Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Data Science in Python

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Data Science in Python by University of Michigan

4.5
stars
22,734 ratings
5,095 reviews

About the Course

This course will introduce the learner to the basics of the python programming environment, including fundamental python programming techniques such as lambdas, reading and manipulating csv files, and the numpy library. The course will introduce data manipulation and cleaning techniques using the popular python pandas data science library and introduce the abstraction of the Series and DataFrame as the central data structures for data analysis, along with tutorials on how to use functions such as groupby, merge, and pivot tables effectively. By the end of this course, students will be able to take tabular data, clean it, manipulate it, and run basic inferential statistical analyses. This course should be taken before any of the other Applied Data Science with Python courses: Applied Plotting, Charting & Data Representation in Python, Applied Machine Learning in Python, Applied Text Mining in Python, Applied Social Network Analysis in Python....

Top reviews

PK
May 9, 2020

The course had helped in understanding the concepts of NumPy and pandas. The assignments were so helpful to apply these concepts which provide an in-depth understanding of the Numpy as well as pandans

SI
Mar 15, 2018

overall the good introductory course of python for data science but i feel it should have covered the basics in more details .specially for the ones who do not have any prior programming background .

Filter by:

4576 - 4600 of 5,019 Reviews for Introduction to Data Science in Python

By Ronald F M S

Aug 16, 2020

los examenes no estan siendo correctamente diseñados o estructurados para llegar a la misma respuesta.

By Dannis C

Mar 29, 2019

Very fast paced, you definitely need to have a solid background in Python and the different libraries.

By 卢雅丽

Jan 20, 2019

many functions were not included, so I have to look up many other materials to finish the assignments.

By Daniel D

Jul 12, 2020

Instruction was often unclear and difficult to follow. Be prepared to do lots of learning on your own

By Agamemnon

Jan 5, 2018

Not clear enough to understand the lecture, also there is a huge gap between assignment and lecture.

By Renato J M e S

Apr 4, 2020

There is a HUGE gap between the assignment and the lectures. Otherwise, it would be a great course

By Ajay D

Jun 5, 2019

Self- Teaching required too much. Feels as though you don't need the course and can achieve on own.

By Yi L

Apr 9, 2020

It was OK. Too many stuff needs self-learning. Better adjust the course schedule and assignments.

By Vaibhav S

Aug 8, 2017

Assignments were quite time consuming. May be I did not had good background of python programming.

By Sushant N

Jun 14, 2020

teaching skills need to be improved as compared t assignment as it consumed much time per day.

By Rugved R K

Jul 26, 2020

professor could be more interesting like the one in programming for everybody in python course

By Abdul H R

Apr 23, 2020

This course needs more practicing session. There are a lot of lecture but not enough practice.

By Sudharshan C

Oct 28, 2020

The assignments can be better structured. I found it tough to navigate and perform operations

By Chaithali B

Jun 16, 2020

I had really tough time submitting the assignments but overall the course was good.

Thank You.

By Varun R

Mar 27, 2019

Too hard for beginners in programming. They should mention this before we pay for the course.

By Harshit D

May 25, 2018

Assignments are great! They will force you to learn. The professor and lectures, not so much.

By Patavee M

Mar 22, 2017

Please provide more lectures. We depend on self-learning more than lectures in order to pass.

By Ahmed W

Jun 6, 2020

Needs more focus on Python. It needs an advanced level in Python libraries "Pandas & Numpy"

By Timothy P P

Aug 15, 2018

It's stuffed. I had to review the videos over and over with subtitles and had to read a lot

By Philip H

Mar 15, 2017

Difficult. I cannot recommend this course to everyone but just technically minded people.

By Md A A S

Jun 13, 2020

Include some theory part in this course,as this is introductory course for data science.

By STEVEN V D

Nov 13, 2017

Good and clear video's and assignments. Unfortunately the auto-grader is a bit a pain.

By Surya G

Aug 24, 2020

Great course but not for beginners and also i felt the lectures were short and rushed

By Subhajit B

May 18, 2020

It was too fast paced and I had to a lot of homework myself after the video lectures.

By Saul S

Dec 27, 2019

Could have been far better thought out, and the content is not particularly engaging.