Chevron Left
Back to Python Data Structures

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Python Data Structures by University of Michigan

4.9
stars
84,418 ratings
14,945 reviews

About the Course

This course will introduce the core data structures of the Python programming language. We will move past the basics of procedural programming and explore how we can use the Python built-in data structures such as lists, dictionaries, and tuples to perform increasingly complex data analysis. This course will cover Chapters 6-10 of the textbook “Python for Everybody”. This course covers Python 3....
Highlights
Excellent instructor
(503 Reviews)
Helpful assignments
(254 Reviews)

Top reviews

PM
Oct 7, 2017

assignment 9.4 auto grader not working .\n\nLTI unable to launch.\n\nerror message: This tool should be launched from a learning system using LTI.\n\ni am using chrome on mac book air 2 and python 3.6

SV
Dec 7, 2020

Excellent explanation. Professor Charles kept the course from being monotonous. Learnt in depth about reading from file, sorting dictionaries and appending lists. Looking forward to learn more courses

Filter by:

301 - 325 of 10,000 Reviews for Python Data Structures

By Daniel G

Jun 13, 2019

This course is brilliant for entry-level programmers and builds nicely on the previous course (Getting Started with Python). Think of this less as a course equipping you to become a programmer, and more as an introduction to coding such that you can build on a solid foundation as you continue this process of learning at the very beginning of your programming 'career'.

By akshara m

Jan 23, 2019

This is a really fun course and lays the foundation of Python programming. The videos are concise and apt and therefore one doesn't feel bored throughout the lectures. All the in-built assignments really put you in the groove of python programming. So, all those looking for a basics course in Python, do give this course a try. Trust me, you won't be disappointed!

By Meytal ( V

Nov 13, 2017

Dr. Chuck is just the best teacher.

the course is very structured and organized, each lesson builds on the other in a very understandable manner.

Good paste, more than fair quizzes and assignments.

I would have added more assignments so the material will sync better, even if I know there is plenty online, I personally would have liked to see more on the "bouns" section.

By N H

Apr 23, 2020

Amazing course! I learned so much and it gave me the confidence to keep discovering and explore the world of programming! Dr. Chuck is a great instructor who motivates and makes learning practical and fun! I am so glad I enrolled in this course. I decided to learn python purely out of curiosity but, this may just be the start of something new and exciting in my life!

By Rafael C

Mar 16, 2017

I recommend this course given by Dr. Chuck. Topics are well taught and explored. This course is not just for people without any expertise, but also for those who already program but need to learn python and don’t have the discipline to do it by themselves.

Dr. Chuck speaks in a really clear way, so even if English is not your native language, don’t be put down by it.

By Dustin S

Nov 22, 2016

Awesome course, I'd tried a couple online learning courses to help me learn to program in the past and Charles' intro courses were way superior. Fun and succinct lecture videos, relevant examples to work through, and assignments that actually teach you how to apply the knowledge. Thanks very much for sharing this with the world Charles! Can't recommend it enough.

By Holden

Jun 26, 2016

Great experience. The videos are exceedingly well-constructed, and the assignments are paired well with them.

My only comment is that I think it would be helpful if links to the PowerPoints used in each video were linked below each video. That said, perhaps it was helpful to the learning experience to have to stop videos and hand-copy the relevant code into my IDE.

By Tushar D

Jul 30, 2020

It is the best course on Python, and I would recommend it to anyone who is a beginner and want to know how to deal with programs. If you feel a little bit difficulty, than you can take the Python basics course but that is just a basic knowledge. Dr.Chuck is a great tutor and his ways of teaching are too interesting that it makes me awake and focused in the lectures.

By Lhingnunching L

May 10, 2020

An awesome beginners course taught by a brilliant instructor, Dr.Charles. I started with zero python skills and I can confidently say that my programming skills have increased manifolds. The syllabus was well designed and the quizzes and assignments helped me apply what I had just learnt. Will be taking up more courses in the future, thanks to Coursera and Dr.chuck!

By MANISH K

Apr 28, 2020

The way Dr.Chuck teaches the python , it becomes so interesting and easy. Thanks to Dr. Chuck and the entire team of Coursera for helping me to learn and guide about the basic things about new programming language. Hope i will do some more online courses. I got confident after completing the python programming for everybody and python data structure. Thanks to ALL.

By Murat S

Feb 5, 2020

the most effective and the best thing in this course is the teacher Mr.Severance's quality! He catches the learner's attention and explains all the things in a effective way. DON'T LET GO MR SEVERANCE somewhere else. I think he is unique in this thing.! And the course and examples,quizzes are good and teaching. I liked the course. Thanks to all the contributors!!!!

