Chevron Left
Back to Capstone: Retrieving, Processing, and Visualizing Data with Python

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Capstone: Retrieving, Processing, and Visualizing Data with Python by University of Michigan

4.7
stars
12,430 ratings

About the Course

In the capstone, students will build a series of applications to retrieve, process and visualize data using Python. The projects will involve all the elements of the specialization. In the first part of the capstone, students will do some visualizations to become familiar with the technologies in use and then will pursue their own project to visualize some other data that they have or can find. Chapters 15 and 16 from the book “Python for Everybody” will serve as the backbone for the capstone. This course covers Python 3....
Highlights
Informative course

(132 Reviews)

Relevant project

(132 Reviews)

Top reviews

BC

Apr 28, 2020

Now I understand how data mining, API's and dumping and retrieving data from a database works. Excellent course to start understanding how python can be used to work with data sources on the internet.

AG

Jul 9, 2021

Now I understand how data mining, API's and dumping and retrieving data from a database works. Excellent course to start understanding how python can be used to work with data sources on the internet.

Filter by:

1301 - 1325 of 1,599 Reviews for Capstone: Retrieving, Processing, and Visualizing Data with Python

By Molly S

Mar 26, 2018

I LOVED the content of this class, this is absolutely what I enjoy about Python and what I want to use it for. I wish, however, that there was more actual coding to do, instead of just running pre-written programs. The assignments were fairly fast and easy to gloss over - I think a bit more hands on and required assignments would help give a better working knowledge of the content.

By Luis W D M

Oct 29, 2019

This course is for everyone put into practice what it has been learned during the four previous courses in the Specialization. It is really necessary to have a background on python in order to acomplish it, even though the tasks are not really complicated. However, previous knowledge is necessary for understanding what is taught.

Thanks to all the staff for the support.

By Tamir H

Feb 23, 2017

I still think that there is a lot to learn. the fact that I have limited time to complete the tasks made me hurry and not dig deeper into things I would like to.

If I could use the forum and ask questions after the course ended it would be better.

generally the course is very good for beginners. The instructor is very good and encouraged me to continue learning.

By Stephanie M

Aug 24, 2017

Good for beginners to get a feel of how data retrieval, processing, and visualization can be accomplished with Python. Difficult for beginners to really do data analysis on their own. Advanced courses with more coding assignments (where you have to write the code, not just execute it) would be more helpful in actually turning understanding into usable skills.

By Wong R

Jul 15, 2018

Not up to the excellent level of the previous four modules of this Specialization. While the hands-on practice of this course are very interesting, the speed and depth at which the code is explained are not satisfactory. Too much is just to be taken 'as is'. Good as an appetizer for other Specializations, definitely not adding much knowledge in itself.

By kun

Jul 26, 2019

I somehow feel a little bit disappointed on this course. I gave 4 star only because the instructor is awesome and I like Dr. Chuck and his previous courses. The course is more like a code review, and the assignment is not well designed - you just push the button and run the code. It is not that helpful to develop your coding skills.

By Aarya P

Sep 10, 2020

Well this course doesn't teaches you a new skill instead it helps in applying your previous knowledge to different projects. Also it helps in thinking about how to think about data sources and so. Its more of performing the given code then to make one. Not the best out there but a good one to complete your specialization anyways.

By Matt B

Dec 6, 2017

I would have given 5 stars, but I finished the course a few hours before my 7-day free trial for the specialization ran out and I wound up having to pay $49 for the next month for a specialization that I am now done with, simply because I was sitting around waiting on peer review for my two gmane assignments.

By Joshua A

Jul 8, 2020

I would have given 5 stars to the first 3 courses. In the last two, when the focus moved to interacting with databases, I found the lectures under-explained too many things while the assignments (particularly the last ones) were not conducive to learning but rather involved just following instructions.

By Josep R

Mar 22, 2018

It was interesting, but away from my expertise and interest. It provides valuable insights on the capabilites of python on retrieving data from the internet, organizing it in a database and visualizing in java. It provides clears insights on the potential of python and all the available libraries.

By Bjorn C

Jul 31, 2017

My only recommendation would be for there to be a little send-off message. Even just a two-minute video of Dr. Chuck sending us off into our pursuits on the 'net would be a nice final touch to the specialization. Similar to the "graduation" video that ended Class 3 (I think it was class 3?)

By Rahul U

Dec 9, 2016

This is an excellent introductory course to computer programming. It gives you all the opportunities to learn at your own pace.

It is not too difficult to clear the capstone itself, but the course gives you the opportunity to chose your own project which makes it all the more interesting.

By Yiannis A

Apr 5, 2018

A very intuitive brief capstone, for understanding how to set up a data mining structure. It helps the student to determine how to implement on a practical level all the previous courses. In overall, it consists the ideal way to wrap up all the previews knowledge from the specialization.

By Jason G

Aug 29, 2017

Good course and great for its intended purpose but I wish the required assignments were more in-depth than running the instructor's code and taking screenshots. I'm moving on the the Python Data Analysis course where I hope to get into more advanced data visualization.

By Tymoteusz T

Apr 10, 2018

Very good as usual, yet too easy in my opinion. Additional tasks of type "find how to get different output or modify part of the program" would make it much better.

Anyway THANK YOU DR CHUCK! :D i know MUCH MUCH more about programming after the whole specialisation.

By Jaya P

May 19, 2016

Coursework was quite easy. Used a lot of the techniques learned in the other courses. You'll get the most out of this course if you have a data analysis project that you want to do. For us this wasn't required. But doing my own project was the most fun part :)

By Lee S

Jun 7, 2018

A good course, though not as involved as the past 4. Perhaps the tasks should be modified to make it harder than just running pre-written code in a specific order. I don't like the peer-grading, it's a shame the auto-grader or a file verifier cannot be used

By Damian C

Dec 6, 2019

Great this is a real live example. I am glad I took this specialization as my first committed online experience. I want to change my career at this point of my life. This is a big step for me and my family. I hope this course will help me to reach my goal.

By Ahmad H Y A

Dec 5, 2016

This course is made so that you create something on your own if you just want to pass the assignments then the course won't be a challenge but if the projects are interesting to you and you want to do something creative then you have the right course .

By BOYU K

Jan 5, 2019

Python is a really powerful tool for future programming, during this course, it briefly introduce data mining system, which provide the essential flavor for us. I think it's a quite nice python course as a basic level for Python engineer.

By Ruchit G

Aug 17, 2020

This is a good course and instructor has done a super job of making this course more interesting . This course has given me base on how to approach python and continue journey on increasing my technical knowledge .. Thank you very much !

By Dirk A

Jul 17, 2017

I was hoping for a climax in building my own set of scripts that would cover the whole specialization. That is a possibillity, but not required. I will try so anyway.

Despite of that I have learned a lot from this capstone project.

By Mateo F

Nov 22, 2016

It was a very good course. However I would like we were need to code a little bit more. I know it´s up to us how much we do and how difficult we do our task, but I would be nice if we had to write a bit more on the assignments.

By Nicholas K

Apr 18, 2018

Useful code walkthroughs. Assignments surprisingly trivial. Main purpose appears to be inducing cooperation with other students on other projects - could be good if that is your goal. In any event, quick to complete.

By Adrian L T

Jun 3, 2022

Clear explanations to get introduced to Python. Gets accelerated towards the end -I lost my pace I think-. You can actually enjoy it, as a beginner as well as reviewing your knowledge. The bonus interviews are cool!