Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Data Science in Python

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Data Science in Python by University of Michigan

4.5
stars
26,495 ratings

About the Course

This course will introduce the learner to the basics of the python programming environment, including fundamental python programming techniques such as lambdas, reading and manipulating csv files, and the numpy library. The course will introduce data manipulation and cleaning techniques using the popular python pandas data science library and introduce the abstraction of the Series and DataFrame as the central data structures for data analysis, along with tutorials on how to use functions such as groupby, merge, and pivot tables effectively. By the end of this course, students will be able to take tabular data, clean it, manipulate it, and run basic inferential statistical analyses. This course should be taken before any of the other Applied Data Science with Python courses: Applied Plotting, Charting & Data Representation in Python, Applied Machine Learning in Python, Applied Text Mining in Python, Applied Social Network Analysis in Python....

Top reviews

PK

May 9, 2020

The course had helped in understanding the concepts of NumPy and pandas. The assignments were so helpful to apply these concepts which provide an in-depth understanding of the Numpy as well as pandans

YY

Sep 28, 2021

This is the practical course.There is some concepts and assignments like: pandas, data-frame, merge and time. The asg 3 and asg4 are difficult but I think that it's very useful and improve my ability.

Filter by:

276 - 300 of 5,808 Reviews for Introduction to Data Science in Python

By Filip A

Feb 25, 2021

This is the worse course that I have taken on Coursera. Speed and assignments are ridiculous and there is no way that you can complete them with the knowledge gained from lectures!!

By Brendan M

Jul 10, 2018

My opinion of this course has already been stated here: https://medium.com/@masseybr/university-of-michigan-introduction-to-data-science-in-python-course-review-50eb37f5ff0d

By Eric A

May 28, 2021

Vague. They will introduce an idea in 30 seconds and assume complete comprehension then quiz you on it with no real practice. Not much learn by doing happening here.

By Salih F C

Sep 25, 2017

Course doesn't give you any tools to use, it only expects you to solve problems with the tools you find from internet. Buy a book, at least it is better.

By Ramadan K M M

Dec 26, 2016

instructor is too fast, video lectures are not enough and assignment questions are not clear which wastes much time just to understand the question

By Marco G

Jan 11, 2018

Videos only cover a fraction of the material needed to solve the assignments. Better off buying a book that explains the concepts in more details.

By Jacob T

Feb 12, 2019

You're honestly better off getting a free tutorial online somewhere. I would only pay for this course if you absolutely need the certificate.

By Davor C

Apr 20, 2020

Course was full of bugs, learning material was much easier and simpler to understand than the tasks and assigments that were given later on.

By Matthew J P

Jan 15, 2020

The pandas software is out of date which caused me much stress and frustration in submitting assignments. PLEASE UPDATE YOUR SOFTWARE.

By Giovanni I

Sep 5, 2020

Videos doesn't help or prepare student very well for assignment. I had to study and found material all by myself. Unuseful

By Yoann G

Nov 8, 2017

Among more than 20 MOOC followed, I guess this is the worst one. I won't repeat here the arguments of other learners.

By Jialie ( Y

Jul 9, 2017

Bad tutorial video, scattered teaching content, not corresponding homework, lack of material to review the lecture

By Yiming L

Oct 14, 2017

course too fast, they don't explain anything, just run through example. The worst course I have taken on coursera.

By Stephen B

Apr 11, 2017

Unorganized and not very useful. The main goal of the course is for you to use Stack Overflow.....SAVE YOURSELF $

By Ana O R

Mar 28, 2017

This course is a joke. Contents is very very poor. And you will have a lot of problems making the Assigments.

By Mayank J

Apr 11, 2020

The instructor was pathetic. He is simply reading the text and not putting in any efforts to explain things.

By Lulu L

Nov 21, 2016

The lectures are insufficient, the homework instructions are incorrect, the autograder is terrible.

By Suwandy W

May 31, 2020

the teaching materials provided by christopher is too brief. can be improve by more elaboration.

By Vikash K

Jun 22, 2018

pathetic course. Not for anyone who wants to learn python. Its for them who already know python

By SARTHAK S

Nov 28, 2020

Very tough question asked without proper teaching. Course should be made learning oriented.

By Madhubalini V

Nov 2, 2020

very hard assignment and confusing that i have to withdraw from doing :(

By Adeel J

Oct 29, 2017

Instructor is not interested in teaching but just reading out the script

By ROMASANTA, M J (

Oct 30, 2019

This course is not suited for beginners, who wanted to learn python.

By Sourav S

Jun 26, 2018

Horrible. Explains nothingJohns Hopkins data science is FAR superior

By SAFO E

Jan 12, 2021

i have been unable to follow the course and i want to exit