Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Data Science in Python

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Data Science in Python by University of Michigan

4.5
stars
25,910 ratings

About the Course

This course will introduce the learner to the basics of the python programming environment, including fundamental python programming techniques such as lambdas, reading and manipulating csv files, and the numpy library. The course will introduce data manipulation and cleaning techniques using the popular python pandas data science library and introduce the abstraction of the Series and DataFrame as the central data structures for data analysis, along with tutorials on how to use functions such as groupby, merge, and pivot tables effectively. By the end of this course, students will be able to take tabular data, clean it, manipulate it, and run basic inferential statistical analyses. This course should be taken before any of the other Applied Data Science with Python courses: Applied Plotting, Charting & Data Representation in Python, Applied Machine Learning in Python, Applied Text Mining in Python, Applied Social Network Analysis in Python....

Top reviews

PK

May 9, 2020

The course had helped in understanding the concepts of NumPy and pandas. The assignments were so helpful to apply these concepts which provide an in-depth understanding of the Numpy as well as pandans

YY

Sep 28, 2021

This is the practical course.There is some concepts and assignments like: pandas, data-frame, merge and time. The asg 3 and asg4 are difficult but I think that it's very useful and improve my ability.

Filter by:

5476 - 5500 of 5,722 Reviews for Introduction to Data Science in Python

By Alfonso E

May 25, 2020

You basically need to learn everything by your own if you want to pass the assignments, there is little to none learning from the videos, But at the end if you make all the effort by yourself you will end up with lot of learning in how to use Pandas.

By HIMANSHU V

Aug 7, 2019

Not a good course even if someone has done prerequisite courses. Nothing is explained well in lecture videos but expectations are very high in assignment questions. Even if there were no lecture videos, that wouldn't have made any difference.

By Max G

Jan 28, 2017

Two stars because I have found poor explanations of assignments. I finished the course without being very clear what I was asked, and I lacked more feedback when one of the tasks is wrong. The teacher and the videos are very good.

By Pavel B

Mar 12, 2021

Pleasant teacher, nice organized course. But the teacher tells you about 10% information that you face in assignments. Literaly like this: "Ok, fella, I've explained you about 10%, the rest 90% you will find yourself somehow".

By Madeleine S

Sep 23, 2019

The topic explanations and videos are very simple compared to the level of difficulty of the assignments. Also, assignments are ambiguous, it takes a lot of time and forum visits to completely understand what is being asked.

By Richard S

Jun 18, 2020

Hi,

What they teach and what they give as assignments have a huge gap in knowledge level. Hopefully they revise the transcript and teaching material. Finished this course, but had to take a lot of help from other sources.

By Kapil T

Jun 9, 2020

Course will just give you an overview of basics.

This course will just make you familiar with some terminologies, assignments are good but lectures are not sufficient to solve them. lectures will just show you direction.

By Paul J

May 28, 2019

I realize Python is prerequisite, but there is very little Python instruction. At a minimum, it would have been very helpful if the professors explained the syntax of the python examples that are shown during lectures.

By Tushar S

Aug 5, 2020

It was a difficult course. I had to learn all the stuff by myself. I request Coursera and University of Michigan to please elaborate the things taught in the class. It has been very difficult for first timers like us.

By S. M A I

Jul 22, 2020

The teaching way of the course teacher is not very much understandable. Most of the time I had to watch YouTube videos to understand the functions. The 2 stars I'm giving, is for the materials covered in this course.

By jaid j

Jul 14, 2020

I really think this course is not organized in this way. It should be a little organized. The overall concepts are not clear either. This course is not so good as an introductory course in data science.

By Mike B

Jun 5, 2018

I was considering taking the other data science courses offered in this series but was not happy with the way this course was prepared. I completed the course but would not recommend it for beginners.

By Mu H

May 9, 2020

The lecture is so compact that does not tell us all the needed details. The assignments are just too much work, and we are expected to find everything by ourselves... Not recommended to newbies.

By Arash S M

Aug 22, 2020

They barely touche over the material in the lectures, the assignments are mostly a waste of time and unrelated to the topic thought in the lectures.

This would be a good course if it was free.

By Judit A T

Dec 4, 2017

The explanations in the videos are very superficial compared to the level you need to demonstrate in the assignments. It's basically self-learning with very negligible amount of guidance.

By Simge K

Mar 5, 2018

I think that this course is not an introduction course. The assignment were really hard. If there was little assignments after 2-3 min. of video lectures, it would be more informative.

By Vaibhav S

Mar 27, 2020

Content In Video Course Was Very Poor Especially the background kept me disturbing regularly, I literally had to cover the area with my hand to hide the background movement with hand.

By Hussain M

May 13, 2019

The course is neither for beginner nor for intermediate level students. Course is sort of tutorial where how is well explained, what is some time explained but why is always missing.

By Abdullah A Z

Jun 19, 2020

The introduction videos are tiresome to watch. Instead of explaining how to program it would to be better to give an assignment and use videos to only explain data science concepts.

By Mona F

Jun 5, 2020

The course content and the learning strategy is very good, but restricting assignments submissions to the paid subscription, although I have received financial aid from Coursera.

By KJ B

Jun 20, 2017

The code is already written, which means there is no opportunity to practice. More over, the examples have no baring on the homework problems. Would not recommend this course.

By Dr. P R

Jun 15, 2020

The lectures are not very useful in solving the assignments.

This cannot be said as an introductory course rather it requires good python skills before starting this course.

By Jose N N P

Feb 15, 2018

Lot's of problems with the autograder, lack of teaching staff support to answer questions in a timely manner. Assignments need to be more representative of class lectures.

By Bernard

Sep 7, 2019

Content wise is ok. An easy introduction. The bugs made it annoying. Especially Week 2 final exercise https://nzh13lxjj0.execute-api.us-east-1.amazonaws.com/prod/index/2/

By Colby G

May 2, 2022

Exercises at the end are way harder than they should be for how little is taught during the actual course. 1 question from each final exercise is more than enough.