By Daniel C E

Oct 22, 2016

I am highly indebted to Professor Charles and Coursera for the marvelous opportunity given to me to take part in this course. Professor Charles mode of teaching has really made the course interesting and simple to learn especially to those who has no prior knowledge of programming. I really recommend this to anyone who is interested in learning python programming.

By Sudharshan 4

Apr 23, 2020

All the class were awesome, enjoyable, understandable in a very beautiful way possible. like you Dr.Chuck even i love to meet up with all different people & you are a awesome Teacher.. i learnt python data structure in a beautiful way i can say.

& This is the 2nd online class i have completed successfully & that too with Dr.Chuck!

Online class are really enjoyable..

By Saram I

Apr 23, 2017

This was the best course I've taken my whole life. The whole series of programming for everybody is very well prepared and very grateful. I can only imagine the amount of time Professor Chuck put into this. this helped me alot and i'm sure it also helped my other fellow students too. I will recommend everyone to do this course if they want to get into programming.

By Tay K C

Feb 5, 2021

Prof Severance's teaching method is very easy to follow and his programming video provides guidance to good programming practice. Exercises are manageable. Though I am learning programming after a thirty years break, I find it fairly easy to achieve the goals. Of course, moving on the 1000 lines coding course may be a next challenge. Thank-you for the course.

By Vishrut A

Jul 6, 2020

This is an excellent course for beginners in coding as well as in the language of Python. With video lectures from a great mentor with crystal clear concepts and at times required assignment demonstrations, it is just perfect. It engages anyone to complete it in 1 or 2 weeks rather than 7 weeks. Thanks to Coursera and Michigan University for bringing this to us!

By Art H

Dec 1, 2017

Very very comprehensive instruction in the teaching of python programming but also providing new information in programming methodologies and techniques. Greatly enjoy Dr. Charles Severance as an instructor. My only wish is that too bad Dr. Severance was not a professor at UC Irvine back in the 80's I would have immediately changed my major to computer science.

By Nathaniel B

Jul 5, 2017

Fantastic course! Chuck is incredibly thorough in his teaching methods and very engaging, as well. He does a good job of breaking down coding concepts that might be easy to confuse and putting them in mathematical or every day terms that anyone can understand. He makes me feel like I am actually typing a conversation with my computer, rather than complex coding.

By Brendan M

Jan 25, 2017

Dr. Chuck is the best! I have been writing in Python for about a year now and didn't think this course would teach me too much. Although I did know the methods Dr. Chuck teaches about in the course, I learned some important details about their use as well as how to approach problems. I highly recommend for anyone seeking a sound foundation in Python programming.

By Mustafa K

Dec 6, 2015

Another joyful Python course from Dr. Charles Severance. Course were very dense, there was no boring details; give fundamentals, rest of it depends interest of the student. Also thanks for bonus videos and interviews. Most of them are very inspiring. I understand from Dr.'s courses that everyone seeing your job will enjoy if you enjoy by doing it. Thanks a lot.

By Sambath M

Mar 20, 2020

Very great course overall.

I'm happy because now, I have strong knowledge in the fundamental of Python, and that was my goal before to postulate into that course.

I love how professor Severance takes his time to explain difficult concepts into a simple example.

I'm happy and grateful for them, to make this course happen.

Thank you, everyone, thank you, professor.

By Omar E

Aug 23, 2018

Really great course, highly recommended to anyone interested in learning different data structures, and how python takes advantage of each type to solve complex problems. Prof. Chuck takes you on the journey, and pushes you at the right times for you to experiment, and utilize the techniques that you have learnt so far to solve the assignments/quiz.

Loved it!!

By Sue L

Jan 14, 2018

This course is a continuation from Course 1 and is part of the "Python for Everybody" specialization. Just like Course 1, this course is taught very well. For non-programmers, you get the most benefit out of this course if you take it as part of the specialization. There is a nice little treat at the end for those who stick all the way through this course ;)

By Mario C

Apr 29, 2021

This course truly deserves the full five stars. The instructor is simply exceptional. The course curriculum, organization, available resources, and teaching methods are second to none. Dr. Severance is one of the best instructors that I've come across, especially in terms of simplifying complex concepts so that they're clear and digestible by almost anyone.

By Jose M

Jun 24, 2017

Excelente curso, logré completar los conocimientos básicos del lenguaje de programación de python. Las clases del Profesor Chuck son geniales, totalmente pedagógicas y te mantienen interesado en que mas está por venir. Las evaluaciones cubren muy bien los aspectos tratados en el capítulo y permiten afianzar los conocimientos obtenidos..

100% recomendado..