, and deliver them confidently. By the end of the course, you should be able to significantly reduce your fear of public speaking, use rehearsal techniques to develop a strong, vibrant speaking voice, and perform speeches with dynamic movement and gestures. The speech model that we’ll practice is useful for briefings, elevator talks, interviews, and even as a structure for hour-long presentations. If you’re a beginner, this course will help you quickly master the fundamentals of speaking. If you’re a seasoned speaker, this course will help you better understand public speaking and push you to the next level....

Top reviews

E
Feb 27, 2017

This course is great. You simply learn a lot in an easy way. The teacher is really good and knows how to teach and engage you in the lessons. I am looking forward to next courses in the specialization

AJ
Jun 5, 2020

Excellent course for who are starting to speak in public or who are already a public speaker, no matter you join this course to get more tools & ideas to make your speech interesting to the audience.

Filter by:

176 - 200 of 565 Reviews for Introduction to Public Speaking

By Sini C

Aug 31, 2020

Awesome course.It help me very much.I extremely thankful to prof.Mcgarrity.and University of washington.classes are very very helpful.

By NUB T L

Jun 30, 2020

In my life, I have not enrolled in any of the MOOC courses. This is my first time life experience and I'm pleased to rate outstanding!

By Farida m s

Jan 18, 2021

Had an amazing time learning online and listening and watch videos.

Got great ideas of how to become a good public speaker.

Thank you !

By Samantha P M R

Nov 7, 2020

This course helped me so much. I just want to say thank you Coursera, for this opportunity. I hope to put in practice what I learned.

By Teddie P

Aug 27, 2019

This was a great course, I enjoyed having a refresher in public speaking and the content provided in this class was very informative.

By Vicente B I

Jan 9, 2021

Un curso que da la herramientas básicas para poder preparar un discurso de una manera eficaz y eficiente. Es sencillo de comprender.

By MUHAMMED F A

May 11, 2020

one of the fundamental courses for all the public speakers out there or for someone who wants to lose the fear of public speaking.

By Adweit G

Feb 18, 2020

Amazing course! It helped me manage my stage fright by giving me methods and tips. It also told me how to construct a good speech.

By Laimut� P

Nov 27, 2020

Incredible! For me it was a big challenge because of my English, but thanks for excellent lectures. Now I will be more confidant.

By Andrés F M R

Jul 9, 2020

The teacher is really good and funny, I would like to have teachers like him in every class I take. He is, also, extremely clear.

By Andrea H

Mar 1, 2017

This course was fantastic, it covered all of my public speaking questions and has really helped me be a better presenter at work.

By Juwel R

Jun 19, 2017

The course adds a new perspective on my thoughts to public speaking, and I am happy that I enrolled in this course. Thanks Matt!

By Rohit M

Feb 18, 2021

This course was very helpful for me. I enjoyed how Matt taught the structure and have already incorporated it into my practice.

By Diwakar K

May 9, 2020

Course is designed well but few more speech assignments could have been included as we know practice is key to public speaking.

By Jethro G

Mar 26, 2017

A very vital tool in business. I don't know know what took me so long to discover the course. It's the core of every business .

By KELSEY M C T G

Sep 9, 2020

Each weak you will learn from teory to practice, lessons are great. It really helped me to improve my public speaking skills.

By Matthew A

Mar 28, 2021

One of my steps in becoming a good speaker. Quality job and course work looking forward to other courses. Thanks, Coursera.

By Ana C M

Feb 15, 2018

Definitely gives you the fundamentals on how to write a speech and how to use your body language, tone of voice and posture.

By Flore D

Oct 10, 2017

The course is very useful, and the teacher is an outstanding speaker : you'll learn a lot from watching him speak. Thanks !

By Nancy M

Jan 21, 2021

A great course to help structure speeches, reduce nervousness and provide tips to become a more effective public speaker.

By Christopher C

Dec 3, 2020

Dr. Matt McGarrity, is an excellent lecturer and this course is a must have regardless of your field of study/expertise.

By Alejandra F F Z

Nov 13, 2020

Excellent course, everything was perfectly designed. The resources, all the examples, and the assignments help me a lot.

By Tanmay M

Feb 6, 2018

It's a really amazing course for people interested in speaking well in public and moving the audiences with their speech

By Eddah K

Jan 8, 2021

I loved every minute of my learning. The lecturer was great and gave practical exercises. He made the training fun too.

By Ricky C

Jul 5, 2021

Overall is amazing, except for the grading system. Many people were giving not so helpful feedbacks to my assignments.