Chevron Left
Back to Capstone: Retrieving, Processing, and Visualizing Data with Python

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Capstone: Retrieving, Processing, and Visualizing Data with Python by University of Michigan

4.7
stars
11,916 ratings
1,552 reviews

About the Course

In the capstone, students will build a series of applications to retrieve, process and visualize data using Python. The projects will involve all the elements of the specialization. In the first part of the capstone, students will do some visualizations to become familiar with the technologies in use and then will pursue their own project to visualize some other data that they have or can find. Chapters 15 and 16 from the book “Python for Everybody” will serve as the backbone for the capstone. This course covers Python 3....
Highlights
Informative course
(132 Reviews)
Relevant project
(132 Reviews)

Top reviews

AG
Jul 9, 2021

Now I understand how data mining, API's and dumping and retrieving data from a database works. Excellent course to start understanding how python can be used to work with data sources on the internet.

BC
Apr 28, 2020

Now I understand how data mining, API's and dumping and retrieving data from a database works. Excellent course to start understanding how python can be used to work with data sources on the internet.

Filter by:

1401 - 1425 of 1,525 Reviews for Capstone: Retrieving, Processing, and Visualizing Data with Python

By Mostafa F

Sep 13, 2017

I guess for the assignments, it might be easier if the course take a step-by-step approach, so the students start coding very easy programs to access the data on web from scratch, and then the code evolves into something very complex in the final course, the capstone.

By Oleh M

Jun 22, 2019

Course itself haven't enough practice instead of waiting for grading from instructors as not as described. And angry and rude instructors/moderators writing a lot of comments that they havn't time, instead of do it centralized with appropriate notifications of users.

By Vivek V

Apr 10, 2018

The courses leading up to this Capstone project was very interesting and engaging. It is sad that the capstone project was reduced to just executing the pre-packaged code rather than having the students think and model and possibly edit code to complete the project.

By Tal L

May 3, 2018

The python specialization was great but this last course was a bit disappointing as I hoped to get more guidance toward doing my own data project..

Doing the assignments as is was not challenging but using it for my own project felt too challenging.

By Sai T C

May 9, 2016

Capstone was great, although I would have learnt stuff better if there was a small battle from the deadlines and the curriculum in particular. This was a fun specialization and am looking forward to graduate soon! Thanks Dr. Chuck :)

Cheers!

By djamileh

Aug 11, 2018

Interesting content and very useful code given for future use. Not enough thinking to do unless you do the personal project, which I find hard to do if no one around you uses python/programs. Still, very interesting and enjoyable!

By Yogesh P D

Mar 18, 2019

Sessions were going bit fast as compared to last 4 modules which were at good pace to catch up, frankly did got much of things discussed in this module will try to go though with my pace and try to understand.

By Clyde W

Nov 16, 2016

Not as much practical as the other Python courses provided in this series. The coding assignment is quite easy, since the code has been already written, the ONLY thing you have to do is RUN IT...

By simone z

Jan 4, 2021

The course is good and if you do the optional part you will recap most of the things you learned and much more. Maybe less screenshots and more indipendent coding would give some more practice.

By Konstantin H

May 14, 2019

I liked the other Courses from the Python for Everybody Specialization, but this one was somewhat mediocre. You more or less just executed pythoncode in the right order and that was it.

By Mykhaylo B

Jul 15, 2018

This course would benefit by making students do at least some of the work for the capstone assignment. Just downloading and running code shouldn't be enough to complete it.

By Jorge Z

Jun 20, 2020

More content should be added. For example a full walk through of a real life project. Covering the all components that come into planing and executing a real project.

By Admasu S

Nov 3, 2019

I wouldn't bother to do this course. You don't have to write a single line of code to complete this course. I have only done it just to complete the specialization.

By George N

May 20, 2019

Assignments are trivial and assignment grading needlessly picky without providing educational value. The grading process is not efficient and status is not apparent

By Brandy B

Dec 9, 2016

I thought this was a good course. Dr. Chuck goes through an interesting example of going through email data and there is plenty of time to do your own project.

By Keqi L

Apr 21, 2019

It's like a read-only course, or running the code that has been provided. Exercise is not as good as what has been offered in the other UM specialisation.

By Sol B W

Jul 18, 2016

The Capstone was adequate, but I had hope for a bit more of a challenge. The specialization all together helped me get a better grip on Python Basics.

By Anthony K

Jun 3, 2018

You don't really do much in the way of coding to complete. Just watch the videos (which are really good) and run the programs that are provided.

By Sophie H

Feb 23, 2017

I'd rather have assignments for which you really need to change/write code, not just run existing one. Otherwise the course by itself is great.

By Kyle Y

Mar 8, 2018

It's interesting to see more complicated implementations of what we've learned, but the capstone is not as strong as the first four courses.

By Carlos M F

Jan 14, 2021

Excelente curso, no obstante quería obtener el certificado con honores y no me fue posible aún siguiendo las instrucciones indicadas.

By Jesse O

Aug 5, 2020

Love Dr. Chuck's teaching style, but was overwhelmed with this class. Will go back and revisit some material to see if that helps.

By Wimma K

Apr 29, 2018

I would have liked this course to include more coding practise, instead of running ready made code. Although that was fun too..

By LI S

Feb 8, 2019

I hope in this course, there will be more materials related to the analysis of those codes instead of just simply using them.

By Xinbo B

Feb 2, 2017

Not good enough. Only run, run, run, and less participation than courses before. Add some wrong code to correct may be better