Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Data Science in Python

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Data Science in Python by University of Michigan

4.5
stars
25,783 ratings
5,739 reviews

About the Course

This course will introduce the learner to the basics of the python programming environment, including fundamental python programming techniques such as lambdas, reading and manipulating csv files, and the numpy library. The course will introduce data manipulation and cleaning techniques using the popular python pandas data science library and introduce the abstraction of the Series and DataFrame as the central data structures for data analysis, along with tutorials on how to use functions such as groupby, merge, and pivot tables effectively. By the end of this course, students will be able to take tabular data, clean it, manipulate it, and run basic inferential statistical analyses. This course should be taken before any of the other Applied Data Science with Python courses: Applied Plotting, Charting & Data Representation in Python, Applied Machine Learning in Python, Applied Text Mining in Python, Applied Social Network Analysis in Python....

Top reviews

YY

Sep 28, 2021

This is the practical course.There is some concepts and assignments like: pandas, data-frame, merge and time. The asg 3 and asg4 are difficult but I think that it's very useful and improve my ability.

PK

May 9, 2020

The course had helped in understanding the concepts of NumPy and pandas. The assignments were so helpful to apply these concepts which provide an in-depth understanding of the Numpy as well as pandans

Filter by:

3701 - 3725 of 5,689 Reviews for Introduction to Data Science in Python

By Sascha U

Apr 17, 2021

Solid intro to Python for DataScience purposes. Definitely requires a lot of independent research and it's sometimes nearly impossible to achieve the assignment on the first go (everything is rated automatically, so even a slight deviation from the requirement format will lead to an initial fail).

By Ramon S

Oct 4, 2020

This was an informative and challenging course. I definitely learnt a lot, and would recommend anyone with some previous pandas and numpy experience to take it! The only downside for me was understanding the question, I spent more time trying to understand what I had to do than actually doing it.

By Anindya K

Aug 25, 2020

Please make the lecture materials more thorough. The assignments are very difficult and most of the time require learning from other sources rather than this course. I have sent more than 8 hours per assignment since I had to learn a lot of materials outside this course to answer those questions.

By Nitin K

Sep 7, 2019

The duration of videos is very small compared to the time needs to be spent to solve the assignments. There is a huge gap between what is taught and what is asked.Being a working professional with limited amount of time difficult assignments tends to reduce motivation to continue with the course.

By Mustafa S

Aug 3, 2020

The assignments are not well-prepared, TAs did really really good job though on clarifying vague concepts in discussion group. I expected to read assignments and complete them without digging discussion forums.

All in all it was a good class to learn new materials, but it is challenging though.

By Julie M

Oct 2, 2018

I really enjoyed this course, and gained a tremendous amount of knowledge about how to use python for data science (specifically how to work with pandas). I feel like there was a lot of advanced material, which is good, but makes the course quite challenging for an introductory level course.

By Andrej S

Jun 2, 2021

Steep learning curve, I learned a lot. Unfortunately the prepearation for the assignments was not as good as expected, though I read the readings, but the quizzes were ok. It would be nice to get the solutiions after finishing the course successfully, to gain insights into elegant solutions.

By Minh V

Aug 15, 2020

Quite challenging if you don't have alittle background in Python. Assignment is hard and time-consuming. The issue is the grader is old and sometimes I had to be forced to change my code for the grader to work. A lot of reseach and google if one wants to understand the logic behind the code.

By Ahmed O H

Aug 24, 2019

It's difficult as an intro to this science, I suffered so much to understand the codes and It forced me to take a small course about the libraries like Numpy and Pandas, I wish if this course more simply than it's.

At all, Thank you so much for your effort, I wish all of you the best forever.

By Rakshit T

Feb 25, 2018

Assignments and project were good and give you enough opportunities to self-learn a lot of data processing and cleaning tools. However the course video content does not really teach you much or in places, can leave you confused. Be prepared to spend a lot of time going through stackexchange.

By Kushagra V

May 31, 2020

It was a great experience ! When I started this course I was not familiar with any of the terms used in data science but during the course of 4 weeks , I not only learnt new skills but also a got familiar with all the terminologies.

It also helped me to improve my coding skills in Python .

By Murad S

Mar 27, 2020

Course is designed well and the tutor's response is prompt. (Yusuf thanks for your splendid support throughout the course!). There are some minor issues with the grader software but that can be resolved by checking the forums where students and tutors advise how to prevent autograder bugs.

By Chen S

Nov 20, 2017

amazing course great help with the introduction and great explanations.

sometimes jupiter grader gave me bad grades for no apparent reason, after i reloaded it was fine, it held me back a while because you are trying to understand if it is the you who got the question wrong or the grader.

By Megan G

Jun 19, 2020

I thought it was a good course because I learned a lot, but the assignments were much harder than expected. You have to rely a lot on looking at Stack Overflow and sometimes the functions you needed wouldn't be taught until the "next week". Other than that, I really enjoyed the course.

By Andrew H

Aug 29, 2019

Very good courses for me. Really understanding data science and how to operating python to clean data. And how to have a hypothesis test for our model. But this course is a little simple for me, and not to include some algorithms for data clean and some knowledges for machine learning.

By Edward J

Jan 23, 2017

Good at setting up the framework for the assignments. Google/stackoverflow is your friend. The course materials presents the information but you will have to go and actively learn a good amount of material. I enjoyed this approach but some may be looking for a more contained course.

By Alexander B M

Nov 20, 2016

It is useful, but there are some notable flaws. My biggest problems were with the clarity of the assignment questions (some were unacceptably vague) and the feedback that the autograder gives. Fortunately, fellow classmates on the forums are extremely helpful in figuring this all out.

By Sandeep S R

Jan 3, 2021

its a bit Challenging Course as the Assignment given covered more areas than what we have taught.

also its Dicussion forums is so awsome. you can solve the given problem by just reading 2 or 3 froums.

after completing this course you can feel the gradual increase in your python skills.

By Alex Z

Mar 31, 2019

The homework of the course is very practical. For last assignment make me feel like a real work problem. The course gave you a quick overview of how these Python library works, but To complete the homework you need be self-reliant and be able to find the pieces you need from google.

By Adebayo A A

Nov 14, 2018

This course is absolutely fantastic in understanding data science by applying python programming language. Although it is quite demanding as one must be ready to be fully committed in the learning process as the lecture videos may not be enough to solve the assignments in the course.

By J S

May 10, 2017

Good through introduction to using Pandas. Instruction needs to go into more examples and explanations. I needed to use stackoverflow to get through 60% of the assignments. Few assignment questions are ambiguous and I never found out why my answer is incorrect. Where's the solutions?

By Andrew K

Nov 27, 2016

The course was really great. Thank you!

Sometimes precisely what the questions were asking weren't clear (This may have been resolved by a notebook upgrade but I did not realise this until it was too late) and I did have some issues with the autograder. Otherwise would be five stars.

By Omar H G

Jun 16, 2020

I think the course is great, a little bit too much learning on your own. The autograder is not really that clear, it would be nice to have an expected output to see if what we are doing is accurate or not, sometimes we dont have the time to wait for the staff to reply back on the DF

By Alex T

Dec 23, 2016

Very challenging course yet very informative. I am looking forward to the rest of the courses in this series.

A word of warning: if you are not familiar with statistics, parts will be very difficult. If you are not familiar with Python the whole course may be very very difficult.

By peyman s

Dec 11, 2019

The course is well structured, but the videos are not really easy to use. The camera is on the instructor most of the time rather than the code page.

However the Notebooks and the assignments are excellent and you should spend most of the time on those to really learn the material.