Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Data Science in Python

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Data Science in Python by University of Michigan

4.5
stars
25,673 ratings
5,718 reviews

About the Course

This course will introduce the learner to the basics of the python programming environment, including fundamental python programming techniques such as lambdas, reading and manipulating csv files, and the numpy library. The course will introduce data manipulation and cleaning techniques using the popular python pandas data science library and introduce the abstraction of the Series and DataFrame as the central data structures for data analysis, along with tutorials on how to use functions such as groupby, merge, and pivot tables effectively. By the end of this course, students will be able to take tabular data, clean it, manipulate it, and run basic inferential statistical analyses. This course should be taken before any of the other Applied Data Science with Python courses: Applied Plotting, Charting & Data Representation in Python, Applied Machine Learning in Python, Applied Text Mining in Python, Applied Social Network Analysis in Python....

Top reviews

PK

May 9, 2020

The course had helped in understanding the concepts of NumPy and pandas. The assignments were so helpful to apply these concepts which provide an in-depth understanding of the Numpy as well as pandans

YY

Sep 28, 2021

This is the practical course.There is some concepts and assignments like: pandas, data-frame, merge and time. The asg 3 and asg4 are difficult but I think that it's very useful and improve my ability.

Filter by:

3726 - 3750 of 5,672 Reviews for Introduction to Data Science in Python

By Feng L

Jan 27, 2020

The course is well structured with slightly challenging assignments. It also included some literature and other forms of media that provoking discussion about the philosophy and the future of data science. However, the auto-grader is such a pain... and thus, one minus star.

By Daniel O

Apr 8, 2020

The assignments questions need some polish. And some examples with a small datasets wouldn't hurt before jumping to large amount of data in order to understand some pandas functions. The provided examples are great tho. Overall it's fantastic introduction to Data Science.

By Niccolo L

Jun 17, 2020

A strong introduction to python and pandas. Be aware that the version of pandas used by the grader is slightly outdated, so periodically check your work using the online notebook to make sure that the functions and methods you're calling are compatible with that version.

By Carina G J

Mar 7, 2018

Very good course.

Some of the question seemed a bit diffuse and made answers hard to find, which made the estimated time rather far off, hence only four stars. Other than that I enjoyed the lectures and especially the articels that made me think deeper about some topics.

By Eric N C

Nov 27, 2016

Contents are very good and assignments are challenging. Perhaps I struggled most trying to understand what the questions actually ask, they should be rephrased or be more clear. But it was a nice course and I would to it again. I am waiting for the next courses to begin.

By Santhosh K

Sep 27, 2018

I would highly recommend this course for beginners who wants to get into core Data Science field. The course familiarizes participants on how to handle data including wrangling, cleaning and manipulation using pandas and numpy modules. The contents are well organized.

By Kamil K

Sep 9, 2017

It deserves five stars for assignments (they are pretty difficult - I think it's actually good), but lecture videos are very shallow and you have to learn material on your own, so I would give it at most three stars. Averaging over these two aspects gives four stars :)

By Sergio A M D

May 16, 2021

I like the structure of the course and its content. I would like the assignments to show the values that we must achieve (or at least the beginning of the value), so that we can have idea and find our mistakes faster, I took double or triple time to do the assignments

By Omkar G

Jul 1, 2020

The material in the videos can be more elaborate, as a lot is left to self studying for the students in order to complete the assignments. The assignments are challenging, which is good, but the video tutorials don't give you sufficient skills too tackle them head on.

By Dominik M

Feb 23, 2019

Quite good course, but the principle of noninformative autograder is devateting.. A tipo in one part caused I've been working on the last assignment for hours... It'd be better to include some more information/checkpoints or to split the tasks to several smaller ones.

By Michal P

Jul 31, 2018

The course is great but the assignments are a real pain in the $#&@.. You can get the right answer but still spend another hour getting it in the very specific format that the evaluation algorithm wants it in even if it's not mentioned anywhere. Otherwise recommended!

By Shan J

Jan 25, 2019

Good course design for mediate level programmer who is interested in Data Science with Python. Reading materials is lacking references. All of them off site study you have to do are relied on yourselves. Without off site study, you wouldn't complete the course.

By Hadrien H

Nov 17, 2016

Excellent course, I learned a lot especially through the assignments. Missing a fifth star because of a lot of issues with the notebooks autograding, and sometimes imprecise instructions in the assignments. Still I look forward to working on the next pandas courses!

By Andrés S R

Apr 27, 2021

Although this course covers the very basics (and does not really teach you about how things work), you can learn the most with the assignments, since it is very likely you will need to go through the docs/ forums to get it done. Very good intro to regex and pandas.

By Amit K G

Dec 27, 2017

Good course. But the Assignment is very tough. It requires almost everything which is not covered in course. So its like reading on internet than this course. I would be happy if this course will cover the topics on which the assignmens has question. So we read it

By Yogesh K

Dec 9, 2016

Although I had some background with Python and Pandas, this course brought new insights in both. With practical examples, it reinforces the conceptual understanding about working with data. I highly recommend this course even if you are already familiar with Pandas

By Alejandro A R

May 15, 2021

Hace falta abordar mas temas en las conferencias o mas ejemplos, es bueno buscar y explorar por uno mismo las capacidades de les herramientas pero en cada assigment es supremamente complicado, mas aun cuando la respuesta debe ser exactamente igual (sin redondear).

By Ващенко В А

Jul 17, 2020

It'd be easier to master the course with a trifle more instructions from the lecturers as to what constitutes a particular function, and what do its parameters refer to. Primarily, I did struggle with having to browse the Internet in search for these explications.

By Miller A Q G

Jun 15, 2020

It is the most difficult course I have ever taken at Coursera, but it is also the best course I have completed. It's a different level of Python than the one I learn at my university. The only thing that is neccesary to improve is the video examples of the topic.

By Gary R S

Apr 23, 2018

While I learned a lot, it was mostly self taught. The projects were appropriate but the notebooks and videos were only marginally useful in completing the projects. I consider the course more of a directed study than a traditional classroom learning experience.

By Manuj A

Dec 12, 2017

A good course for the data preprocessing and getting used to the NumPy and Pandas library in python. An overview in provided in the contents and video lectures but the refrence books are very much helpful to understand the course.Also assignments are very good.

By scott m

Nov 2, 2018

I thought this course was very interesting. The assignments were a little more difficult to complete than I expected. I think a few more smaller assignments that highlighted the skills necessary to complete the final week's assignment would have been helpful.

By Anand K

Jan 6, 2018

Excellent material to get you quickly started in data-science with python. The course coverage is less, covers just a few topics. The assignment problems, at the end of each week, are of high quality, but the issue detection can be sometimes be daunting task.

By Dinesh D

Sep 9, 2017

Assignments are very good....the background of video's is distracting and explanation of examples just by talk and without proper slides is not so good.

Please adjust the time it takes to finish the assignments to at least twice the posted approximate time.

By Muti S

Jun 8, 2020

The materials are very limited here, most the learning is done from outside materials. While on one side it is good because we have to actively researching, it will be better if they provide a bit more of materials here. But the assignments are really good.