Chevron Left
Back to Using Databases with Python

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Using Databases with Python by University of Michigan

4.8
stars
18,364 ratings
2,780 reviews

About the Course

This course will introduce students to the basics of the Structured Query Language (SQL) as well as basic database design for storing data as part of a multi-step data gathering, analysis, and processing effort. The course will use SQLite3 as its database. We will also build web crawlers and multi-step data gathering and visualization processes. We will use the D3.js library to do basic data visualization. This course will cover Chapters 14-15 of the book “Python for Everybody”. To succeed in this course, you should be familiar with the material covered in Chapters 1-13 of the textbook and the first three courses in this specialization. This course covers Python 3....
Highlights
High quality course material
(143 Reviews)
Top rated instructor
(176 Reviews)

Top reviews

MM

Mar 13, 2018

The course is great... You can definitely learn many things... Was kind of hard for me and i went many times back and forth through most of the lectures... However i think i learn many new things....

GB

Jan 14, 2018

It's an excellent course. Thanks for the oportunity to learn. Thanks to Coursera, to the University of Michigan and of course to Dr. Chuck, a very good an enthusiastic teacher! All the best for you!

Filter by:

351 - 375 of 2,696 Reviews for Using Databases with Python

By Yumei L

Apr 21, 2016

This is an excellent course. It wasn't easy, but do-able for people who have had no other Python experiences other than the other courses by Dr. Chuck.

By Овсенева М И

Aug 09, 2020

Thanks a lot for this course! It's the greatest opportunity to learn something unusual,interesting and new with such a fantastic and creative teacher!

By Zdeněk N

Aug 28, 2016

This one was dense! So much information on databases and SQL. Final multi-step applications were very well chosen and introduced so much new elements.

By Nimrat K A

Jul 19, 2020

This course is where you learn to handle data in python and a bit about sql. It is good and interesting start for someone who aims to a data analytic

By Andrew A

Mar 31, 2020

I thoroughly enjoyed this course. I have never really created even a small database before this course but now I have a better understanding of them.

By Juan A J S Y

Mar 26, 2017

Aprendí mucho sobre SQL, creacion de base de datos, adquisición de datos y la manera de usarlos y el uso de APIs, me encanto y lo recomiendo al 100%

By Raul R

Jul 20, 2016

Muy buen curso cubre temas de gran interes, se advierte que no se puede detallar tanto en cada tema por ser un tópico muuy amplio lo cual es bueno.

By Akash R

Aug 12, 2020

the instructor is so good if you don't have knowledge in python and if you take this course you will solve all of these assignments from yourself

By Lindsay V

Jul 31, 2017

I loved the exposure to APIs including Google Places API. Integrating it with some SQL and a few database tricks made this class very worth while.

By Hnin O W Y

Oct 06, 2020

This course is very understandable and teaching style is very clear that even if you don't have any knowledge on database, you can get it easily.

By Sehyun P

Jan 17, 2020

simply easy to understand. amazing course. this was my first ever get to know database. I especially liked Dr. Chuck's easy explanation lectures.

By Chris C

Mar 04, 2018

Fantastic course. Does require some prior knowledge of python, and some prior knowledge of databases (SQlite) would be helpful but not required.

By Jaco B

Jan 22, 2018

A great continuation on how to use python with databases, retrieving data from other sources, storing it in a database and presenting it via SQL.

By Neelava C

Jun 11, 2020

This is an awesome course the instructor explains every thing nicely and to the point it would be lovely if he goes a bit more deeper in python.

By Kennie N H

Sep 08, 2018

It was really interested to learn about using SQL (SQLite) and databases and to understand the power of using it. Especially how fast it can be!

By Urivan F

Feb 07, 2016

The class was fast paces, documentation and videos easy to digest and quizzes and projects elaborated enough at the same time short to complete.

By Zhi W

Dec 03, 2019

The contents are well explained and are suitable for beginners. The adoption of database tools really leads to a new dimension of programing.

By Viktorija R

Nov 24, 2017

Wonderful course, because covers not only python, but xml, json and, particulary - SQL. Highly recommended to everybody, studying programming.

By Sanat

Jan 10, 2017

Amazing and very knowledgeable Dr. Chuk. I wish the lectures could have been a little more detailed and we could have more practice assignment.

By Jason M C

Jan 23, 2016

Outstanding class! All of the "Python for Everybody" classes are great! The material is covered exceptionally well, and is real-world relevant!

By John S

Apr 15, 2019

Great course for beginners like me. Was helpful to have the practical exercises combining pulling web data, creating and then using databases

By Daniel G

Mar 24, 2018

An amazing course that I recommend without hesitation to everyone. Dr Chuck is great at making complicated concepts and practice easy to grasp

By Surajit B

Jul 20, 2020

It was an enjoyable and fun time listening tutorials of Prof. Chuck and learn Python language. Thank you so much for such a nice course ware.

By Luo Y

Sep 22, 2019

Thanks to this course, with which I got to know database from 0 to 1. I have acquired the basic knowledge and skills to get further learning.

By Justin R

Dec 30, 2017

google maps API requires a lot of additional work and instructions are not as clear as they should be. Would prefer additional SQL readings.