Chevron Left
Back to Python Data Structures

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Python Data Structures by University of Michigan

4.9
stars
83,019 ratings
14,691 reviews

About the Course

This course will introduce the core data structures of the Python programming language. We will move past the basics of procedural programming and explore how we can use the Python built-in data structures such as lists, dictionaries, and tuples to perform increasingly complex data analysis. This course will cover Chapters 6-10 of the textbook “Python for Everybody”. This course covers Python 3....
Highlights
Excellent instructor
(503 Reviews)
Helpful assignments
(254 Reviews)

Top reviews

ME
Jul 18, 2019

This was a super-fun course! The materials were very easy to follow, and delivered in a very friendly and engaging manner. I highly recommend this course to anyone just getting started in programming.

AC
Jun 18, 2020

Great course for pyhton. Loved this course and enjoyed it. Thanks to Dr.Chuck. If anyone who want to take a course which is well explained and fun for python learning, then Hey!!! this is your course.

Filter by:

476 - 500 of 10,000 Reviews for Python Data Structures

By Herbert N S

Sep 17, 2015

The rate is excellent. Dr. Chuck is very detailed and thorough. The first PYTHON course was the "Python for Everybody" which was fantastic. I needed to review data structures and file handling and this course is right on target for me. Thank you so much for your efforts and dedication, Dr. Chuck. (Six Stars)

By PAOLA A C T

Aug 22, 2020

Dr. Chuck is an excellent teacher, give you a lot of details in each topic. The course is in English ,you need an upper intermediate level to understand the videos. In my case I'm from Perú and it was a little bit difficult to understand the language but hopefully I have previous knowledge in programming.

By Siti N

Jul 27, 2020

The instructor explains the topic very concisely and easy to understand. I learn that in programming, it doesn't matter if your code is longer than others, if it still works. There are still time to improve myself in terms of getting the job done efficiently. We learned it by experience. Thank you Dr Chuck

By Sumanth

Jun 24, 2020

Learnt lots of new stuff,it was quite challenging because i did complete the entire course in 1 day.

So for people who have already taken course 1 of python programming,by making short notes and practicing,this course can be completed easily.As always,Dr Chuck delivered the contents in a really good manner.

By RAGHAVA D

Apr 27, 2020

I felt a sort difficult in this course but I am fine with the topics and it took me hours to complete all assignment. well, I am happy to complete this course and moreover I need to refresh all the topics that I had learned. this is one of the great course to improve my knowledge regarding python.

thank you

By Marina K

May 25, 2019

This course is really amazing, i would like to recommend it to everybody who is interested in programming but have no skills in it (or just a little after the course "Getting started with python"). Thanx a lot for Professor Charles Severance, your lectures are very easy-to-understand and with great humor!

By Max B

Jan 18, 2019

Great and concise course for all Python beginners! Fun and informative lectures, understandable material and good (but simple) exercises. Here you will get pretty much what you need on data structures in Python, and the course is a natural extension of the first course in the specialization. Two thumbs up!

By Pablo N P

Jul 29, 2020

I took a python's introdution class in University a couple years ago. But I realiace I didn't learn nothing at that time. This course, on the other hand, teach me so much. It encourage me to learn more about programming and try to earn my life doing this. The teacher is so nice. Thanks alot to Dr. Chuck.

By P V G K R

May 28, 2020

Excellent, It clearly gave me insight into programming, where earlier it was a big mountain in front of me, clear understanding of data structure handling, Now i am confident enough to work further on python programming to build my skills further and later build applications relating to agriculture domain

By Guillaume J

May 23, 2020

Very good foundation Python programming language course delivered by Dr Chuck. Quite tough some times. I suggest you type all the program lines shown on his slides and pause the video, think about the result and then listen to his explanations. This is my second course and looking forward to the next one.

