Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Data Science in Python

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Data Science in Python by University of Michigan

4.5
stars
25,663 ratings
5,716 reviews

About the Course

This course will introduce the learner to the basics of the python programming environment, including fundamental python programming techniques such as lambdas, reading and manipulating csv files, and the numpy library. The course will introduce data manipulation and cleaning techniques using the popular python pandas data science library and introduce the abstraction of the Series and DataFrame as the central data structures for data analysis, along with tutorials on how to use functions such as groupby, merge, and pivot tables effectively. By the end of this course, students will be able to take tabular data, clean it, manipulate it, and run basic inferential statistical analyses. This course should be taken before any of the other Applied Data Science with Python courses: Applied Plotting, Charting & Data Representation in Python, Applied Machine Learning in Python, Applied Text Mining in Python, Applied Social Network Analysis in Python....

Top reviews

PK

May 9, 2020

The course had helped in understanding the concepts of NumPy and pandas. The assignments were so helpful to apply these concepts which provide an in-depth understanding of the Numpy as well as pandans

YY

Sep 28, 2021

This is the practical course.There is some concepts and assignments like: pandas, data-frame, merge and time. The asg 3 and asg4 are difficult but I think that it's very useful and improve my ability.

Filter by:

3776 - 3800 of 5,667 Reviews for Introduction to Data Science in Python

By grant

Sep 15, 2019

most of this course is really great. but I do think the assignment doesn't match the course very well. To finish the programming assignment, I have to go through a lot of materials and documentations. I hope the teacher could cover more.

By Muhammad M A

Sep 17, 2020

Excellent course to get you started with dealing with data. You'll learn a lot about Python, Numpy, and Pandas, and the best part is that you'll get your hands dirty dealing with real-world data and you'll also solve real-world problems

By Jhoan S G S

Jun 28, 2020

Muy buen curso, sin embargo deberían actualizar la versión de pandas y demás librerías en los libretas y assigments.

Very good course, however they should update the version of pandas and other libraries in the notebooks and assigments.

By Cheng H Z

Sep 21, 2019

Good contents, but very poor grading system. Had to guess what was expected. For instance, get_list_of_university_towns (week 4 assignment), I set the indexes on both columns, which led to failure. After I removed the index, it passed.

By Trevor A

Jun 5, 2017

Great introductory course on data science in python. However, the final projects diverts significantly from the course material, requiring vast amounts of self-study for someone new to Python. Definitely learned a lot in this course.

By Michal M

Dec 19, 2016

This was a good course and quite challenging. It requires a lot of self learning if you are not familiar with pandas. I wish some of the technics that were required to solve the assignments were better explained in the course material.

By Philipp H

Mar 1, 2017

This python is mostly an introduction to the Python Pandas API. It teaches everything by example, but at very fast pace, and the videos are really just preparations for the assignments, which can easily take more time than specified.

By Enes U

Jul 26, 2020

Very good course, analysing very important Python tools to be able to create data science projects using python, course and videos were a little bit fast for me especially when i trying to understand native speak of the professor.

By Peter K

May 3, 2020

Great course, especially the assignments were very useful. I only gave 4 stars because some of the assignment questions were not defined precisely as also highlighted in the discussion panel. Would definitely recommend this course!

By ADITI M

Jul 10, 2020

There should be more information on every function as to where and when it should be used.

It was a bit difficult for intermediate level as well and there must be some more information on how to use it for data science. Thank you.

By Rene B

Mar 30, 2020

Instructor is very good, course material are enough, but assignments are more difficult than I was expecting. They require a lot of research and dedication. Overall a good class, but take it if you have enough time to complete it.

By Arun P P

May 17, 2020

This course has good content, but I felt the speed was a bit too fast to catch up. Since I had already done a python course, I could understand some terms. But this course would not be for a beginner with no background in python.

By Bharat S

Mar 26, 2020

The course content is good. Assignments are tougher. Especially the last assignment. Lecture videos could have been more aligned with assignments. Had to go through a lot of other materials outside the course.

Overall satisfying.

By Boyukkhan I

Mar 1, 2019

Overall course is good and challenging, however I don't like automatically ranking system, most times I need to submit same answer to precise decimal, however might be my code is correct but slight issue and I don't get any grade

By Akash A

May 16, 2017

Great course to get started on with Data Science. Lectures are simple and to the point, questions are challenging and practical. Adding a little more theoretical background to the subject would bring more strength to the course.

By Joao V d C E

Jan 28, 2017

Really good course with challenging assignments. However, the grader has some issues, for every assignment I had to spend more time trying to figure out how to make the grader accept my answers than actually solving the problems.

By Petr J

Jul 3, 2018

Excellent assignments, lectures very fast-paced and didn't cover all the material needed for assignments (which was kinda the point - you learn Python by trying it over and over again not by imitating what you saw in a lecture).

By Timo K

Sep 19, 2017

The course was great and I learned a lot. Minus one star, because course required a lot more work than initially expected. Note, though, that this was probably mainly due to me being new to Python (coming from another language).

By Hao N

Feb 28, 2017

Great course, requires much self-initiative because not all useful methods for the assignments are covered in the videos. Sometimes Assignment Questions are not described very clearly.

All in all I enjoyed the course very much :)

By D. L k

Sep 28, 2020

I enjoyed and earned alot of knowledge through this course and I am very happy to earn a certificate. On knowing the teaching method I am interested to do higher in such a prestigious university and hoping to get higher in MIT.

By Xuanwei C

Nov 28, 2016

It's a good course over all. There is only one thing that I would like to suggest, which is that the autrograder does not seem to work well. It really wasted me lots of time to get the RIGHT ANSWER understood by the autograder.

By Mojgan M

Nov 23, 2016

Great course, assignments take more time than listed, and I found the discussion forum very helpful to learn more about the assignments and interact with other classmates. Overall I learned so much of commands from this course.

By Trianggoro W

May 1, 2020

This course equips someone who knows programming with an into to data science, however you need to have experience in programming, otherwise take a more introductory course on Python programming before enrolling to this class.

By Ben F

Dec 2, 2017

Requires a lot of independent learning and additional research to really be able to complete the assignments, but if you're willing to put in the work, it really accelerates your knowledge of the language and data manipulation

By Arnaud S

Apr 12, 2019

Good course that gives you some basics of python while still forcing you to look up for answers online. However, course instructors really need to fix the few assignment issues that can make them very lengthy for no reason...