Chevron Left
Back to Python Classes and Inheritance

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Python Classes and Inheritance by University of Michigan

4.7
stars
2,738 ratings
403 reviews

About the Course

This course introduces classes, instances, and inheritance. You will learn how to use classes to represent data in concise and natural ways. You'll also learn how to override built-in methods and how to create "inherited" classes that reuse functionality. You'll also learn about how to design classes. Finally, you will be introduced to the good programming habit of writing automated tests for their own code. The course is best-suited for you if you are already familiar with Python fundamentals, which are covered in the "Python Basics" and "Python Functions, Files, and Dictionaries" courses (courses 1 and 2 of the Python 3 Programming Specialization). It is optional to have taken the "Data Collection and Processing with Python" course (course 3 of the specialization), but knowledge of retrieving and processing complex nested data is helpful. This is the fourth of five courses in the Python 3 Programming Specialization....

Top reviews

BY
Dec 6, 2020

As always like how I told, there's no doubt about this being the best python course that you will ever find, and take it from a guy who never found interest in studying until now.\n\nThank you.

TY
Aug 12, 2020

Great course! A month ago I still knew nothing about programming. Now I can try to understand and write codes for a mini game, which is super cool. Many thanks to the teachers and Coursera.

Filter by:

376 - 400 of 403 Reviews for Python Classes and Inheritance

By Dileep k

Jun 4, 2020

good

By Joseph R

Jan 5, 2021

While I am very new to Python, I found some of the information out of date and this is very confusing for someone new to python or programming for that matter. I understand python is updated on a regular basis but you are teaching modules that have not been used by python in some time. Also this course could have been taught in a two hour block it did not need to be spread out so much. I understand you are trying to make money while teaching people a new skill but I am happy I only audited this course as I would probably get a lower score

By Samanth N

Oct 4, 2020

This course was actually a welcome concept. This introduced so many possibilities and how structured your data can be organized into. However, the final project assignment was a little too long and the instructions which were provided were not clear enough. I did spend a lot of time getting the code tick all the tests but, it did not run during the final code which is the whole point of the assignment and, the textbook let me continue so, I decided to go with it.

By Matthew M

May 27, 2020

The material was interesting but I feel like it could have gone into more detail. It felt like something was missing. I did a lot of online reading outside the course. I didn't like the final project. It was very difficult trying to troubleshoot the modules in the final project. Of the four python classes in the series I have taken, this one was by far the most frustrating.

By Tom W

Sep 4, 2020

The other courses in this series felt better paced. This one crammed a LOT of information into a short period, like each week of the class could have been a class of its own. There is a serious leap from "how to make one inherited class" to "now write your own text game"

By Apostolos G

Mar 11, 2019

It's not that coherent as it touches very different topics without an obvious relationship among them (e.g. Classes, Test Cases, Django!) All the tasks are very easy, addressed to beginers while the final project is challenging and needs to have some experience skills.

By Garima M

Oct 7, 2020

Not satisfactory, not enough examples. Quality of material to read has surprisingly gone down drastically compared to previous courses, considering the fact these are important oop and programming concepts. Dissapointed, just another half baked online course.

By Soumik C

Aug 27, 2020

This course had the potential to be so good. But it just drags so much without being too helpful at last. This needs to get out of the runestone environment and get real. Too many bugs and even if there isn't any bug, the messages aren't too clear.

By Faisal A M

Jun 22, 2020

many a times projects are given way too ahead of whats taught in the classes ,also if projects are supposed to be given please first explian to us or guide us whats going on in the projects !!!!!!!!!!!

By Xi G

Dec 27, 2020

The class is structured and fun to learn. The UI design of the interactive textbook is not great, I have to scroll back and fourth for the last project.

By Kartikay G

Jul 16, 2020

Great course for learning the basics of class and inheritance in python.And also pretty much helpful in understanding the course better.

By Joseph G

Jul 17, 2020

This course has great instruction, but relies almost completly on some 3rd party site to do all the exercises and grading.

By Aparna V

Feb 12, 2020

Good course, structured well.

For a person who doesnt know OOP, it is difficult to understand the self declara`ti`on

By Ashutosh B

Oct 5, 2020

classes should be explained in detail ,it was so short and difficult for one who does know about oop.

By Prayas K

Aug 31, 2020

runesone platform can have a greater transperancy with the test cases .

By Helena L

Jul 12, 2020

Poor experience with Runestone interactive textbook.

By Weerachai Y

Jun 22, 2020

thanks

By MEDABALIMI V

Apr 22, 2020

boring

By Tom A

May 26, 2020

Too many weird untraceable problems with Runestone. Only one staff member participating in the forum. The material and instruction are fine but it's impossible to see what you did wrong on the final project - you don't know what the tests are, what line number is causing the problem, nothing...

By Urmas K

Jun 1, 2020

connected(interlinked0 coding windows in runestone environment can drive one crazy - referring to the wheel of python.

By Jeffrey B

May 27, 2020

Good explanation on OOP, but not really much practice. Also some issues with the grader (again) in the final project.

By Sumit C

Nov 23, 2020

Much of the part not explained, course was very fast and complex

By Dawid B

Jun 4, 2020

The final project was crazy. The Testing part too easy.

By Katharotiya G

Apr 28, 2020

Not satisfied

By nipun d n

May 6, 2020

The name of the course is misleading. The third week mostly talks about test and exception which is not entirely related to class or inheritance. Also, sometimes the instructor talked about something that was not introduced yet (e.g., class and instance variables, __str__() method). Overall, it seems disorganized and disappointing. I hope the organizers will improve the course in the near future.