Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Data Science in Python

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Data Science in Python by University of Michigan

4.5
stars
24,848 ratings
5,560 reviews

About the Course

This course will introduce the learner to the basics of the python programming environment, including fundamental python programming techniques such as lambdas, reading and manipulating csv files, and the numpy library. The course will introduce data manipulation and cleaning techniques using the popular python pandas data science library and introduce the abstraction of the Series and DataFrame as the central data structures for data analysis, along with tutorials on how to use functions such as groupby, merge, and pivot tables effectively. By the end of this course, students will be able to take tabular data, clean it, manipulate it, and run basic inferential statistical analyses. This course should be taken before any of the other Applied Data Science with Python courses: Applied Plotting, Charting & Data Representation in Python, Applied Machine Learning in Python, Applied Text Mining in Python, Applied Social Network Analysis in Python....

Top reviews

PK
May 9, 2020

The course had helped in understanding the concepts of NumPy and pandas. The assignments were so helpful to apply these concepts which provide an in-depth understanding of the Numpy as well as pandans

YY
Sep 28, 2021

This is the practical course.There is some concepts and assignments like: pandas, data-frame, merge and time. The asg 3 and asg4 are difficult but I think that it's very useful and improve my ability.

Filter by:

3901 - 3925 of 5,507 Reviews for Introduction to Data Science in Python

By Chunxiao L

Apr 4, 2018

I like the assignment a lot, but the course material part contains too many talking. I would like to suggest it includes as much as coding, and less talking

By agenis-nevers

Jan 4, 2019

Good course.

Some trouble with the assignments, difficult to understand what's wrong with one submission (could be good to have someone look at your code).

By Jim K

Feb 18, 2017

Nice course. I really liked how I could proceed at my own pace. The computer-graded assignments were very helpful and the Forums were good sources of info.

By Mario K

Oct 13, 2018

Some task descriptions in final assignments were not fully clear so I had to resubmit my work to pass. Otherwise, was good to refresh my pandas knowledge.

By Salamat B

Feb 13, 2018

Content of this course is very practical and good. I find it bit difficult to understand language since explanations are fast and contains a lot of terms.

By Robert P

Apr 10, 2020

Great intro to handling data with python tools. I love the fact that "why" is answered and not just "how" to do your research. Easy to listen and follow.

By Jithesh K B

Feb 9, 2020

Very good course and I learned all the new stuff like pandas, numpy and hypothesis testing etc. Assignments were very good to concrete my understandings.

By Jose P

Nov 14, 2018

Good introductory course, challenging to basic level and forcing to use new technics and think out of the box. Recommended for first contact with Python.

By John A M

Jul 24, 2017

Maybe 3.5 stars, the material is good, but unless you are active in the forums (and others are as well), the assignments can be frustrating to complete.

By Michał K

Jun 3, 2017

Very well prepared. 4 stars because it only scratches the surface of data wrangling with Pandas. I'd love to see more comprehensive course about Pandas.

By raghav b

Oct 21, 2020

Some of the assignments were very hard compared to what what our instructor teaching,

Our instructor teached us well but the assignments very quite hard

By Rashmi k

Apr 29, 2020

I feel, lessons are very brief. Should have some better coverage of topics. Assignments are good to challange your mind. Overall it was good learning .

By Patrick L

May 13, 2018

Very good introduction to data science with python (numpy, pandas).

Only negative aspect is that the assignment questions are sometimes not unambigious.

By Aritro S R

Jul 15, 2017

The lectures can include anecdotes & more relevant examples to make it more interesting. The notebokks & assignments are very well designed. Thank you!

By 21PGDM-IB87

Jul 17, 2021

Good course material, covered every topic in depth. A bit fast paced so need to give due time to each video lecture as they contain a lot of material.

By Jorge E

Oct 16, 2020

Buen curso introductorio con Pandas. Me sirvio para conocer la forma de limpieza de fuentes de datos y su union para luego hacer calculos estadisticos

By Ahmed A E

Sep 24, 2020

it was very exciting but so fast and requires a good background in Python. I think it is not suitable for people from for example C or C++ background.

By Shivam R

Jul 16, 2020

I think the course Assignment is difficult and the course theory is not up to assignment level, I found difficulty in solving nearly every assignment.

By Joe P

Feb 19, 2018

Good overview of fundamentals. Could do with more information on last few parts that feature quite heavily in the assessment (e.g. statistical tests).

By Subbaiah M A

May 7, 2020

Gave me an insight of how Data Cleansing, Eliminating Noises and running Statistical Analysis can be done and it gave me an exposure to Data Science.

By Vishal S

Dec 16, 2017

This course is much more useful for someone who wants to get a touch of data science but one should have some basics knowledge of python programming.

By Sandip K D

May 2, 2020

Great Course. The assignments are challenging and this gives you an idea of how difficult it is to clean and perform calculations on real life data.

By Jun X

Nov 17, 2019

The submission of last assignment is troubsome due to system design. Takes time to solve it. But it gave me a lesson how should I write robust codes

By eric g

Jan 9, 2017

Requires most projects to be completed without the videos help. Need to research and find answers elsewhere. Also need to have good sense of python.