Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Data Science in Python

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Data Science in Python by University of Michigan

4.5
stars
24,545 ratings
5,511 reviews

About the Course

This course will introduce the learner to the basics of the python programming environment, including fundamental python programming techniques such as lambdas, reading and manipulating csv files, and the numpy library. The course will introduce data manipulation and cleaning techniques using the popular python pandas data science library and introduce the abstraction of the Series and DataFrame as the central data structures for data analysis, along with tutorials on how to use functions such as groupby, merge, and pivot tables effectively. By the end of this course, students will be able to take tabular data, clean it, manipulate it, and run basic inferential statistical analyses. This course should be taken before any of the other Applied Data Science with Python courses: Applied Plotting, Charting & Data Representation in Python, Applied Machine Learning in Python, Applied Text Mining in Python, Applied Social Network Analysis in Python....

Top reviews

PK
May 9, 2020

The course had helped in understanding the concepts of NumPy and pandas. The assignments were so helpful to apply these concepts which provide an in-depth understanding of the Numpy as well as pandans

SI
Mar 15, 2018

overall the good introductory course of python for data science but i feel it should have covered the basics in more details .specially for the ones who do not have any prior programming background .

Filter by:

4076 - 4100 of 5,458 Reviews for Introduction to Data Science in Python

By Juan M M P

May 28, 2020

They should give us a database of the useful functions for assignments as some are really difficult to find

By Eric

Sep 8, 2017

I liked the course and the subject matter. Not sold on the auto grader but understand why it is necessary.

By Nacho T

Feb 3, 2021

Great introduction course, some assignments are not clear, but with Google and the forum you can pass all.

By ROHIT J

Jun 30, 2020

i think the course was good.i am really happy that i completed it.but i find the course little fast paced.

By Hrushabh K

Jun 8, 2020

Nice course! Professor Brooks taught things in a compact and comprehensive way. Assignments are intuitive.

By Muhammad s k

Sep 16, 2019

It provides good hands-on experience through assignments but the explanation in lectures is in-sufficient.

By Omer A

Feb 3, 2019

The auto-grader should return much more intuitive descriptions for why the grade is lower than full grade.

By Charles M

Oct 2, 2018

Most of the lectures are good, and the assignments are good. There are just a few problems here and there.

By Paul W

May 6, 2018

This course really challenges you to get in there and deeply learn pandas. I am very happy with the course

By Jessica S

Nov 12, 2017

Good teaching and learning but quite a lot of personal work and the examples are all but fun to work with.

By shoeb k

Jun 15, 2017

Good to start on Data Science covers a good starter point, giving a practical approach and theory as well.

By Joseph R

Sep 13, 2021

El curso es bastante bueno y tiene buenos contenidos. Revisar las instrucciones en la asignaciones 3 y 4.

By SERGIO R E K

Sep 5, 2020

I had a great time learning the contents, but I feel some of the lectures were too fast, at least for me.

By Avneet K

Aug 14, 2020

Content,Assignments and Tutor were Excellent but More Explanation about each topic would have been better

By Vinh T

Jan 26, 2017

good when it's been around for a while, else frustrated with a lot of unclear instruction and no support.

By BRIONES, D M (

Jun 26, 2020

Very helpful and convenient, although some assignments required multiple runs to get the desired results

By Radu B

Jun 11, 2017

Assignments were not specific enough about their requirements and how they will be tested for the grade.

By Bill G

Feb 24, 2020

Students need more than basic knowledge in Python. Need intermediate to advanced skill level in Python.

By Tomasz S

Jan 26, 2018

Very interesting.

Scope of video lectures should better covers skills necessary to complete assignments.

By Gallina S

Sep 2, 2021

W​eek 4 should be expanded and ttests should be explained a bit better. Otherwise the course is great!

By harendran

Jul 27, 2020

Good course but need to explain programming concepts in detail,very difficult for beginners to follow.

By Nirman N R

Jun 22, 2020

This course can be made best by adding details of every variable and how to use it in a random project

By Mohd. S

May 29, 2020

Assignments are harder than what is taught in the course lectures. Otherwise a good course.Go for it.

By Artem K

Jun 16, 2018

40% of assignment time I was fighting with autograder. I hope course team is going to solve thus issue

By Zhiling G

Apr 14, 2018

A fair introduction with good exercises, but the questions in the homework can be more clearly stated.