Chevron Left
Back to Capstone: Retrieving, Processing, and Visualizing Data with Python

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Capstone: Retrieving, Processing, and Visualizing Data with Python by University of Michigan

4.7
stars
13,727 ratings

About the Course

In the capstone, students will build a series of applications to retrieve, process and visualize data using Python. The projects will involve all the elements of the specialization. In the first part of the capstone, students will do some visualizations to become familiar with the technologies in use and then will pursue their own project to visualize some other data that they have or can find. Chapters 15 and 16 from the book “Python for Everybody” will serve as the backbone for the capstone. This course covers Python 3....
Highlights
Informative course

(132 Reviews)

Relevant project

(132 Reviews)

Top reviews

G

Jul 9, 2021

Now I understand how data mining, API's and dumping and retrieving data from a database works. Excellent course to start understanding how python can be used to work with data sources on the internet.

BC

Apr 28, 2020

Now I understand how data mining, API's and dumping and retrieving data from a database works. Excellent course to start understanding how python can be used to work with data sources on the internet.

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 1,799 Reviews for Capstone: Retrieving, Processing, and Visualizing Data with Python

By Trevor A G

Nov 10, 2020

I really enjoyed this and all of the other courses in this "Python for Everybody" specialization. Professor "Chuck" did a great job and made this a fun experience. I especially enjoyed all of the interviews and other bonus materials. I highly recommend this set of courses for anyone who wants to quickly come up to speed on Python.

By Fares H

Nov 16, 2016

One of the greatest journeys I have taken. I didn't expect to go this far. But the love for python and content of this course made it possible. I am full-time student and barely can take an extra class. This was my extra class. One step each time till its complete. I highly recommend this course for anyone who wants to learn python.

By PAMARTHI K

Sep 26, 2020

I learned a lot in this course and also I completed all courses successfully in Python for Everybody. the Instructor gives very well motivational and entertainment stuff in videos I like very much his attitude I am also trying at least 50 % of his talent Thank you Coursera for offering such wonderful video lectures to the society

By Hui C H J

Apr 11, 2021

I really enjoyed this course. It was a lot of fun learning to retrieve data then process and visualize it. This course builds on the material learned from the previous courses. Dr. Chuck made this an enjoyable experience. I would recommend this course to anyone who has completed the previous 4 courses for this specialization.

By Cristhian C G

Jan 22, 2024

The whole learning process through this specialization is just amazing, I learned a lot even if I didn't know anything about the Python Language, I also would like to highlight that usually in the discussion forums the STAFF is always present and trying to help with your doubts, something I do really appreciate so much.

By Daisy D

Feb 6, 2020

I love this course! I learnt a lot from it and the first course of this specialization is the first course I took on Coursera and now I love learning new things here! Glad to complete the final course :) And thanks for dividing the capstone into normal and honors course. Now I can complete the project in my own time :)

By Tianyao H

Mar 21, 2020

The experience I gained from taking this specialization and working on my project will definitely benefit me in the future! Thank you so much, Dr. Chuck. You opened a gate for me to a whole new world. I cant not express how grateful I am. I already decided to pursue a path in computer science no matter what it takes.

By Luís M B d M

Feb 26, 2021

Doing this python full specialization was probably my best decision in 2021 so far. This course is awesome not only due to the programming learning that goes much beyond the basics, but also because Dr. Chuck is a very big surprise. He takes us through a journey across the history of the internet. Stongly recommend!

By Jerome S

Jan 11, 2023

This was a very good course to introduce me into the basics of python all the way up to using some advanceed features such as making network request and interacting with databases. This definitely is a great start but you cannot expect to know everything in the python programming language with this course however.

By Garnet C

Aug 28, 2020

A fun conclusion to an excellent series of courses. Dr. Chuck, as always, keeps things interesting and understandable. The open-ended project is a good opportunity to explore fascinating data sets and apply the skills you have learned throughout the specialization. Thanks again to Dr. Chuck and the teaching staff!

