Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Data Science in Python

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Data Science in Python by University of Michigan

4.5
stars
25,192 ratings
5,622 reviews

About the Course

This course will introduce the learner to the basics of the python programming environment, including fundamental python programming techniques such as lambdas, reading and manipulating csv files, and the numpy library. The course will introduce data manipulation and cleaning techniques using the popular python pandas data science library and introduce the abstraction of the Series and DataFrame as the central data structures for data analysis, along with tutorials on how to use functions such as groupby, merge, and pivot tables effectively. By the end of this course, students will be able to take tabular data, clean it, manipulate it, and run basic inferential statistical analyses. This course should be taken before any of the other Applied Data Science with Python courses: Applied Plotting, Charting & Data Representation in Python, Applied Machine Learning in Python, Applied Text Mining in Python, Applied Social Network Analysis in Python....

Top reviews

YY
Sep 28, 2021

This is the practical course.There is some concepts and assignments like: pandas, data-frame, merge and time. The asg 3 and asg4 are difficult but I think that it's very useful and improve my ability.

PK
May 9, 2020

The course had helped in understanding the concepts of NumPy and pandas. The assignments were so helpful to apply these concepts which provide an in-depth understanding of the Numpy as well as pandans

Filter by:

3876 - 3900 of 5,568 Reviews for Introduction to Data Science in Python

By Dylan

Sep 11, 2019

Very thorough course with good questions and interesting assignments. Be prepared to read through pandas documentation though, or perhaps that's just my go to as a developer :)

By Tejas S N

Mar 19, 2017

I feel the videos could have been more instructive.However, the level of assignments is incredible! I learnt a lot more from programming assignments of this course than videos.

By Jiaqi L

Jul 26, 2020

I strongly suggest making the description for assignments clearer. For assignment 2 and 3, without help of discussion forum, maybe I am still stuck in the data pre-processing.

By Adarsh K

May 20, 2020

I found this course slightly difficult since I was completely unaware of Pandas and NumPy, however, by putting slight effort and dedication, I was able to complete the course.

By Massimiliano M

Mar 5, 2017

Great Course,very practical. I would improve the examples and increase the number of exercise during the lectures instead of just fastly presenting the pandas functionalities.

By Nikhil G

Jun 10, 2020

Assignments were very good and involved a lot of thinking. It made me go through the documentations of a lot of functions. But the videos could be better and more elaborated.

By Prashant S

Apr 14, 2020

The course content is very good and its well taught. I suggest to brief or explain the assignment questions after completing it, it will help to better understand the things.

By Syed T S

Apr 12, 2020

The course was very learning but the assignments were really difficult. Even though, I have a background in python, still it was very challenging to complete the assignments.

By Zona G

Apr 24, 2018

Challenging in a good way, but sometimes light on important details which makes it difficult to even go about finding your own info/solutions online as the course encourages.

By Yanliang Y

Jan 23, 2017

It was challenging yet fun to learn this course.

Last but not least, the http://stackoverflow.com is really helpful. I highly recommend it to anyone who want to learn Python.

By Jesús R S

May 26, 2017

Some issues when validating the assignements automatically but the forums are very helpful. Overall great course to start learning python and the libraries pandas and numpy.

By André T R

Mar 1, 2017

The submission tasks are too time consuming. In the other hand,forces the student to search about answers by themselves and use the techniques taught on it's full extension.

By Wen H

Nov 20, 2016

I like the course very much. It was fun to learn and to do the exercises. There were some rough edges in the assignments but I'm sure these will be straightened out in time.

By Bikash P

Jun 1, 2020

The last 2 assignments were very tough. Out of the scope of this course.

But whatever the content was very nice and understanding & helped me a lot in boosting my knowledge.

By Juan J p

Sep 23, 2020

es muy rapido explicando los conceptos que muchas veces pueden ser muy densos sobre todo cuando no tienes demasiada experiencia con esto, pero es muy bueno. aprendi mucho.

By Alberto M

Oct 18, 2019

Muy buen curso. Sin embargo, hay bastantes problemas con el corrector automático que causan muchos quebraderos de cabeza innecesarios. Pero salvo eso, es muy recomendable.

By Pablo R B

Sep 25, 2019

A partir de la semana 1 faltan los subtitulos en español, que para alguna cosa más técnica pueden ayudar a comprender ciertos aspectos más complejos a los hispanohablantes

By Rahul V

Jul 6, 2019

Video lectures are easy to understand, but assignments are pretty hard as per knowledge obtained in these lectures, but that is okay because there is no spoon feeding you.

By Luis V

Dec 11, 2020

Excelente curso abarca temas esenciales para la carrera de Ciencias de Datos, principios de Pandas y Numpy, así mismo los desafíos semanales te retan a cumplirlos al 100.

By Alexa

Jul 14, 2019

to accomplish the assignment, far more knowledge than teacher had taught. actually it is not good for true beginner. I really need to ask others for biggggggggggggg help.

By SIEW M J

May 27, 2018

Instructions should be clearer in the assignment page. Otherwise over-reliance on discussion forums may tend to steer some candidates away from completing the assignments

By Vinay P d L R

Sep 18, 2017

Doesn't explain alot of important variation of the sintax, and says some wrong stuff as well. These two problems actually happen quite rarely, though. Pretty good course!

By Колесова Д М

Aug 1, 2017

I hope that such difficult "introduction" leads to the easy path in working.

All in all - VERY HELPFUL COURSE. Morethanthat, tutors always ready to help you!

Thank a lot.

By Sudheer a

Jul 9, 2020

Course content is good. The Assignments were great. It was comfortable in reviewing the concepts in the Jupyter notebooks provided. Overall the course seemed good to me.

By UMAMANIKANTA D

Jun 19, 2020

the instructer was explaining very fast. i couldn't catch up with him. and the learning information was too less when compared to the questions asked by the assignments.