Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Data Science in Python

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Data Science in Python by University of Michigan

4.5
stars
25,673 ratings
5,718 reviews

About the Course

This course will introduce the learner to the basics of the python programming environment, including fundamental python programming techniques such as lambdas, reading and manipulating csv files, and the numpy library. The course will introduce data manipulation and cleaning techniques using the popular python pandas data science library and introduce the abstraction of the Series and DataFrame as the central data structures for data analysis, along with tutorials on how to use functions such as groupby, merge, and pivot tables effectively. By the end of this course, students will be able to take tabular data, clean it, manipulate it, and run basic inferential statistical analyses. This course should be taken before any of the other Applied Data Science with Python courses: Applied Plotting, Charting & Data Representation in Python, Applied Machine Learning in Python, Applied Text Mining in Python, Applied Social Network Analysis in Python....

Top reviews

PK

May 9, 2020

The course had helped in understanding the concepts of NumPy and pandas. The assignments were so helpful to apply these concepts which provide an in-depth understanding of the Numpy as well as pandans

YY

Sep 28, 2021

This is the practical course.There is some concepts and assignments like: pandas, data-frame, merge and time. The asg 3 and asg4 are difficult but I think that it's very useful and improve my ability.

Filter by:

3651 - 3675 of 5,673 Reviews for Introduction to Data Science in Python

By Sasanka K

Feb 9, 2018

This is a very impressive course for someone who wants to get an intro to data operation in Python. The assignments are very well laid out. The automatic grader gives good insights of what may have gone wrong.

One thing though- there could have been more concentration (especially in the assignments) on grouping and slicing the datasets.

By George V

Dec 12, 2016

Spent more time figuring out what was being asked in the assignment rather than solving the assignment. Typos in assignment questions led to wasted hours without understanding why the grader kept rejecting solutions. Course content was useful and I would recommend if you are willing to live through the pain of the assignment submission.

By Kim N

Mar 24, 2019

I'm very new to python and the course has been pretty helpful. The format of having the notebook to walk through the course is also helpful. The course's assignments are pretty good too - but could be improved. Some of the instructions are vague/conflicting and I had to spend a lot of time figuring out / confirming the question intent.

By David C

Feb 27, 2018

First, I would like to say thank you. I learned a lot about pandas/numpy via practising in the assignments.

The assignment content is very good. But the guide and program checker are so poor (as other students mentioned in their reviews). I wouldn't pass the the assignment if I didn't read a lot of tricks/explanations from the forum.

By Kent R

Dec 30, 2017

Solid course. Still very challenging without more pointers on basic syntax. There are a few inconsistencies in python that makes debugging challenging - and I don't know what to do about that. Otherwise, the course achieved the goals.

One thing that would help would be more testing on basic knowledge of how to access panda dataframes

By Zbigniew M

May 1, 2017

frankly, it takes a lot of searching information on one's own, outside of this course.

I raked my brains for the most of Saturday and Sunday and finished two last assigments although I still don't feel strong in pandas, neither there is much material left here for me to come back and review something step by step in a systematic way.

By Darshil P

Jun 26, 2020

Got to learn new concepts of pandas and numpy libraries. The course is very informative, and provides a good amount of basic knowledge, through which one can proceed in the field of data science. Things I didn't understand well, were the ttest_ind library and the matplot library. The lectures should be improved on these concepts.

By Priyadarshini D

Aug 9, 2020

Videos could include more information. Instructions in assignment 4 were not sufficient. Had a lot of difficulties in assignment 4 as I could not understand the requirements in question correctly. Questions could have been more detailed and stepwise.

Links to some datafiles have problems. Could not easily download some datasets.

By Nichole E

May 5, 2020

Great course for a Python beginner or someone who just wants a refresher! The video lectures were pointed but not too in depth, allowing the learner to explore a bit within the assignments to get even more information from the interwebs, which is what just about every programmer does anyway when they forget syntax or something.

By andrea a

Sep 10, 2018

Interesting course, learn new approaches in using Pandas libraries. One remark, the evaluation of the assignments takes too long, for the last assignment all the answer took 2 minutes to run on my personal laptop while it took 15 minutes when submitting it. I spent a lot of time just waiting for the assignment to be evaluated.

