Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Data Science in Python

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Data Science in Python by University of Michigan

4.5
stars
24,549 ratings
5,513 reviews

About the Course

This course will introduce the learner to the basics of the python programming environment, including fundamental python programming techniques such as lambdas, reading and manipulating csv files, and the numpy library. The course will introduce data manipulation and cleaning techniques using the popular python pandas data science library and introduce the abstraction of the Series and DataFrame as the central data structures for data analysis, along with tutorials on how to use functions such as groupby, merge, and pivot tables effectively. By the end of this course, students will be able to take tabular data, clean it, manipulate it, and run basic inferential statistical analyses. This course should be taken before any of the other Applied Data Science with Python courses: Applied Plotting, Charting & Data Representation in Python, Applied Machine Learning in Python, Applied Text Mining in Python, Applied Social Network Analysis in Python....

Top reviews

PK
May 9, 2020

The course had helped in understanding the concepts of NumPy and pandas. The assignments were so helpful to apply these concepts which provide an in-depth understanding of the Numpy as well as pandans

AU
Dec 9, 2017

Wow, this was amazing. Learned a lot (mostly thanks to stack overflow) but the course also opened my eyes to all the possibilities available out there and I feel like i'm only scratching the surface!

Filter by:

4051 - 4075 of 5,458 Reviews for Introduction to Data Science in Python

By MAMADOU O L

Feb 2, 2020

It was a great experience, i leaned a lot, but some questions were a little bit confusing,try to fix that please.

By koalaahana

Sep 8, 2019

great lecture, try to deliver lots of information in 4 courses. would be helpful too have more hands on practices

By Elizabeth M

Sep 27, 2020

More time consuming than advertised. Good overview. Lighter on the stats, and heavier on the coding in python.

By Raulindo S S N

Jun 22, 2020

It is indeed a great course for those who already have some programming skills. The instructors are really good.

By MAHENDRANATH V K

May 30, 2020

The explanation of the code written and methods could have been much more elaborate for understanding it better.

By alain m

Jan 29, 2018

Un cours intéressant avec des exercices (assignements) plutôt complexes parce que peu guidés. Un vrai challenge.

By Artem N

Apr 28, 2017

Tasks sometimes a bit tacit to understand what exactly should we return and in what format, but course is great!

By Sneha S

Jun 2, 2018

The course outline is good, though there can be some more details about submitting the answers to the questions

By Md H I N

Jun 1, 2018

This course is good, but the assignments are really tough for those who do not have any programming background.

By Jainil K S

Aug 15, 2020

It is an excellent course for the beginners. The way they teach is very nice. Also, used JUPYTER is very nice.

By Gabriel P D S

Jul 3, 2020

The course is really great, but the assignments are way too hard in comparison to the contents of the lectures

By Harshad K

Oct 20, 2019

Everything is good just please provide a writing summary pdf/short notes of the skills taught after each week.

By 王奕能

Aug 31, 2019

The course overall is very helpful, but I felt a bit confused when doing homework with not enough instuctions.

By C.K. T

Jul 23, 2019

good as a refresher -- data science using python is quickly becoming a basic life skills, think the new excel!

By Aditya K

Feb 24, 2019

If you already have some experience with data science go for it! or else please learn the concepts before hand

By Tejasvi A

Aug 2, 2020

Really good course. Tough homeworks, helpful forums. Definitely recommended if someone wants to learn pandas.

By Johan E C O

Jul 12, 2020

I think some topics are hard to understand and need a deeper explanation, but in general the course was great

By Manjeet K

Sep 1, 2019

Best for learning handling data in Python...just do the assignments honestly using StackOverflow suggestions.

By Jayaprakash K S

Aug 15, 2018

I felt some lectures where really fast and too crisp to understand easily. But most of the where really good.

By xiongxr

Apr 16, 2018

It's so good to make progress. It would be much better that if the description of the assignment is clearer .

By Ashwini B

Dec 30, 2017

Overall, the course was good.But the explanation provided in the video is too fast for a beginner to pick up.

By Sagor A

Sep 22, 2020

Overall this course is quite hard. But I'm happy that, I've learned a lot of new stuffs through this course.

By Nehir Y

Jun 28, 2020

Assignments are very challenging and they truly helped me get a good grip of the basics of coding in Python.

By Vaibhav U

Jun 19, 2020

Great content just needs some basic knowledge and you will definitely enjoy this course.

Thank you, Coursera!

By Sunil M

Mar 6, 2017

it is a 5 star course but I am giving it a 4 star primarily because of the pace was very very fast for me...