By Chris R

Apr 22, 2020

Absolutely a fantastic class and Dr. Chuck is amazing. If you have any interest in Computer Science, writing code and programming, this is a great place to start. Find out if you like it and want to pursue it or just give yourself some basic knowledge in understanding the basis of code and how it works.

By teja

Oct 27, 2019

can we have problems solved in classes i know they will be tough but we will give a try for every chapter or week so that we will have more explose that field. sir please think about my request. the only reason i am taking these course is because it was offered by your university and also beacause of you.

By Shivendra S

Jun 26, 2017

Thank you,

Sir Charles Severance for teaching Python Data Structures in such a simple way that i completed this course without facing any difficulties. Now i am very excited to complete all the course of this specialization. And ones again thank for Sir Charles for improving my basic fundamental in Python.

By JERUSHA E

May 18, 2020

I have enjoyed this course so much!! I had zero experience in Python,prior to this specialization,but now I understand and have learnt so much more.Dr. Chuck is a brilliant instructor and really broke this down into understandable chunks so it was easy to grasp.Looking forward to learn more about Python!

By Abid-Ul K

May 8, 2020

Professor Charles Russel is the best instructor so far I've found in Coursera. His teaching skills are fascinating. He does have these tricks to connect with students mentally, what students need to know, how they can understand, and all. I'd suggest anyone who is interested in Python, to do this course.

By Alex d l P

May 30, 2019

This is a great continuation to the Programming for everybody course. It is a concise explanation of the data representations in Python above simple values, variables & expressions. Strings, Lists, Files, Dictionaries, & Tuples are covered well enough to get a basic understanding of manipulating data.

By Robert A

Mar 27, 2018

I now have a good understanding of Python programing, but I think I am a long way from applying this knowledge to useful purpose. I am hoping that as I advance through the future instructional materials I will improve my skills. I think I would not have been able to accomplish this by independent study.

By Richard I C

Jul 18, 2016

This is the second course in the Python for Everyone series which continues (and concludes) the introduction to Python. The course's automated grading made it easy to continue with each assignment at my own pace; and the way the information is presented makes it easy to learn without getting frustrated.

By Honghui L

Jun 25, 2016

Great course! Fascinating Professor!

Recommend to everyone who wants to start learning Python or programming in general!

Many many thanks to Professor Charles for holding the course and generously sharing his work with us! I've really learned a lot!

Can't wait to start the next course in the specialization!

By David F

Mar 16, 2016

A very well designed course that gives just enough information in the lectures to complete the assignments without giving the whole answer away. I have been learning JavaScript on my own and paired with this course specialization I feel like I am slowly learning the important fundamentals of programming.

By Curt K

Aug 8, 2020

Great course. It's a very succinct introduction to the basic data structures in Python. Dr. Chuck is very engaging and easy to understand. The assignments and quizzes provide a good measuring stick as to your progress. The peer-reviewed assignments are a great feature. I really enjoyed this course.

By Hyoung W C

Mar 28, 2018

This is the only Python course I could concentrate in and proceed on.

Prof. Severance gives students very important emphasis when he thinks that the students must understand something perfectly to step on to the next step. I think it is kind of warning, and makes me review the previous lecture materials.

By belgaid m

Dec 8, 2017

This is the second course in the Python for Everybody specialization. The course is really structured for us. Dr. Severance (Dr. Chuck) does an excellent job of making the concepts clear and understandable. Dr. Chuck has an unusual sense of humor, but I think most students will enjoy it as I have.

By Mostafa E

Aug 28, 2017

I am a medical student so I am very far away from programming but this course and the professor really prove that programming is for everyone with the simple and complete explaining of the topics. great job professor I am happy to learn from you and to the have the honor to take the certificate from you

By Seth J

Sep 6, 2020

As someone with hardware IT experience but NO coding/programming expieirence, I felt all the courses I have taken under Mr. Severance has been so beginner friendly and I have learned a lot. I never thought I would have this passion, these materials are so easy to...digest and I recommend it for anyone.