Chevron Left
Back to Using Databases with Python

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Using Databases with Python by University of Michigan

4.8
stars
19,668 ratings
2,988 reviews

About the Course

This course will introduce students to the basics of the Structured Query Language (SQL) as well as basic database design for storing data as part of a multi-step data gathering, analysis, and processing effort. The course will use SQLite3 as its database. We will also build web crawlers and multi-step data gathering and visualization processes. We will use the D3.js library to do basic data visualization. This course will cover Chapters 14-15 of the book “Python for Everybody”. To succeed in this course, you should be familiar with the material covered in Chapters 1-13 of the textbook and the first three courses in this specialization. This course covers Python 3....
Highlights
High quality course material
(143 Reviews)
Top rated instructor
(176 Reviews)

Top reviews

MM
Mar 12, 2018

The course is great... You can definitely learn many things... Was kind of hard for me and i went many times back and forth through most of the lectures... However i think i learn many new things....

JG
Jun 16, 2016

This course was great! I enjoyed parsing different types of data: from documents and the web. This course is definitely (rudimentary) a must take course for anyone who wants to go into data science.

Filter by:

301 - 325 of 2,898 Reviews for Using Databases with Python

By Sebastián P G

Feb 28, 2020

Temática de fácil entendimiento con ejemplos claros y bien explicados. Aunque se centra bastante en el uso de SQLlite, sirve de mucho ya que muestra la unión entre las dos aplicaciones

By Luis T

Jan 25, 2020

Well organised and comprehensive coverage. The slides and explications are kept as simple as possible, but yet do not spare out important details - a balance that is hard to achieve.

By Agatha H

Jan 4, 2018

Dr. Chuck is an awesome teacher! I like his teaching style.

However, please remove peer-graded assignment. Most of the times, it delays students from completing their courses.

Thank you.

By Chadchawan C

Sep 20, 2020

Good course for intermediate and beginner to learn the basic, concept and definitions of database structure. And learn how to manipulate data from any source i.e. database, XML, json.

By Joseph O

Dec 22, 2015

Great class! Really liked learning how to interact with databases in Python and will be using this foundational knowledge to continue the development of my database design/SQL skills.

By Nikil v

Aug 21, 2020

The course gave me a lot of understanding about the Databases and how to design it and use Python to do stuffs with Databases. overall the course was really fun, engaging and useful.

By Biplab B

Apr 14, 2020

Like every course in this specialization, this course is very well instructed and covers a lot of topics while the instructor managing to keep all approach simple and understandable.

By My H

Aug 26, 2017

Great class. Although I feel that for someone like myself (still a beginner with python) it is good to take a break and practice coding/reading codes, then I shall take the capstone.

By Binod J

May 13, 2017

Excellent course!!!

I learned some important concepts about SQL, databases and the application of Python in data visualization. The demo presented by Dr. Chuck was really interesting.

By KHEDDAM C

Jul 3, 2016

Cours très intéressant pour débuter les bases de données, avec des exemples concrets d'implémentation.

Un grand merci au professeur Charles Severance et à l'Université du Michigan.

By Juan J R D

Oct 12, 2020

Muy divertido y autodidacta a veces pueden decir que esta muy difícil pero la verdad es que esa dificultad hace que te impulse a querer hacerlo :) muy buen curso

print('Thanx Prof')

By Mohamed A E

Jan 11, 2018

great instructor with great course and material , i have learned about database and used sqlite as a DBMS

learned the primary query and stored data from xml and json into my local DB

By Даня Ф

Mar 8, 2016

The best way to meet programming as a discipline for the first time! Сharismatic teacher, useful assignments, well-thought-out course. Thank you Charles Severance and Coursera team!

By Zoran M

Dec 20, 2015

I am satisfied with provided information and can say that assignments was pretty interesting for me. Love maps and coordinate systems, so last assignment was especially interesting.

By Roger E R J

Nov 10, 2019

Dr Chuck does a great job of creating fun and engaging exercises that teach core Python and programming principles. This was a fun class with great interviews in the bonus section.

By Elliott J

Sep 26, 2018

This course was very accessible and well-taught. I already had some background with Python and with databases, but I feel I still learned a fair amount from the course. Thank you!

By Xinyi L

Jul 11, 2018

a very good course to start learning python, professor Charles makes all the courses simple to understand, so at last I have a better understanding of using databases with python.

By lo

Dec 22, 2016

Never thought i'd finish the 1st, 2nd, 3rd course, coz its programming - boring.... guess what? 4th course done!!! Dr. Chuck is the man! this course is not only fun but addictive!

By Shivraj R

Oct 27, 2020

Excellent Course by Dr Chuck and Coursera. A lot of knowledge and information (SQL+Python) packed in a single course. Lays a solid foundation for further course in Data Analysis.

By MARKANTI B S

Apr 22, 2020

The lectures of this course are amazing and they are so useful . By this course we can learn how to connect database with python and preform the sql operations with python code .

By hiten s

Sep 5, 2019

This course really helps the concept of the database and how the python application talks to the database and also create an application like geocoder that enhances my knowledge.

By Carlos J B A

Apr 15, 2019

A rewarding experience because I have been able to learn very valuable information. It is an excellent course. It has helped me in the personal and professional field. Thank you.

By Kalob T

Oct 7, 2018

Python + Databases = perfect. Interested in learning how databases work and how to connect and store data using Python? Just smash that subscribe button, this course is glorious.

By SCOTT D

May 3, 2017

Fantastic cause. Dr. Chuck brought many coding strategies together making this a very interesting and useful class. Thanks Chuck. Enjoy the office hours....keep up the good work.

By Niveditha D

Apr 24, 2017

Exceptional! the way even the most difficult concepts have been explained in such a simple way to be understood! Will definitely look forward to more courses from this professor!