Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Data Science in Python

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Data Science in Python by University of Michigan

4.5
stars
25,145 ratings
5,612 reviews

About the Course

This course will introduce the learner to the basics of the python programming environment, including fundamental python programming techniques such as lambdas, reading and manipulating csv files, and the numpy library. The course will introduce data manipulation and cleaning techniques using the popular python pandas data science library and introduce the abstraction of the Series and DataFrame as the central data structures for data analysis, along with tutorials on how to use functions such as groupby, merge, and pivot tables effectively. By the end of this course, students will be able to take tabular data, clean it, manipulate it, and run basic inferential statistical analyses. This course should be taken before any of the other Applied Data Science with Python courses: Applied Plotting, Charting & Data Representation in Python, Applied Machine Learning in Python, Applied Text Mining in Python, Applied Social Network Analysis in Python....

Top reviews

YY
Sep 28, 2021

This is the practical course.There is some concepts and assignments like: pandas, data-frame, merge and time. The asg 3 and asg4 are difficult but I think that it's very useful and improve my ability.

PK
May 9, 2020

The course had helped in understanding the concepts of NumPy and pandas. The assignments were so helpful to apply these concepts which provide an in-depth understanding of the Numpy as well as pandans

Filter by:

3751 - 3775 of 5,562 Reviews for Introduction to Data Science in Python

By Shruti M

Jun 6, 2018

You may need to brush up on some Stats concepts if you havent used them before. The assignments are sufficiently challenging, even if you have a programming background. Overall a good course to get started on Data Science.

By Jaswant G

May 24, 2020

Theory covered is minimal compared to the level of assisgnments, but i feel assignments are the best part of the course. To complete the asignments you need to explore a lot on your own and learn a lot too in the process.

By DHAVAL H R

May 23, 2020

Very good course to start with data science with python. Only thing you need is statistics background knowledge to better understand week-4 contents. But author has provided with reference to a free pdf book for the same.

By Aria B

Jun 20, 2019

The course is useful and I learned interesting techniques. It was just a bit too short in my opinion. I also think there could be more examples to show the best practices of using Numpy, SciPy, and Python in data science.

By Yash B P

May 29, 2020

This course provides a brief overview of what data science has to offer. Professor Brooks has a great command of the concept of data science. I found the course assistant a little difficult to follow with and comprehend.

By Mark H

Jan 11, 2018

The interactive python notebooks and the programming assignments are excellent. The course loses a star for the incredibly fast pacing of the lectures, and the off topic data science assignments.

Still highly recommended.

By VICTOR A

Mar 18, 2021

pretty tough even though i've been playing with Pandas in the past. But learnt many new techniques. assignments are challenging. It takes more time than what is written. I spent between 16 to 24h on each assignement...!

By Herman

Feb 28, 2020

The staffs are very good at making difficult key points clear and this is a very good course for data science starters. But the auto grader is not good, sometimes I have to debug not for my code but for the auto grader.

By Martin J

Aug 27, 2017

Good base material on data science. Not the best python course. Directions were lax during the programming and I stumbled around until I found the formulas they were looking for. Not the best direction on assignments.

By Jiao G

Jan 28, 2021

Assignments are too difficult,cause if you don't use some special functions like extract(),you will have to stack lots of iterations···but some skills and functions used in assignments are not mentioned in the lecture.

By Diana V M

Jun 29, 2019

No me pareció que fuera un curso introductorio, por el nivel de las tareas y por la explicación básica que daban de cada tema. Sin embargo, el curso me ayudó a desarrollar habilidad en manipulación de datos con Pandas.

By adeeb h

Jul 13, 2020

Everything was pretty good and the assignments were challenging enough to help increase the skills of the students opting for this course, but a bit more video lectures could be added to the fourth week of the course.

By Baswa G

Nov 22, 2017

The course content and explanation is superb, Assignments shall have access to course auditing students also though they shall not be graded, anyways thanks to Prof. Christopher Brooks to deliver such great lectures.

By Hermes M G

Oct 21, 2019

This an excellent course for people who want to refine his skilfulness using Python for data analysis with Pandas, and specially his capability of self learning from internet.

It is a kind of Learn by yourself course.

By Puleng

Mar 7, 2018

A well structured course with an extremely helpful and responsive teaching staff. I appreciate the fact that the course encourages students to do further research on approaches to answering the assignment questions.

By Cristian C

Nov 15, 2018

Overall it is a good course, learned a lot of good things, only the overly optimistic agenda for the assignments was the problem. I had to spend much many hours than the estimated time in order to get the job done.

By David T

Dec 3, 2016

Good lectures and a good introduction to the subject matter. Definitely requires additional research and practice is weak on Python and the Pandas library. The comments in the auto grading could be more helpful.

By Abraham S

Jul 12, 2021

Good but found the final assignment a slog given I couldn't care less about American sports. Something more universally accessible as a topic would be better for an introductory course with an international cohort

By Jatin S

May 15, 2020

You teach well but you need to take some more classes dedicated towards solving problems.

You need to make us all solve a wide variety of problems and then give assignment. This is the only thing that was missing.

By Sankalp J

Jun 17, 2019

A bit hard course to start with. If you are looking to enter in the field of data science, better don't go with this course. But if you have some basic knowledge of field then it's awesome. Thumps Up!!! Go For It.

By Alejandro L

Dec 18, 2018

Is a great course, I don't give it 5 starts not because it is pretty tough (at least for me) but because the lectures are very simple compared to the HW. If you like to be challenged, I fully recommend this course

By Shams R R

Aug 27, 2021

Overall the course is pretty comprehensive and requires quite a bit of experience in coding. The lectures are precise and directed. However, some lectures should incorporate further explanation and clarification.

By abhishek s

Jun 7, 2020

The lectures could have have been more detailed as learning self might be difficult foe beginners. The Assignments were very good and an active discussion forum helped in solving those.Overall I liked this course

By Azeem F

May 15, 2020

a brief introduction to data science in python,and how to use the library 'pandas' and how it plays an important role in data cleaning is being taught,indeed a good course to kickstart for data science in python

By Jun K

Oct 27, 2018

This is good course as a whole, but lecture videos are a little short for assignments and sometimes assignment's definition is not clear. So it's hard to complete assignments without the help of discussion forum.