Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Data Science in Python

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Data Science in Python by University of Michigan

4.5
stars
25,138 ratings
5,612 reviews

About the Course

This course will introduce the learner to the basics of the python programming environment, including fundamental python programming techniques such as lambdas, reading and manipulating csv files, and the numpy library. The course will introduce data manipulation and cleaning techniques using the popular python pandas data science library and introduce the abstraction of the Series and DataFrame as the central data structures for data analysis, along with tutorials on how to use functions such as groupby, merge, and pivot tables effectively. By the end of this course, students will be able to take tabular data, clean it, manipulate it, and run basic inferential statistical analyses. This course should be taken before any of the other Applied Data Science with Python courses: Applied Plotting, Charting & Data Representation in Python, Applied Machine Learning in Python, Applied Text Mining in Python, Applied Social Network Analysis in Python....

Top reviews

YY
Sep 28, 2021

This is the practical course.There is some concepts and assignments like: pandas, data-frame, merge and time. The asg 3 and asg4 are difficult but I think that it's very useful and improve my ability.

PK
May 9, 2020

The course had helped in understanding the concepts of NumPy and pandas. The assignments were so helpful to apply these concepts which provide an in-depth understanding of the Numpy as well as pandans

Filter by:

4951 - 4975 of 5,556 Reviews for Introduction to Data Science in Python

By Bonny B

May 5, 2020

The course is somewhat a little harder as expected...basic knowledge in python and some statistics are a pre requisite.the lecture is not as inspirational but i found the course interesting for the topic was good.

By Marco V N

Apr 18, 2019

Sometimes the question are clear due to the lack of clear definitions. The assignments could be done much faster if one did not have to research the entire forum. Moreover, the autograder can be really frustrating.

By James S

Oct 22, 2017

Fairly fast paced. if you have just completed the Python for everybody course, you will need to do a lot of your own googling to be able to keep up with this course.

Additionally, the assignments need a little work.

By Sourabh N P

Aug 13, 2020

worst course to start with. pissing me off at every video. not a single descriptive video. I will give 0 stars if possible. Also while submitting the assignment, there is only a single way of accepting output .

By Jonathan A S M

Feb 2, 2021

It is a good course but I would like to have the chance to test my script as soon as I am writing it, I need to have another script open in order to check if I am obtaining the solution that you are expecting.

By Rakshith R P

Jun 29, 2017

Probably, the course can be more detailed with examples of different inbuilt functions. However, Liked the content of the course. Very helpful for people who wants to start on learning about numpys and pands.

By Abhishek K

Feb 20, 2018

The assignments are pretty brain storming.If you want to practice some wrangling with data I would recommend it,but you must have some basic python knowledge along with some skills using pandas and numpy.

By Chad H

Aug 12, 2019

Issues with the unforgiving autograder require spending hours (unnecessarily) reading discussion forum for precise matching of string formatting. This type of issue destroys the momentum of the course.

By Amit S

Jun 20, 2021

Way too tough for beginners or even intermediates lectures are very long which makes them boring and the assignments and quizzes are way too tough.Hope to see betteer course and much easier assignments

By Moustafa A M

Sep 3, 2017

I think we need to have more interactions into the lectures, also the material inside the course is not enough most of the course i do it searching and copy and paste the code from the online materials

By Fede C

May 17, 2020

The instructors did not explain functions well enough, is like they were always in hurry to finish and go to the next lecture. I end up reviewing a lot of internet materials to finish the assessments.

By Martin D

Oct 16, 2019

Lectures spend a lot of time on watching a person talk to a camera. Projects are pretty good, though auto-grader is a pain to debug. TA & Moderators are excellent and so is community taking course.

By Caroline M

Oct 29, 2017

Good overall and I liked the instructor. However the assignments are extremely difficult, especially Week 4 and there are not a lot of online resources made available. Definitely not for a beginner!

By murray d

Apr 21, 2020

Really a struggle to navigate around the discussion forums. The autograder is also a huge challenge. If you can make the actual tests that it runs available up-front would save a lot of time.

By Yiyi C

Jun 23, 2018

The course schedule is tight. I feel like a little bit hard for non-cs major learners. The good thing is you could still upload your homework even after the deadline before the last day of course.

By Jae H H

Apr 3, 2018

The course offers very little guidance. Nevertheless, I learned a lot but it's really not that well structured. The course also makes you do homework on something that is not covered in the class.

By Wei L

May 11, 2018

i like the course content. but the assignments need improvement as i wasted lot of time due to unclear instructions. also if the professor can compile more content into slides that will be great.

By Nidhin J T

Sep 25, 2017

It’s very fast paced. Personally I would prefer to spend more time on each topic particularly since it deals with the basics of data science and is very important to understand each topic clearly

By Alexander K

Jan 17, 2017

Skills acquired when finishing this first course are very useful and applicable. However, lectures and assignments are almost unrelated. This course is nothing for people who are new to python.

By Ruban S

Apr 7, 2019

The coursework validation could use some work to be more concise with error messages but it's OK as long as you work with it.

Content is good and seems to give a decent coverage to the basics.

By Luis V (

Mar 22, 2021

Great course, but the programming assignments take too long time and are more than python only assignments, researching about geography or where a team belongs to, that takes a lot of time.

By Mark E

Mar 14, 2017

This course relies almost exclusively on self learning of the details of pandas. It would be greatly improved by examples of how to use pandas to solve problems similar to the assignments.

By Kevin d V

Dec 6, 2017

I learned a lot. But be aware that programming skills are a requirement for this course and that you will have to research the web (stackoverflow, pandas documentation) on your own a lot.

By Sebastian R

Dec 3, 2019

Good course i.g! But it is quite annoying, that the auto grader (python 3.5 ?) does not behave like the online coursera notebook (python 3.6.2), which leads to errors at the evaluation.

By M J

Dec 21, 2017

Course material is good, covers the right topics to get started with python and pandas. Assignments and especially the grading process require a bit more patience than I was expecting.