Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Data Science in Python

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Data Science in Python by University of Michigan

4.5
stars
24,697 ratings
5,539 reviews

About the Course

This course will introduce the learner to the basics of the python programming environment, including fundamental python programming techniques such as lambdas, reading and manipulating csv files, and the numpy library. The course will introduce data manipulation and cleaning techniques using the popular python pandas data science library and introduce the abstraction of the Series and DataFrame as the central data structures for data analysis, along with tutorials on how to use functions such as groupby, merge, and pivot tables effectively. By the end of this course, students will be able to take tabular data, clean it, manipulate it, and run basic inferential statistical analyses. This course should be taken before any of the other Applied Data Science with Python courses: Applied Plotting, Charting & Data Representation in Python, Applied Machine Learning in Python, Applied Text Mining in Python, Applied Social Network Analysis in Python....

Top reviews

PK
May 9, 2020

The course had helped in understanding the concepts of NumPy and pandas. The assignments were so helpful to apply these concepts which provide an in-depth understanding of the Numpy as well as pandans

SI
Mar 15, 2018

overall the good introductory course of python for data science but i feel it should have covered the basics in more details .specially for the ones who do not have any prior programming background .

Filter by:

4001 - 4025 of 5,487 Reviews for Introduction to Data Science in Python

By Colton L

Oct 4, 2021

programming assignments and quizzes were tedious. I think best way to learn syntax is generally learn by doing. Class was decent

By SHUBHAM P

May 29, 2020

Course could have been taught with some more depth and focus given on covering more concepts. Otherwise the curriculum was good.

By Mauricio

May 6, 2020

I gues is important give more estructures to the student, i think a little cheatsheet of python is very useful for the students.

By Vijay R

Nov 7, 2019

The assignments were a bit difficult. It sometimes demotivates when the going gets tough. Was able to crack it in the end though

By noiplee

Aug 3, 2019

Great courses,enjoy.But this is the hardest course I ever have on coursera.Slow down the speech and coding part would be better.

By Haotian H

Feb 19, 2018

course content is very good. the assignments need to be more detailed...some questions are confusing and need more instructions.

By SANJANA K

Jun 27, 2020

It was a knowledgable experience. But I would say need a bit more work towards explaining the programming during the sessions.

By Hans C P

Jun 26, 2020

It was difficult to choose; 4 or 5 stars. It is a 5 star course, but due to my fighting with the autograder, I ended up with 4.

By Anatolii L

Apr 13, 2020

Pros: Good and practical syllabus

Cons: no so clear explanations of some topics, problems unclear issues with assignment grading

By Mujeeb A F

Jul 18, 2018

Course content was really good as it focused more on practical work rather than just theory. The last assignment was difficult.

By Apurv S

Nov 28, 2016

Very good... but question should have been properly explained (in a detail manner).. overall it was a great learning experience

By Xinyang W

Oct 26, 2019

Video instruction is way too short compare to other Coursera courses. I don't think it's a good course for absolute beginners.

By Zhenying T

Sep 8, 2019

The lectures are a bit fast and there are a few errors in the homework. The homework is very helpful and uses real-world data.

By Karina L B

Oct 17, 2018

It is necessary to explain more some definitions and some assignment are not entirely clear. Excellent response from the staff

By Alain D

Feb 20, 2018

Good course, you have to do a very large amount of work and research and test on your side in order to properly understand it.

By James S

Jul 13, 2020

Excellent course for introduction to pandas. Espacially the assignments offered in the course are great and very well picked.

By Jacob L

Aug 23, 2019

It was a good solid course on intro data science with Pandas. I found the videos were a little dry, but the content was good.

By Aditya M

Jul 25, 2019

Overall you get to learn new and good ways of doing pands and matplotlib but its way too fast for anyone with basic knowledge

By SHUBHAM S P

Feb 9, 2019

Really good course for beginners in Data Science . The Faculty is very nice and explains each and every concept very clearly.

By EMRE D

Aug 2, 2018

Submissions were generally hard, if you want to take this course you should learn most of the programming things by yourself.

By Sang L

Apr 16, 2018

Good Intro part for pandas. The homework part is more difficult than the materials. Materials could have been more organized.

By Duvert P

Sep 7, 2021

You need kind of basics about programming, Further, the activities you need a lot of self research to clarify the statements

By jordanno p

Jun 27, 2021

Course itself really good, assignments rather boring, specially the repetition and the manual cleaning/checking of the data.

By Matthew H

Apr 27, 2021

This is an intro class but it feels like Data Science 5000. Be prepared for long nights, but I feel there will be a payoff.

By Guido L

Jan 19, 2018

Takes some more time than it is said in the course. I didn't have any experience in Python so that is probably the reason.