By ravi r k

May 21, 2022

I am very happy with the course content and presentation. It really turned out like a Magic. I have done multiple courses and trainings both online and in-class, but the way this particular one was covered was exceptionally good. Thanks to Dr. Charles R Severance and Coursera for bringing this beautiful content.

By Paul J M

Jun 19, 2016

A great finish to the specialization. A very 'free form' approach to the final project allowed students to develop and demonstrate projects in areas that interested them. The instructor (Dr Chuck) is the most engaged and engaging teacher I have come across on Coursera. His live 'graduation' ceremony was a first!

By Don J

Dec 29, 2016

its definitely worth ending the specialization with this capstone. The quizzes are easy but I would recommend watching all the videos to understand how all the pieces fit together. The biggest takeaway for me was to see how the database size significantly shrinks when its normalized during the clean up process.

By Prashant A B

May 10, 2020

f= open("SayThank.txt","w+")

f.write("I have learned so many new things in python thanks to Coursera for giving this opportunity to learn python from university of Michigan this university is amazing teaching staff and teaching techniques are very good. Thank you (Coursera && Michigan University)...!")

f.close()

By Jane S

Jan 29, 2022

I like that it has provided two pathways for different people as one of the group in a hurry for a certificate. And I totally believe that the honor track and those assignments alongwith will serve as a great summary for what we have learned so far. It is such a pity that I do not have that plentity of time.

By Dan C

Mar 30, 2021

Very interesting. You learn about Python but ALSO about the general protocols and structure of data in general, so this is a good jumping off point for several other topics, I imagine.In fact, I only checked out Python because it came up in the ArcGIS program as a way to clean-up data tables used in mapping.

By Ashish N

Jan 23, 2020

The course is organized really well. You climb one step at a time, and in case if you want to run, you can keep completing weekly courses at your pace. This was very fruitful for me as i took this opportunity to build some small programs for my work while i was going through this course.

Thank you Dr Chuck :)

By Aditya K

May 2, 2020

Well-paced course that delves deep into the real-life problems and their solutions in Python. This course subjects the audience to a plethora of opportunities and is a proper conclusion to the Python for Everybody Specialization. Thank you Dr Chuck, and Coursera and to all the folks involved in the making.

By Kanza N

Jul 18, 2020

Dr.Charles Severance is an incredible teacher, I wish that there were more like this. I enjoyed all the courses very much in the specialization and learned so much. And the nice thing is all of the rudimentary concepts are very clear so I can build further Python skills on this strong foundation. Enjoy!

By Satish N

Apr 5, 2019

I did all the courses under this specialisation and I can only say thank you Dr Chuck - it was absolutely fantastic. When I started the course, my objective was to learn enough to be able to understand how to start and how to seek help when stuck. And I have definitely achieved that and much more.

By Md. R M

Jul 23, 2020

These all 5 courses were great! Dr. Chuck is a very very good instructor and made python learning extremely fun. I am feeling lucky I had an opportunity to learn a very useful skill from such a teacher. I am looking forward to gain more knowledge about python and apply them to learn and solve more!

By Kelly J A M

Jul 10, 2020

I recommended to students to take the five courses offering in this specialization. The teacher is really amazing, is like take a presencial class. I learn a lot and the most important in each course I fell motivated to continue and take the other Python Programs offering by the same University.

By Tony M

May 2, 2019

Interesting project and liked the fact that it exposed me to a couple fo different visualisation techniques. Very pleased with how much I've learnt and feeling confident that I can continue to progress and further my knowledge and programming skills. Thank you Dr. Chuck and all the team at PY4E.

By AB. M F R

Sep 29, 2020

I'm Really Glad that I have come this far. Thanks to everyone. This was a really memorable journey since it's my first specialization course. In the path way along this specialization, many new idea was sparked in my mind. I hope I will be able to utilize the skill set I learned. Prey for me.

By Sandra V

Jun 27, 2020

Dr Chuck is a great, thorough teacher. Even with concepts I found challenging I felt like I was in good hands and that I was being given all of the tools I needed to be able to understand the concepts and continue moving forward. This was the best taught course I've taken on Coursera.