Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Data Science in Python

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Data Science in Python by University of Michigan

4.5
stars
24,867 ratings
5,563 reviews

About the Course

This course will introduce the learner to the basics of the python programming environment, including fundamental python programming techniques such as lambdas, reading and manipulating csv files, and the numpy library. The course will introduce data manipulation and cleaning techniques using the popular python pandas data science library and introduce the abstraction of the Series and DataFrame as the central data structures for data analysis, along with tutorials on how to use functions such as groupby, merge, and pivot tables effectively. By the end of this course, students will be able to take tabular data, clean it, manipulate it, and run basic inferential statistical analyses. This course should be taken before any of the other Applied Data Science with Python courses: Applied Plotting, Charting & Data Representation in Python, Applied Machine Learning in Python, Applied Text Mining in Python, Applied Social Network Analysis in Python....

Top reviews

YY
Sep 28, 2021

This is the practical course.There is some concepts and assignments like: pandas, data-frame, merge and time. The asg 3 and asg4 are difficult but I think that it's very useful and improve my ability.

PK
May 9, 2020

The course had helped in understanding the concepts of NumPy and pandas. The assignments were so helpful to apply these concepts which provide an in-depth understanding of the Numpy as well as pandans

Filter by:

3926 - 3950 of 5,508 Reviews for Introduction to Data Science in Python

By Yuhuan Z

Jan 30, 2020

Very challenging course. But you can really learn something by solving challenges, right? It depends on how much you want to learn from the course.

By Chris P

Dec 20, 2018

Very good course. This was probably a little too advanced for me but that's because I jumped too far ahead in my educational journey. Good content!

By Jeremy K

Aug 20, 2017

The videos should prepare newer Python learners better to complete the assignments. Moreover, some questions are very vague and unnecessarily long.

By Abhijit D

May 31, 2020

The course gives me an overview of Data science and Data visualization. However more explanation on the statistical topics would be more helpful .

By Haldankar S N

May 3, 2020

Overall this is good introductory course but the assignment questions should be more clear, as there are lots of doubts at each step of assignment

By Naveen K

Jan 17, 2019

Please improve the autograder .Its annoying to be not graded for correct answers. Otherwise the course is perfect. Loved it !! Thank you very much

By Phil L

May 13, 2020

A great course with challenging exercises. The tutorials could provide better guidance on concepts that you need to take with into the exercises.

By Alan M

Mar 24, 2020

Sometimes I had problems understanding the instructions in the exercises (e.g., definition of start of recession). Otherwise, Everything is good.

By Ravneet K

Aug 25, 2018

the questions of assignments could have been framed in a better way. Some questions are very confusing and even the forum doesn't help all times.

By Harsh G

Jun 3, 2020

Last Assignment which is Hypothesis Testing could be more elaborated and more reading material could be provided there for better understanding.

By Jatin R

May 16, 2020

The course was Great. You got to learn so many things. The assignment is so challenging it will definitely increase your knowledge for the same.

By Víctor A M G

Jan 27, 2020

Very difficult course, very challenging in terms of the validation tool for the homework, but undoubtly I learned very much from it. Thank you !

By Amol V B

Jan 7, 2019

I would like to refer to all beginnner.. coursera is the best content to learn data science and Machine learning..

Amol Billale

AI & ML Researcher

By augustus e

May 11, 2020

Great course. I'll recommend changes for the assignments. Some were really vague, especially with the workings. It made them quite challenging.

By Wynona R N

May 7, 2020

This is a good course. It is challenging yet fun. Instructors are very helpful for the assignments. I believe I learned a lot from this course.

By Pawroosh M

Sep 9, 2019

I feel the pace of teaching the coding pieces should be slower and clearer. However, overall it is a decent jump-start to learning data science

By Ashutosh S

May 5, 2020

The course was great though the assignments should have more clarity in terms of the questions and language ambiguity should be taken care of.

By Purvansh s

Mar 31, 2020

It was a great experience to be a part of this course, the explanation was awesome, the hands-on practice was superb, I loved the course alot.

By lazar m

Nov 17, 2019

I learned a lot about Pandas (Dataframe and Series), it's a powerful library. However the course didn't dig enough the statistics part. Thanks

By Mariusz K

Nov 10, 2019

Too little of expounding and too much of searching the net by oneself. Too few examples. It is a self-learning but what's the Course for then?

By Hungy Y

Aug 9, 2017

Do more examples & explain more theory on screen, rather than have the camera focus on the lecturer.

Highly useful intro tutorial. Thanks team.

By Tanishk S

Jun 17, 2017

if you are new to the field this should be in your way to excel. had a great time . pls do refer to the books suggested it is surely necessary

By Rahul K

Apr 23, 2021

Great course with everything well explained.

Its just the assignments are a bit tough and you have to explore a lot to get the answers right.

By 21_Keshav M

Aug 5, 2020

The Structure of Course is Great!! Although I would love to have mentors explain concepts a little more. Overall a great introductory course.

By Stefanie N

Nov 25, 2017

The help in the forum was good, the assignments were fun although I always had some problems with the grader at first, some resolved some not