By jeffrey m

Feb 5, 2017

Very interesting subject and data science skills are definitely currently in demand. The only thing that bugged me was that the grader didn't give much feedback on anything you did wrong. On the flip side the mentors did a GREAT job (kudos to you guys). The discussion forums were vital and they were really well moderated.

By Frederick Z

Nov 12, 2017

content is good, and exercise is very relevant for learning. only problem is the exercise is very hard and cannot be finished only with content covered in the lecture, you need to do extensive self learning and take a lot of time outside the classroom. for those without python experience before it is a steep learning curve.

By Heriberto E

Nov 3, 2020

Update your Pandas library and the explanations for all projects. It is very frustrating because you have to deal with both: 1) lack of clarity in the text and 2) missing features for the library we are using. Don't get me wrong... I learned a lot, but it kinda feels not enough when compared to the unnecessary frustration.

By Leidy D

Aug 6, 2018

I found the material of the class very useful for someone that has no experience using Python in data science topics. However, I feel some topics are given too fast. I also found some issues with the autograder that do not have any implication with the goals of the class but that are important in order to get the grade.

By Peter L

Jul 8, 2018

The class is interesting, but I don't feel like the lectures were good preparation for the assignments. I understand that it takes some reading or study beyond the lectures, but there weren't any other materials provided. The Pandas documentation is big and it's not helpful to just go read through all of the docs blindly.

By Marc M M

Nov 28, 2017

course is very good to learn the python basic pandas, numpy libraries.

I would prefer to have a reference book associated to the course so we reference to it, it will be great for future while coming back and read what we learned.

The grading system consumed most of my time to make sure to have my answer graded correctly.

By Pineapple P

Aug 21, 2018

It's a great course and during the process I learned a lot about python pandas applied to data processing. The only downside I see is that the lectures does not prepare you well enough for the homework at the end of each week. I had to spend tons of time googling about pandas in order to finish the homework each week.

By Wallace T

Aug 7, 2018

The auto-grader is sometimes frustrating. I know the course staff is providing the code to let learners to find the errors, but it's in the forum and I only know it after several rounds of frustrations.

Please mark those checking codes in the question too! It helps provide a happy learning experience to every learner!

By Vitor C

Nov 4, 2017

Course is well structured. Most of the concepts are given quite quickly in the video lessons which is good since each learn is free to decide whether she/he wants to do further research in a specific content. Assignments are quite difficult and consume more time then estimated, but you actually get to learn the thing.

By 宸宇 田

Jan 30, 2018

this is my first course in Cousera, and i am a novice in Python. I think this course is really impressive. I learned how to use Python to process data quickly. I really recommend this course if you are interested in Python and Data Science. I decide to learn the machine learning course next, I love doc.Christopher!

By Sathya K

Aug 24, 2017

I like this course very much. I would rename the topic like data manipulation using python. It is definitely not just an introduction program to Data science. The questions are very challenging especially from week 3. But, I am very confident on taking any problems for data science to manipulate it successfully.

By Venkatesan K

Dec 14, 2019

The assignments were really interesting and challenging. But the lectures could have explained the syntax a bit more clearer. I was forced to look at the documentation for every single line of code during the lecture. The pace should be reduced. Otherwise its really a good course and you can really learn a lot.

By Rohan C

Apr 22, 2022

In the begining, there were practice questions at the end of each video. As I progressed, I obseved that only assignments are there. I would request you to provide more questions so that we could better insights and get more hands-on experience. It will help us to build strong problem-solving skills.

Thank You.

By Joan P M

Jan 17, 2022

B​uen curso para acabar de apuntalar los conocimientos en Pandas y lectura de datos. Hace falta un conocimiento previo de dicha librería. La introducción de Regex es de vital importancia para este curso. No le doy 5 estrellas porque hay muchos momentos donde se tira demasiado de Google para acabar las tareas.

By Harsh J

Apr 18, 2020

Great course. Well explained, and the assignments challenge and push you to explore by yourself. Sometimes however the system that reviews your assignment can be frustrating as it expects the output of your answers in a particular format/way. I guess but that forces you to modify your code in that manner to.