Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Data Science in Python

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Data Science in Python by University of Michigan

4.5
stars
24,549 ratings
5,513 reviews

About the Course

This course will introduce the learner to the basics of the python programming environment, including fundamental python programming techniques such as lambdas, reading and manipulating csv files, and the numpy library. The course will introduce data manipulation and cleaning techniques using the popular python pandas data science library and introduce the abstraction of the Series and DataFrame as the central data structures for data analysis, along with tutorials on how to use functions such as groupby, merge, and pivot tables effectively. By the end of this course, students will be able to take tabular data, clean it, manipulate it, and run basic inferential statistical analyses. This course should be taken before any of the other Applied Data Science with Python courses: Applied Plotting, Charting & Data Representation in Python, Applied Machine Learning in Python, Applied Text Mining in Python, Applied Social Network Analysis in Python....

Top reviews

PK
May 9, 2020

The course had helped in understanding the concepts of NumPy and pandas. The assignments were so helpful to apply these concepts which provide an in-depth understanding of the Numpy as well as pandans

AU
Dec 9, 2017

Wow, this was amazing. Learned a lot (mostly thanks to stack overflow) but the course also opened my eyes to all the possibilities available out there and I feel like i'm only scratching the surface!

Filter by:

4101 - 4125 of 5,458 Reviews for Introduction to Data Science in Python

By pp

Sep 8, 2021

might need about more on applicable functions of pandas. practice examples are good for fresh people.

By VENKATA S S R T D

Jul 19, 2021

Course is not much difficult but, learnt many important techniques in organizing and processing data.

By Muhammad U K

May 6, 2020

Assignments are a bit tough and are not explained thoroughly in the videos other than that, its great

By Daniel H

Jun 17, 2019

The automatic grader is very frustrating. It struggles to compile things that shouldn't be a problem.

By Tobias G

Apr 7, 2018

The assignments are very interesting but the course materials should give more examples and guidance.

By Ciro F I B

Mar 18, 2017

Will be useful to take the Phyton Cpurse before this one. You only learn when you do the assignments.

By Erik K

Feb 6, 2017

Basically assignments were unclear (I had to do lots of resubmissions), but everything else was fine.

By Juan M E

Jul 10, 2020

It could be better if assignment submission were more friendly instead of exact answer like a robot.

By Ronald S

Apr 6, 2020

The course was nice and informative.

Just the Questions in the assignments were tricky to understand.

By Yi-Ying C

Oct 8, 2017

This course is pretty challenge, but I indeed learnt a lot thorough striving pass these assignments.

By Jim S

May 31, 2017

Excellent course. Well-organized lecture material and extremely relevant intro to Python and Pandas.

By Riya

Jul 20, 2020

overall I am satisfied with the course but I wish there was more practical exposure to the concept.

By Sudhir J

Feb 9, 2020

The topics could have been explained in little details, however the exercise were quite challenging

By Bruno A

Jan 12, 2020

I believe it misses basic concepts, so I needed to look in different resources to learn foundation.

By Mahmut A O

Jun 21, 2019

I wish grader would tell the mistakes, I had hard time figuring out what is wrong and what is right

By abhijeet g

May 28, 2019

The course was too fast for a beginner but if someone has good dedication level he can learn easily

By Anish R

Jan 4, 2019

Assignments are complex without much practice questions during the course otherwise course is fine.

By Prasang S

Jun 13, 2018

A good introductory course. But it's not a course for beginners at all. Assignments were very hard.

By Muiz V

Oct 23, 2017

Fast paced, very concentrated course. Only recommended to those with strong programming experience.

By Armando V O S

Mar 15, 2017

I really enjoyed this challenging introductory course, I cannot wait to continue the specialization

By Muhammad Y

Aug 29, 2020

Its been good to learn about the data and the sciences of its I would love to learn more about it.

By Sounak S

Aug 2, 2020

The course is good. But I was expecting less more real-life data sets for Jupiter notebook example

By KIRTIMAAN G

May 16, 2020

The course is good for the beginners but you can have little difficulty in solving the assignment.

By Vineet K

Apr 5, 2020

There should be some more content in the course, more clarity in the assignment questions as well.

By Sanjay V

Nov 26, 2019

A very good course for a person who is not familiar with Python and would like to learn it quickly