Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Data Science in Python

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Data Science in Python by University of Michigan

4.5
stars
24,843 ratings
5,559 reviews

About the Course

This course will introduce the learner to the basics of the python programming environment, including fundamental python programming techniques such as lambdas, reading and manipulating csv files, and the numpy library. The course will introduce data manipulation and cleaning techniques using the popular python pandas data science library and introduce the abstraction of the Series and DataFrame as the central data structures for data analysis, along with tutorials on how to use functions such as groupby, merge, and pivot tables effectively. By the end of this course, students will be able to take tabular data, clean it, manipulate it, and run basic inferential statistical analyses. This course should be taken before any of the other Applied Data Science with Python courses: Applied Plotting, Charting & Data Representation in Python, Applied Machine Learning in Python, Applied Text Mining in Python, Applied Social Network Analysis in Python....

Top reviews

PK
May 9, 2020

The course had helped in understanding the concepts of NumPy and pandas. The assignments were so helpful to apply these concepts which provide an in-depth understanding of the Numpy as well as pandans

YY
Sep 28, 2021

This is the practical course.There is some concepts and assignments like: pandas, data-frame, merge and time. The asg 3 and asg4 are difficult but I think that it's very useful and improve my ability.

Filter by:

3976 - 4000 of 5,505 Reviews for Introduction to Data Science in Python

By Soham S

Dec 7, 2017

Good course to start learning python and some of it's application.

Week 1 and 2 videos are very fast forwarding on python for beginners.

By Khushal K

Dec 4, 2017

The demo speed is too fast for the new average learner, but we can always stop and rewind. Assignments are lengthy yet too informative.

By Leon V

Feb 8, 2017

Don't think this should be classified as "Beginner Specialization. No prior experience required." Need at least some coding experience.

By Qinzhe Z

Nov 4, 2016

To be honest, I think the course is very good, however, it may be need to more clear on the description of the questions in assignment.

By Houssam B

Jul 21, 2021

T​hank you for this amazing Course, I really learned a lot during the entire 4 weeks. everything was easy to learn and well organised.

By Andrii M

Sep 5, 2020

The course is good, but the autograder is absolutely horrible, spend hours figuring out how to force autograder to accept my solution.

By Huseyn G

Jun 14, 2020

Generally, it is very useful course, and provides lots of resources. However, I believe that they are areas to make the course better.

By Deleted A

Oct 26, 2018

The assignment is quit hard and students need to do a lot of research to pass. But you can learn a lot of things through this process.

By AnirbanBanerjee

Jun 14, 2018

I loved problems and approaches. There are definitely some key topics which needs more practice, hopefully with time this will evolve.

By Spenser P

Apr 22, 2018

There was a lot of self learning required to complete the projects, I'm not sure the lecture portion of the course is worth the money.

By PeiDa K

Sep 8, 2017

Tough course. Great exercises increasing in difficulties and are without much training wheels. The videos are a bit too fast for me.

By Alexander C

Mar 19, 2017

I would like to have seen more detailed teaching on Hypothesis testing and how it applies to python before tackling the final project.

By Yang Q

Oct 24, 2018

The assignment wordings are ambiguous. Clear instructions are needed with a sample of the end product showing data type/format/shape.

By Qihang Z

May 29, 2020

If technical points can be explained in more details, the course will be more attractive. Overall, it's a very fantastic experience.

By Ken I

Mar 17, 2020

I had to rely on the feedback from the forum for the final week's homework. It was impossible without reading everyone's questions.

By Shanaka J

Apr 18, 2019

this goes through the basics once again. a very good course to brushup the forgotten python scripts on data handling and cleaning...

By chetan

Jun 4, 2020

My humble request is that content should be more elaborated with examples so that its clear as what the instructor wants to convey

By Koffi M K

Jul 11, 2019

Very good course to manipulate data with python. My only issue is that the assignments need to be elaborate or described in better.

By Randson

Jun 18, 2017

I think the questions should be better explaneed in the anouncement at the avaliations. Especially whats is expected by the grader.

By DİLARA Ş

May 24, 2020

It was so challenging for an introduction course. However, it helped me a lot to improve my skills in Python Pandas. Thanks a lot.

By hai h

Nov 25, 2019

The course is good for learning new in Data Science, but some exercise should not to difficult and correct how to check the result

By Grigory M

Sep 29, 2019

My review is actually 4.5, which I cannot enter. Would rate as 5, but unclearness of the final assignment made it too frustrating.

By Dentko, T

Jun 21, 2019

Sometimes grader was too picky and i spend many many hours trying to figure our mistakes, that were only wrong datatype and so on.

By André Y

Mar 16, 2019

The course is great, there are challenging assignments, great for those who want to learn the basics of programming/data analysis.

By Venkataraghavan P K

Feb 10, 2019

The assignments were pretty good, making one to go advanced into python. The teaching could be bit slower paced with more content.