Chevron Left
Back to Using Databases with Python

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Using Databases with Python by University of Michigan

4.8
stars
20,779 ratings

About the Course

This course will introduce students to the basics of the Structured Query Language (SQL) as well as basic database design for storing data as part of a multi-step data gathering, analysis, and processing effort. The course will use SQLite3 as its database. We will also build web crawlers and multi-step data gathering and visualization processes. We will use the D3.js library to do basic data visualization. This course will cover Chapters 14-15 of the book “Python for Everybody”. To succeed in this course, you should be familiar with the material covered in Chapters 1-13 of the textbook and the first three courses in this specialization. This course covers Python 3....
Highlights
High quality course material

(143 Reviews)

Top rated instructor

(176 Reviews)

Top reviews

MM

Mar 12, 2018

The course is great... You can definitely learn many things... Was kind of hard for me and i went many times back and forth through most of the lectures... However i think i learn many new things....

JL

Jun 22, 2017

Wonderful course! I learnt many useful SQL statements and know how to combine database operations into python program. Dr. Chuck's lectures are always comprehensible and clear. Thank you, professor.

Filter by:

3001 - 3025 of 3,108 Reviews for Using Databases with Python

By VikasBollu

Jul 27, 2020

wonderful course but there is a problem with my certification.

I didn't get a chance to resubmit the peer graded assignment can some help me out.

By Samantha

Jan 12, 2016

All homework were to modify from an existing code, and all lessons were skimming on indexes. I learned less than other courses from this series.

By Savinkin I

Jun 19, 2020

everything is fine except the final assignment, it is not related to material of the course, running someone else's code is not the main skill

By Nika V H

Mar 6, 2019

Assignments were not challenging enough, especially the final one. However the lectures were interesting and engagingly delivered as always.

By Mario D

Dec 21, 2017

The course is taught very well and clearly, however programming assignments are too easy, I feel it has been done too much simplification.

By Luis D

Feb 18, 2016

Exercises in the course were very poor, simple and did not require coding, just changing one or two lines. But topic was interisting

By Jose M

Apr 19, 2016

It's OK. the lectures are good. The book needs updating, and more exercises would be helpful to practice what we learned in class.

By Sara F

Oct 18, 2019

The class is very interesting but too many topics are covered. It would have preferred more self coding, rather than small edits

By Brian Q

Apr 25, 2016

Assignments are very easy, and there aren't easy to follow notes that one can use instead of always having to watch the videos.

By Yash J

May 28, 2020

Good Course But teaching the vast topics quickly and in summarized way.

needed more explanation and deeping on several topics

By Ahmed A

Mar 3, 2021

more hands-on projects and tasks are needed in order to strengthen the fundamentals of dealing with databases using python

By rami z

Nov 28, 2016

not too many new things about Python. mostly introduction to Python capabilities in databases/

overall pretty good class.

By ginone

Dec 30, 2015

Focused too much on SQL rather than Python, so not really that helpful for people who already know SQL (like myself)

By Ismail S

Apr 29, 2019

The only thing learned during this course was how to use SQL in python...The rest of lectures are just fillers

By sanil f

Aug 20, 2018

Database code is just a walkthrough. It should have been more details... Its hard to understand the code :(

By Peter S

Apr 4, 2016

Nice course but didn't include enough python code for other database vendors and wasn't challenging enough

By sivaprasad

Apr 13, 2020

some issues in this course week 5 task so many issues not only me so many people having this problem.

By Roger K

Jan 17, 2016

Very short lectures and easy assignments, but a good overview and starting point for further studies.

By 上官琪琪

Jan 11, 2016

I do not find this course is useful to learn seems it only gives a guideline to the python database.

By Naman J

Oct 15, 2019

Week 5 was not well explained and structured. Few things were confusing concepts were missing.

By Pedro P B

Aug 22, 2016

It seemed to me a little bit too superficial... It was almost only copying and pasting code...

By Magno M S d S

Mar 14, 2016

The exercises need more work done if the students are expected to actually learn this stuff.

By Tahsin A

Apr 17, 2019

Very interesting but a lot of the code is unexplained and assumes we will understand it.

By Oleh V

Dec 26, 2015

I think it would be good to include into course following topics:

1) NoSQL databases

2) ORMs

By Joyce T M L

Aug 6, 2019

Intro class as most time we are only required to make small adjustments to sample code