Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Data Science in Python

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Data Science in Python by University of Michigan

4.5
stars
25,910 ratings

About the Course

This course will introduce the learner to the basics of the python programming environment, including fundamental python programming techniques such as lambdas, reading and manipulating csv files, and the numpy library. The course will introduce data manipulation and cleaning techniques using the popular python pandas data science library and introduce the abstraction of the Series and DataFrame as the central data structures for data analysis, along with tutorials on how to use functions such as groupby, merge, and pivot tables effectively. By the end of this course, students will be able to take tabular data, clean it, manipulate it, and run basic inferential statistical analyses. This course should be taken before any of the other Applied Data Science with Python courses: Applied Plotting, Charting & Data Representation in Python, Applied Machine Learning in Python, Applied Text Mining in Python, Applied Social Network Analysis in Python....

Top reviews

YY

Sep 28, 2021

This is the practical course.There is some concepts and assignments like: pandas, data-frame, merge and time. The asg 3 and asg4 are difficult but I think that it's very useful and improve my ability.

PK

May 9, 2020

The course had helped in understanding the concepts of NumPy and pandas. The assignments were so helpful to apply these concepts which provide an in-depth understanding of the Numpy as well as pandans

Filter by:

5526 - 5550 of 5,722 Reviews for Introduction to Data Science in Python

By Apurv G

Mar 31, 2020

2 stars only for the great assignments. Whatever I learnt in this course is through google and assignments.

By Sofia R

Jul 25, 2021

The course is not gradual. Especially the fourth assignment is too difficult in relation to the course.

By Shahar M

Nov 19, 2017

The lectures are much too concise, practice is scarce which renders an overall frustrating experience.

By Cecilia G M

Mar 7, 2017

Need clearer examples and explanations. Slides summing up concepts or used functions will be great.

By Dirk

May 28, 2019

Do you want all the fun sucked out of Data Science! This course's autograder will do it for you!

By Burak C

Jan 24, 2021

At times the assignments are more confusing than teachin, especially for non-english speakers

By Jordan T

Aug 18, 2020

Good course but somethings are not explicitly stated when it comes to the exams and quizzes.

By naman s

Jul 31, 2019

faculty not that good as compared to my last course's.Charles severance was a great teacher.

By Saman S

Nov 1, 2021

Its assignments take too long to be accomplished. Somewhere videos were too fast to catch.

By don't m

Jun 9, 2020

I didn't find it good, it's pretty much straight forward with no explanation as such..

By Marcos M R

Aug 6, 2021

The videos are too long and sometimes the assignments too demanding for its own good.

By sparsh d

May 2, 2020

Instructor hardly teaches anything and gives you the toughest assignments to do.

By Taninwat W

Aug 14, 2021

Need more exercise section to cement what I have just learned in each video.

By Scott L

Apr 16, 2020

Pointless course. They teach you very little. Google is your actual teacher.

By Ridhi G

Feb 2, 2018

the level taught in the course did not match the level of given assignments.

By Alakesh B

Jun 9, 2020

Lectures were not clear and too short. A lot of external study is required

By Cunyuan Z

Jul 9, 2019

Lectures are useless. But the assignments CAN BE pretty good practices

By Jair G

Jan 13, 2018

I felt lost using Python as a data analysis software with this course.

By yunxin y

Dec 2, 2021

T​oo difficult as it was largely self learn + memorization, unguided.

By Louis c Y

May 16, 2022

quite challenging to understand with lecturers assuming you know all

By pouya g

Jul 1, 2019

the corrector system was very bad and i m not undrestod my mistake

By Hussain

May 1, 2020

Very fewer video lectures and I felt Assignments to be very hard

By Rishi B

Jul 22, 2018

I found the teacher boring, but his teaching was a little fast.

By Akansha M

Jun 1, 2020

for an introduction course it was just too much to understand.

By Nishant B

Jun 13, 2018

Very fast paced and concepts explanation was not upto the mark