Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Data Science in Python

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Data Science in Python by University of Michigan

4.5
stars
22,527 ratings
5,048 reviews

About the Course

This course will introduce the learner to the basics of the python programming environment, including fundamental python programming techniques such as lambdas, reading and manipulating csv files, and the numpy library. The course will introduce data manipulation and cleaning techniques using the popular python pandas data science library and introduce the abstraction of the Series and DataFrame as the central data structures for data analysis, along with tutorials on how to use functions such as groupby, merge, and pivot tables effectively. By the end of this course, students will be able to take tabular data, clean it, manipulate it, and run basic inferential statistical analyses. This course should be taken before any of the other Applied Data Science with Python courses: Applied Plotting, Charting & Data Representation in Python, Applied Machine Learning in Python, Applied Text Mining in Python, Applied Social Network Analysis in Python....

Top reviews

PK

May 10, 2020

The course had helped in understanding the concepts of NumPy and pandas. The assignments were so helpful to apply these concepts which provide an in-depth understanding of the Numpy as well as pandans

AU

Dec 10, 2017

Wow, this was amazing. Learned a lot (mostly thanks to stack overflow) but the course also opened my eyes to all the possibilities available out there and I feel like i'm only scratching the surface!

Filter by:

4526 - 4550 of 4,969 Reviews for Introduction to Data Science in Python

By ARUNDHATHI N S

Aug 03, 2020

It was a bit tough to follow.The instructions were hard to grasp.Could have included more basic concepts.

By Abdul A B A R

Jul 31, 2019

The explanation was very brief. Not much detail explanation and example. Need to explore more by myself.

By You W

Feb 04, 2018

submitting homework is a pain and even the same answers are marked wrong sometimes... a bit frustrating.

By aurelien l

Jun 02, 2020

I would love to get corrections of the assignments once it's passed to see if my code could be improved

By Vatsal K

May 21, 2020

The instructor doeesn't explain in detail each topic so we have lot of difficulties in the assignments.

By Bettina A

Mar 24, 2018

A lot of great information, but the information is sped through so quickly it gets kind of frustrating.

By Meziane D

Sep 27, 2020

It's nice all the weeks were great but the last assignments wasn't really clear and hard to understand

By Ronald F M S

Aug 16, 2020

los examenes no estan siendo correctamente diseñados o estructurados para llegar a la misma respuesta.

By Dannis C

Mar 29, 2019

Very fast paced, you definitely need to have a solid background in Python and the different libraries.

By 卢雅丽

Jan 20, 2019

many functions were not included, so I have to look up many other materials to finish the assignments.

By Daniel D

Jul 12, 2020

Instruction was often unclear and difficult to follow. Be prepared to do lots of learning on your own

By Agamemnon

Jan 05, 2018

Not clear enough to understand the lecture, also there is a huge gap between assignment and lecture.

By Renato J M e S

Apr 05, 2020

There is a HUGE gap between the assignment and the lectures. Otherwise, it would be a great course

By Ajay D

Jun 05, 2019

Self- Teaching required too much. Feels as though you don't need the course and can achieve on own.

By Yi L

Apr 10, 2020

It was OK. Too many stuff needs self-learning. Better adjust the course schedule and assignments.

By Vaibhav S

Aug 08, 2017

Assignments were quite time consuming. May be I did not had good background of python programming.

By Sushant N

Jun 14, 2020

teaching skills need to be improved as compared t assignment as it consumed much time per day.

By Rugved R K

Jul 26, 2020

professor could be more interesting like the one in programming for everybody in python course

By Abdul H R

Apr 23, 2020

This course needs more practicing session. There are a lot of lecture but not enough practice.

By Sudharshan C

Oct 28, 2020

The assignments can be better structured. I found it tough to navigate and perform operations

By Chaithali B

Jun 16, 2020

I had really tough time submitting the assignments but overall the course was good.

Thank You.

By Varun R

Mar 27, 2019

Too hard for beginners in programming. They should mention this before we pay for the course.

By Harshit D

May 25, 2018

Assignments are great! They will force you to learn. The professor and lectures, not so much.

By Patavee M

Mar 22, 2017

Please provide more lectures. We depend on self-learning more than lectures in order to pass.

By Ahmed W

Jun 06, 2020

Needs more focus on Python. It needs an advanced level in Python libraries "Pandas & Numpy"