Chevron Left
Back to Capstone: Retrieving, Processing, and Visualizing Data with Python

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Capstone: Retrieving, Processing, and Visualizing Data with Python by University of Michigan

4.7
stars
11,816 ratings
1,540 reviews

About the Course

In the capstone, students will build a series of applications to retrieve, process and visualize data using Python. The projects will involve all the elements of the specialization. In the first part of the capstone, students will do some visualizations to become familiar with the technologies in use and then will pursue their own project to visualize some other data that they have or can find. Chapters 15 and 16 from the book “Python for Everybody” will serve as the backbone for the capstone. This course covers Python 3....
Highlights
Informative course
(132 Reviews)
Relevant project
(132 Reviews)

Top reviews

AG
Jul 9, 2021

Now I understand how data mining, API's and dumping and retrieving data from a database works. Excellent course to start understanding how python can be used to work with data sources on the internet.

BC
Apr 28, 2020

Now I understand how data mining, API's and dumping and retrieving data from a database works. Excellent course to start understanding how python can be used to work with data sources on the internet.

Filter by:

1476 - 1500 of 1,513 Reviews for Capstone: Retrieving, Processing, and Visualizing Data with Python

By Huang M

Mar 11, 2020

I was hoping that the final project could be written by myself...... but it is way too difficult

By Francisco D F A

Feb 19, 2017

No new learning during this course. Working on the capstone project is practically optional.

By Robert S

Jan 22, 2020

Was disappointed that the capstone did not require any coding on the part of the student

By Susmita B

Aug 7, 2021

more detail should be done to develop a project from scratch with some helping video

By Daisuke H

May 3, 2016

Very few amount of exercise and very small gain of knowledge from Capstone.

By Jeffrey S

Dec 15, 2018

Didn't actually have to write any code, so didn't really learn a lot new

By Lei L

Oct 31, 2019

It costs a quite long time to wait for being grading by a staff.

By Koen V

Jun 24, 2017

Much less interesting than the other 4 previous python courses

By Stephane T

Mar 6, 2017

It could be a bit more challenging than just running scripts.

By John J

Apr 18, 2016

I expected more practical exercises. but I did learn some

By Marco C

Aug 6, 2019

basically it's a course on "how to make a screenshot..."

By ARUN M

Jun 13, 2018

not explain every things in code and use of library

By José A G R

Jan 18, 2018

i expected plots of graphs-networks with d3.js

By Jiby N

Feb 19, 2017

Sorry folks but we are not learning much here

By Kannan S

Nov 27, 2016

The assignments were not challenging enough.

By Axel O P N

Nov 4, 2019

Not really learning a lot of new content

By cheting c

Jan 29, 2018

way to hard to comprehand the code

By Tasmeem J M

Sep 14, 2020

too short

By Daya_Jin

Aug 13, 2018

学到的东西很有限

By Masako M

Aug 8, 2019

I liked Dr Chuck's lecture very much. But Capstone instructors and the submission process can be improved. When I submit assignment, the instructor did not read SQL statement (I selected data from database only 100 rows). Instructor commented why the data is only 100 rows and subsequent process produced more data. It's because SQL statement says limit 100 rows. Assignment was to show if the table has data. and I correctly took screenshot and posted. Even though all the data was there and entire process was correct. To check if the data is in the database table, you select some of them with setting limit, you don't always query entire table. It's good practice. Not only that, my assignment was not returned to me for long time. There was no way for me to know I didn't get grade. Then you need to submit discussion to forum to reset my assignment submission. That process is unnecessary. If instructor does not grade, the assignment should be reset at that point.

By Manuel A

Aug 15, 2020

I have to give Capstone a bad grade for the following reasons: 1. The assignments on this module do not add anything to your formation. They are mostly "download this code and run it" But beside that, they offer a "Honours certificate" if you complete two of those silly assignments but beware: the instructor will give you zero marks if you slighlty deviate from the instuctions (in my case I downloaded more records in one script than in the other), it will take days for they to mark it and if your subscribtion ends before getting feedback, you will have to pay for another month to be able to resubmit. Nonsense!

By Hyrum D

Jul 20, 2017

My main problem with this course is that the first four courses are in Python 2 and then for this one it was switch to Python 3. Another problem is that I didn't learn anything. The assignments were to run the programs the professor wrote and show that you ran them. This class needs to be redone to actually have the students show that they know how to program in Python 2. I only completed this so I could have the specialization.

By Joan

Aug 6, 2019

It is not fair that you are able to enroll a specailization where you are supposed to work at your pace, but then the last course has specific opening dates, so you can not end the specialization at the date you predicted at the beginning because this last course is still closed.

You are paying for the specialization and you pay proportionally for the time you spend completing it.

By Alexey M

Feb 8, 2021

Unfortunately this course give you only the code which you should run and make screenshots of results, nothing else, no writing the code.. nothing.. I don't see the reason if I don't get any experience of programming..

By Carol W

Feb 22, 2021

First few courses were fine, but they get progressively worse. Explanations are terrible and he just tries to go thru the pre-written code as fast as possible. You can tell he gives up as he nears the later courses.